Towntest Mod

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

Towntest Mod

by RockerGirl4Eva » Thu Oct 11, 2012 23:27

Hey I feel supper foolish and embarassed posting another question...but I AM new...

The towntest Mod...is there certain name I need to name it for it to work? or is there another version it only works with? I use the 4.3 whatever version...but when i put the mod on the game wont let me load my game, ive renamed it 'towntest' and 'Towntest' but i cant seem to get it to work.
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Fri Oct 12, 2012 14:15

Can you post the error message in debug.txt? Also post this in the Towntest thread.
 

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

by RockerGirl4Eva » Fri Oct 12, 2012 15:45

Sure. I wasn't sure what part so I got the part that I thought would be helpfull:

08:41:34: INFO[main]: [towntest ] ["C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua"]
08:41:34: VERBOSE[main]: Loading and running script from C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua:
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: ...rnernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua:15: bad argument #1 to 'random' (interval is empty)
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'random'
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: ...rnernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua:15: in main chunk
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua
08:41:34: INFO[main]: BanManager: saving to C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\worlds\Alone Again....Naturally\ipban.txt
08:41:35: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua
08:41:35: INFO[main]: Searching worlds...
08:41:35: INFO[main]: In C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\worlds:
08:41:35: INFO[main]: Alone Again....Naturally (invalid: Forever Alone) Test (invalid: Wokring Again)
08:41:35: INFO[main]: 2 found.
08:41:35: INFO[main]: Waiting for other menus
08:41:35: INFO[main]: Waited for other menus
08:41:35: VERBOSE[main]: error_message = ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua
08:41:35: VERBOSE[main]: Check debug.txt for details.
08:41:35: INFO[main]: Created main menu
08:41:35: INFO[main]: locale has been set to:English_United States.1252
08:41:35: INFO[main]: locale has been set to:C
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Fri Oct 12, 2012 15:49

RockerGirl4Eva, don't extract as a new folder with WinRAR, open the archive (double clicking) and drag "towntest" into the mods directory, the git folder:

cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654

is irrelevant.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Fri Oct 12, 2012 15:52

RockerGirl4Eva wrote:08:41:34: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: C:\Users\Grace\Desktop\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\mods\minetest\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua:
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: ...rnernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua:15: bad argument #1 to 'random' (interval is empty)
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: [C]: in function 'random'
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: ...rnernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua:15: in main chunk
08:41:34: ERROR[main]: =======END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========

This seems to be a bug in the towntest mod.
 

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

by RockerGirl4Eva » Fri Oct 12, 2012 15:55

Jordach wrote:RockerGirl4Eva, don't extract as a new folder with WinRAR, open the archive (double clicking) and drag "towntest" into the mods directory, the git folder:

cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654

is irrelevant.


I extract all my mods right to the minetest mods minetest folder and they all seem to work just fine the way ive been doing that...so why would this one be any different?

PilzAdam:

So i'm not doing anything wrong?
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Fri Oct 12, 2012 15:58

Minetest can't detect two folders in a mod.

Like /mods/lol-a3gds43/lol/init.lua that will cause an error.

This: /mods/lol/init.lua won't.

You have a folder that needs to be removed.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Fri Oct 12, 2012 16:00

Jordach wrote:Minetest can't detect two folders in a mod.

Like /mods/lol-a3gds43/lol/init.lua that will cause an error.

This: /mods/lol/init.lua won't.

You have a folder that needs to be removed.

Thats wrong. There is a modpack.txt file in towntest folder.
 

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

by RockerGirl4Eva » Fri Oct 12, 2012 16:03

PilzAdam wrote:
Jordach wrote:Minetest can't detect two folders in a mod.

Like /mods/lol-a3gds43/lol/init.lua that will cause an error.

This: /mods/lol/init.lua won't.

You have a folder that needs to be removed.

Thats wrong. There is a modpack.txt file in towntest folder.


So PilzAdam am I doing anything wrong with this mod? I wanna make sure it's not me...cause if Jordach is right wich I can't figure out what he's talking about (sorry) I want to do it right...is it the mod or me?
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Fri Oct 12, 2012 16:28

RockerGirl4Eva wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:
Jordach wrote:Minetest can't detect two folders in a mod.

Like /mods/lol-a3gds43/lol/init.lua that will cause an error.

This: /mods/lol/init.lua won't.

You have a folder that needs to be removed.

Thats wrong. There is a modpack.txt file in towntest folder.


So PilzAdam am I doing anything wrong with this mod? I wanna make sure it's not me...cause if Jordach is right wich I can't figure out what he's talking about (sorry) I want to do it right...is it the mod or me?

Its not your fault.
 

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13
 

User avatar
qwrwed
Member
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 20:56
In-game: qwrwed or Nitro

by qwrwed » Fri Oct 12, 2012 18:40

Other people have got this error(including me) and apparently the onlt way to fix it is opening \cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua and changing thw 100000000 (or something) to a lower number, like 10000. Not sure how this impacts the mod.
 

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

by RockerGirl4Eva » Fri Oct 12, 2012 20:13

qwrwed wrote:Other people have got this error(including me) and apparently the onlt way to fix it is opening \cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua and changing thw 100000000 (or something) to a lower number, like 10000. Not sure how this impacts the mod.

I just tried wat you said, when I went to open init.lua it said this page couldn't be found...could that be my problem?
 

User avatar
qwrwed
Member
 
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 20:56
In-game: qwrwed or Nitro

by qwrwed » Fri Oct 12, 2012 20:42

What did you open it with? Did it not actually open? notepad and notepad++ can both be used to open .lua documents.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Oct 13, 2012 00:13

qwrwed wrote:Other people have got this error(including me) and apparently the onlt way to fix it is opening \cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua and changing thw 100000000 (or something) to a lower number, like 10000. Not sure how this impacts the mod.


That line used to be used to cleanup stray npcs, but it's not used now.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Oct 13, 2012 01:05

I removed the line and comited the change.
 

RockerGirl4Eva
Member
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

by RockerGirl4Eva » Sat Oct 13, 2012 02:06

qwrwed wrote:What did you open it with? Did it not actually open? notepad and notepad++ can both be used to open .lua documents.


I clicked on the file and it wouldn't open at all

Cornernote:

It's working for me now! Thank you whatever you did! It fixed the bug! THank you ALL for the advice and help!
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Sat Oct 13, 2012 09:37

RockerGirl4Eva wrote:I clicked on the file and it wouldn't open at all

Right click it and click "Open with" and then select "Notepad".
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests