Page 1 of 1

[Solved] Clay does not stack in inventory?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 14:21
by srothe
Hi folks,

when I dive in front of my Beach and mine some clay (or at least what I believe is clay) the blocks are mined (eG sand slopes down filling the gap), but nothing stored in my inventory. Am I doing wrong? Or is it a bug?

Using: Version 0.4.1 (last night's update), moreblocks, moreores, doorsplus, forniture3D, junglegrass.
OS:Ubuntu Linux 12.04

Your help is much appreciated :-)

Stefan

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 14:50
by PilzAdam
I have not checked it yet but i think you only get clay with a shovel.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 16:28
by Calinou
No, you can get clay when mining with any tool.
srothe wrote:(or at least what I believe is clay)

Are you really sure it is clay? Clay is a gray block, not bright red.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:32
by srothe
Well, it is underwater, it is grey and it is not red. And especcially: If it were something else, it should show up in my inventopry after all, like all other mineable blocks. The thing is that it does not show up as anything at all.

Will also test this behaviour on a different machine now, before I update to 0.4.1.

Cheers, Stefan

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:36
by Calinou
Are you playing the "minetest_game" game, or the "minimal" game? Also, if your inventory is full, it cannot be filled with new items. Lastly, when you mine clay, you obtain four clay balls, not a clay block.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:55
by srothe
Calinou,

I have just tried it on yesterdays nightly, where I also have a sandbeach in reach. Result: I found the same grey stuff underwater and realised it adds to my gravel stack :-/
Then I saw some red blocks underwater, which I considered to be desert sand or -stone. Out of pure curiosity I mined them for floor decoration, and -heureka!!! Clay-lumps were nicely stacking in my inventory.

Obviously, misa's textures (which I forgot to mention) make the difference in colour. So it looks like I raised false alarm here. I will double-check tomorrow in the office with 0.4.1 on my other machine (noooo, I am not playing all day at work...), if you do not here from me, all works fine there as well.

Thank you for your help!

Stefan

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 17:59
by PilzAdam
srothe wrote:I will double-check tomorrow in the office with 0.4.1 on my other machine

:)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 18:06
by srothe
PilzAdam wrote:
srothe wrote:I will double-check tomorrow in the office with 0.4.1 on my other machine
:)

^
|
I knew it! :-P
srothe wrote:(noooo, I am not playing all day at work...)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 23:45
by SegFault22
*facepalm*
are you in ''creative'' mode? you can not obtain nodes by digging them while in creative mode, nor can you craft. Try survival mode.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 18:25
by srothe
Hi all,

it is all fine, my mistake! It was indeed the colour which is changed by misa's textures. There clay appears red and stone appears grey, just as clay would appear in original colours. Not knowing this I just did dig the wrong stuff, and I failed to check the cobblestone stack for increase.

Thanks for all your help,
Stefan

---Mods: Topic can be closed---

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 18:35
by dannydark
Maybe you should put "[Solved]" or fixed or something at the start of the thread title and add something like: "Solved: http://minetest.net/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=33754#p33754" so that people can find the solution quicker.

You can do that by editing the original post ^_^