Terrible lag on kids laptops with gnarly LAN server

nocturnalwizard
GitHub: nocturnalwizard
In-game: nocwiz

Terrible lag on kids laptops with gnarly LAN server

by nocturnalwizard » Post

About a month ago, I caved in to my kids Minecraft obsession and dropped $100 on coins and "mod packs" for their Nintendo Switches for the holidays. It took them less than an hour to spend that $100 on... well, who knows... and they were just as "bored and disappointed" as they were before it all started.

At that moment, it occurred to me that... well, I'm a developer, and there has to be an open-source alternative. Enter Minetest. I discovered this wonderful project and decided to repurpose an old server I had just decommissioned from the datacenter a few months back to running a LAN server with the hopes of never having to shell out that much cash to Nintendo again just to feel totally swindled.

I've since built my own game, a laundry list of really cool mods using meshes I created in Blender, and for me, it's been a heck of a ride and a lot of fun learning 3D modeling, the Lua programming language, how voxel games work, etc. So, to that extent, I'd like to thank all of you for this project, and all of your contributions, to make this fun new adventure for me possible.

My kids, however, aren't such happy customers. They refuse to play for more than 5 or 10 minutes before giving up and going back to play Minecraft on their Switches due to the intense lag...

That said, here's my setup:

Server, Dell PowerEdge R640:
- CPU: (2) Intel Xeon Gold 6226R @ 2.9GHz (32 cores total)
- RAM: (12) 32GB DDR-4 @ 2933 MHz (384GB total)
- HDD: (4) Micron 7300 Pro 1.92TB NVMe
(I don't think Minetest could ever possibly utilize even a tiny chunk of what's available here)

Minetest server (software) info:

Code: Select all

cmake build opts:

-DRUN_IN_PLACE=TRUE \
-DBUILD_CLIENT=FALSE \
-DBUILD_SERVER=true \
-DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release \
-DIRRLICHT_INCLUDE_DIR=/root/irrlicht/include \