Water's Edges

Grigor

Water's Edges

by Grigor » Post

Hi all,
Not sure if this has been discussed anywhere around. Wherever rock overhangs water there's a "missing" water block when "waving liquids" is switched on, presumably "hidden" beneath the node above it.

Could there be a way to have the water continue underneath the overhang, as it should?

Take care all, in these "interesting" times,

G.
screenshot_20200422_111110.jpg
screenshot_20200422_111110.jpg (165.37 KiB) Viewed 406 times

pampogokiraly
In-game: i_love_mesecon

Re: Water's Edges

by pampogokiraly » Post

I don't think it's possible unless we are creating a lot of lagg on the oceans, and that's because we have to render the top face of the water to solve your problem... (im not a big coder so correct me if im wrong).

I only see two solutions:
  1. Don't use waving liquids!
  2. Get a mod that renders the top face of the water if no water is on top of it! This might make some ridicilus lag but i don't really know, because I'm not a big coder :D
All praise the Bacon God! The one and only god in MineTest

Grigor

by Grigor » Post

Had a feeling it'd be something like that. Although... don't we already render the top face of water_source nodes? It's just when there's a node on top of it, it would normally be hidden. But because water_waving is a kind of 3/4 node it reveals the missing, eclipsed top face. I'd have thought it would just have to be those top faces that need rendering. Would those few more faces create a LOT of lag?

Maybe just one of those Minetest quirks I'll have to get over. Meanwhile, I've left my favourite deck chair in a cave somewhere, and I'm trying to retrace my steps and find it, so there's plenty of other things to think about.

pampogokiraly
In-game: i_love_mesecon

by pampogokiraly » Post