Server disappears from serverlist with ipv6.

Post Reply
User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Server disappears from serverlist with ipv6.

by Lejo » Post

My server disappears when I add an AAAA (ipv6) record to my domain.
Not sure if this is really a minetest Problem or a basic internet problem.
Any Ideas?

Domain: subgames.minetest.land
ipv4: 185.234.72.95
ipv6: 2a01:367:c204::17:4e1

I remove the record again to keep it visible on the list.

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Server disappears from serverlist with ipv6.

by sfan5 » Post

Make sure you enable IPv6 in your server configuration:

Code: Select all

ipv6_server = true
The reason is that if your domain has an IPv6 record, your Minetest server is expected to be reachable over IPv6 too.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Lejo
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: Server disappears from serverlist with ipv6.

by Lejo » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Mon Jun 29, 2020 16:13
Make sure you enable IPv6 in your server configuration:

Code: Select all

ipv6_server = true
The reason is that if you domain has an IPv6 record, your Minetest server is expected to be reachable over IPv6 too.
Thanks first!
Is the server still ipv4 reachable?
I'm asking cause all ips than are ipv6 and just have this anoying ::ffff: prefix so they are just ::ffff:0.0.0.0
Is there a way to allow both?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3935
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

Re: Server disappears from serverlist with ipv6.

by sfan5 » Post

Lejo wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:59
Is the server still ipv4 reachable?
I'm asking cause all ips than are ipv6 and just have this anoying ::ffff: prefix so they are just ::ffff:0.0.0.0
Is there a way to allow both?
Yes it will still be reachable over IPv4.
Mods will get IP addresses in ::ffff:1.2.3.4 format, they'll just need to deal with it.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest