Page 3 of 5

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 06:55
by DS-minetest
is this normal?
Image
the nodes in the inventory are black

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 17:10
by Calinou
DS-minetest wrote:is this normal?
Image
the nodes in the inventory are black


Transparent nodes are likely too dark when rendering in the inventory; to fix it, the modder has to set the inventory image by hand to something else.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 17:31
by Casimir
Seems like they are inversed too. I saw this in android builds before. What build and operating system are you using? Do other builds work?

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 22:24
by DS-minetest
Casimir wrote:What build and operating system are you using?

Im using linux.(xubuntu 11.04)

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 06:44
by hoodedice
DS-minetest wrote:
Casimir wrote:What build and operating system are you using?

Im using linux.


Linux is not an Operating System per se. Tell us which distro you are using. For example, I use Xubuntu 14.04 LTS 64 bit.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2014 14:13
by rubenwardy
You shouldn't be posting here.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 10:54
by BrunoMine
Removing locked_chest? (I am the administrator and I want to remove locked chests for other players)

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 02:43
by Sokomine
brunob.santos wrote:Removing locked_chest? (I am the administrator and I want to remove locked chests for other players)

Easiest way is to use worldedit. Type "//p set" and punch the locked chest twice. Then do "//set air" - and the chest will be gone. Make sure that both markers are set to the chest.

Antcheat

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 16:35
by BrunoMine
If I put ant_cheat_disable = false, these problems can be solved?
*Through the floor
*Running too fast.
*Fly.
*Steal items.

Re: Antcheat

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 07:36
by Krock
brunob.santos wrote:If I put ant_cheat_disable = false, these problems can be solved?
*Through the floor
*Running too fast.
*Fly.
*Steal items.

Don't use anticheat, even it you would use it, it can't protect from those points.

Re: Antcheat

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 18:27
by BrunoMine
Yup. Minemacro my server was attacked by hackers who fly and run. I will use the old ban.

Liquid

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 22:01
by BrunoMine
decrease as the distance reaches a liquid?
I want to decrease to 1 instead of 8.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 04:21
by wcwyes
I think a tutorial about "How to connect to a public or private server in the various versions" might be important. I bring this up because I came across the ios version and can't seem to figure it out. I've worked on every other version and figured it out. If any could even just help me it would be nice.

Re: Antcheat

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 14:13
by Dragonop
brunob.santos wrote:If I put ant_cheat_disable = false, these problems can be solved?
*Through the floor
*Running too fast.
*Fly.
*Steal items.


-They don't run ''through'' the floor; its called (by me) ''The mine protected wall glitch'' that consists in mining a protected block, and pass through it in the sec that it takes to reappear.

-Running too fast: This is no hack, its a Minetest caracteristic, and you should not prive the server users to do it; you can do it if you have fast priv, and then you activate it while walking, then you press the ''use'' key, (by default ''e''), you will run fast.

-Fly: Maybe they are flying, maybe they are just using the fast priv, if you now how to use it, you can reach a 100 blocks jump.

-Steal Items: The chests, need to be locked, you cant protect unlocked chests, and if the chests are unlocked, and outside the area, i think that it can't be stealing, because the chest its unlocked, unprotecte, and out any posible houses, it looks like if it's a public chest, and well, you now.


All the ''help provided here, it's a ''maybe'', that i collected through all my 4 years of playing Minetest. All, of the help above it's legal, exept the ''steal'' and the ''mine protected wall glitch'' <- (i think)

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 14:14
by Dragonop
In personal, I hate that people think that the ''fast priv'' is ilegal.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 22:18
by philipbenr
I think that GunshipPenguin's sprint mod is better than run. The current fast is nowhere near close to actually sprinting speeds even. I think that sprint speed should be the actual run speed.

Re: [F A Q] - 0.4.9 (Ubuntu ' SoftCent DL' (14.04 LTS ) = ?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 21:59
by testOmine
Assume I'm New.

Is their any persons here present, that could help me.

We could use a ' Mega Pack ' - of Mods / Textures that work on these LTS OS releases.

I just flew around VanessaE's server, and I cried a little. - I turned right after Shaggy & Scooby, . .

( just too clarify the title of the post ) -
running MT build 0.4.9 (obtained from Ubuntu ' Software Centre' ). With those 3/4 add-ons.[Blocks + Ores + PipeWork + SandBox
Ubuntu [other Flavours are available*] Ver 14.04 LTS

I cannot get 66% of mods/textures to run - ( I know not all are compatible )
[mod repository doesn't work] ? = Ans A

( so everything is zip/extracted into /mods\/textures\ folder, . . . )
[ I get farming errors from most of the newer exciting offerings ] = Ans B

is this Pocket Edition* - ( that's what I call it ) - all I can aspire too ?

( I will not ' do windows ' - , . . . )

can some one make a 'YouTube ' of Deploying GitHub - Even if I have to run it from ../[Terminal]\...


. . . . . . . . Or am I missing a " search$ " / " here Capt NumbNuts link " / " unplug your EtherNet you Plumb ??? !

Re: [F A Q] - 0.4.9 (Ubuntu ' SoftCent DL' (14.04 LTS ) = ?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 00:38
by Fritigern
testOmine wrote:Assume I'm New.


Okay.

testOmine wrote:Is their any persons here present, that could help me.


I don't know, but i could try.

testOmine wrote:We could use a ' Mega Pack ' - of Mods / Textures that work on these LTS OS releases.


Huh???

testOmine wrote:I just flew around VanessaE's server, and I cried a little. - I turned right after Shaggy & Scooby, . .

( just too clarify the title of the post ) -


It didn't really clarify anything, but mkay..
testOmine wrote:running MT build 0.4.9 (obtained from Ubuntu ' Software Centre' ). With those 3/4 add-ons.[Blocks + Ores + PipeWork + SandBox
Ubuntu [other Flavours are available*] Ver 14.04 LTS


That's where you went wrong, you are using a broken, outdated version of Minetest.
Stay away from the versions in the repos, the packager had no idea what he or she was doing.

testOmine wrote:I cannot get 66% of mods/textures to run - ( I know not all are compatible )
[mod repository doesn't work] ? = Ans A


It does not work in the BROKEN version from the Ubuntu software center. Get a working version.

testOmine wrote:( so everything is zip/extracted into /mods\/textures\ folder, . . . )


No, they are extracted to their respective folders. In your case it's .minetest/folder

testOmine wrote:[ I get farming errors from most of the newer exciting offerings ] = Ans B


That's nice. Care to tell us WHICH errors?

testOmine wrote:is this Pocket Edition* - ( that's what I call it ) - all I can aspire too ?


Only if you insist on using the version from the Software Center.

testOmine wrote:( I will not ' do windows ' - , . . . )


Neither will many of us. Calm down already!

testOmine wrote:can some one make a 'YouTube ' of Deploying GitHub - Even if I have to run it from ../[Terminal]\...


I will do you one better. Have a script that will do what you need it to. (Follow the instructions in the commented lines in the script!!!)
https://gist.github.com/Fritigern/4e21484ec27d6416cc49

testOmine wrote:. . . . . . . . Or am I missing a " search$ " / " here Capt NumbNuts link " / " unplug your EtherNet you Plumb ??? !


I can;t alswer that for you. But you would prolly get more help with more comprehensible posts.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 02:53
by twoelk
sounds like some bad translation service to me ;-)

The script in this thread may help: 1-line script for installing Minetest Git, Debian-based

There may be something usefull on this wiki page: http://wiki.minetest.net/Setting_up_a_server/Debian

The "Minetest" git may only include a basic game. If you want to have everything you saw on VanessaE's Creative server please consider downloading her subgame called Dreambuilder.

An installation could be structured thus, please consider your installation may vary
Code: Select all
minetest/
├── bin/
├── builtin/
├── cache/
├── client/
├── doc/
├── fonts/
├── games/
│   ├── minetest_game/
│   ├── minimal/
│   ├── dreambuilder_game/
│   │   ├── game.conf
│   │   ├── minetest.conf (this is for some extra settings of this subgame)
│   │   │             (Minetest will build another global one in minetest/)
│   │   ├── README.txt
│   │   ├── license.txt
│   │   ├── menu/
│   │   └── mods/
│   └── ... (installed other games)
├── locale/
├── mods/
│   └── ... (installed extra mods and modpacks)
├── textures/
│   └── ... (installed extra texturepacks)
└── worlds/
    └── ... (saved worlds. Some with exclusive world mods)

where i find a texture of mesecons

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 21:28
by BrunoMine
where i find a texture of mesecons? (preference >16bits)

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2015 17:21
by mickle clarck
Great! I got this so much helpful. Thanks for the link http://wiki.minetest.net/FAQ .

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 07:04
by TenPlus1
Image

Still getting the std::bad_alloc error which crashes server and no idea why ?!?!

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 08:27
by Hybrid Dog
TenPlus1 wrote:Still getting the std::bad_alloc error which crashes server and no idea why ?!?!

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/new/bad_alloc/

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 10:08
by TenPlus1
Thanks hybrid, the server has 4gb of memory and never goes above 600mb when running, so I cannot figure out why this error appears since their is more than enough memory...

Update: Xanadu server is crashing more often without solution...

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 17:16
by Neon
I love your picture, Ten. As a programmer myself, I have experienced that very thing.
+1