[Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for help!

User avatar
Samson1
Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 19:41
IRC: Samson1
In-game: Samson1

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by Samson1 » Post

When will Minetest 1.4.14 come out? It's Just that Minetest 0.4.13 does not work what so ever

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6149
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by rubenwardy » Post

Samson1 wrote:When will Minetest 1.4.14 come out? It's Just that Minetest 0.4.13 does not work what so ever
please be more specific, what doesn't work? What error messages do you get?

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by BrunoMine » Post

I found the term "noise" in several texts in minetest.
Can someone explain to me in detail what is it? I'm trying to translate some sentences and it is difficult to understand what the word means at all times. I believe that this does not refer to sounds.
Examples:
Noise parameters for biome API temperature, humidity and biome blend.
Mapgen flat cave1 noise parameters.
Mapgen flat filler depth noise parameters.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6149
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by rubenwardy » Post

This is the wrong topic, please ask questions in the modding question thread.

http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/noise
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perlin_noise

Jesseman1
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by Jesseman1 » Post

I tried the instructions to create a Minetest server on Linux, they didn't work. How do I do it?

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3963
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by Wuzzy » Post

I've added the question “When will the next version of Minetest / Minetest Game be released?” (with answer) to the FAQ.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by amadin » Post

How change forum nickname letter to big letter (i mean first "a")?

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2750
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

by Hybrid Dog » Post

amadin wrote:How change forum nickname letter to big letter (i mean first "a")?
If you use firefox, you can use greasemonkey.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re:

by amadin » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote: If you use firefox, you can use greasemonkey.
Did it change the forum database where nickname saved or is this a joke? Maybe forum administrator can change my nickname if he is not busy?

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2750
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

by Hybrid Dog » Post

It would become changed only for you, in some cases this is sufficient.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
twoelk
Member
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: Re:

by twoelk » Post

amadin wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote: If you use firefox, you can use greasemonkey.
Did it change the forum database where nickname saved or is this a joke? Maybe forum administrator can change my nickname if he is not busy?
Greasemonkey (on Wkipedia) is a Firefox addon

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by amadin » Post

I mean change for all.

User avatar
alucard112
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 19:23
GitHub: thepolice
IRC: thepolice
In-game: alucard321

HELP ME PLEASE

by alucard112 » Post

For 4 months I built some structures on a public server in 2 different places in the world and connect them with a teleporter that worked properly, stop playing for a month. Yesterday I connected to the server again and the teleporter did not work and did not keep coordinates of the other site and now I do not know where it is .... and I need to find it I would appreciate your help. Thanks
"Ask about Illuminaty"☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by BrunoMine » Post

Have you tried asking for help from the server moderators?

User avatar
alucard112
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 19:23
GitHub: thepolice
IRC: thepolice
In-game: alucard321

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by alucard112 » Post

BrunoMine wrote:Have you tried asking for help from the server moderators?

the name of the moderator is evil and
The last time I saw it was 3 months ago or more but I know the area with whom I built those structures: GIXT RM. I have not seen her again.
"Ask about Illuminaty"☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻☺☻

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by BrunoMine » Post

The server saves activity logs (most of the time) in the debug file (debug.txt). You should contact the server owner to ask for the coordinates or correction of the error with the teleporter.

Some servers have an HTTP page for contact. To find this page, go to the list of public servers and click on the name of the server.

WhiteOwl
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 18:38
IRC: WhiteOwl
In-game: WhiteOwl
Location: USA

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by WhiteOwl » Post

i need help i want to mods in my minetest game but cant because the folder is locked by default. i tried uninstalling minetest and reinstalling. i right clicked minetest fold looked at properties and it says im not the owner so i cant edit minetest. which means i cant put mods in or start a server becasue i cant edit anything at all in it. someone please tell me how i can by-pass this problem. thanks.

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by BrunoMine » Post

Do you use windows or linux s.o.?

WhiteOwl
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 18:38
IRC: WhiteOwl
In-game: WhiteOwl
Location: USA

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by WhiteOwl » Post

linux it says the owner is root so i tried terminal and put chown my user minetest then it said file doesnt exist i hate google.

WhiteOwl
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 18:38
IRC: WhiteOwl
In-game: WhiteOwl
Location: USA

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by WhiteOwl » Post

i have ubuntu 16.10

TARD
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 23:28
GitHub: kingtard
IRC: turd
In-game: TARD

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by TARD » Post

WhiteOwl wrote:linux it says the owner is root so i tried terminal and put chown my user minetest then it said file doesnt exist i hate google.

in terminal try
sudo chmod 777 ~/.minetest/mods

if that's the right dir. You should then be able to move files to that directory as non root

WhiteOwl
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 18:38
IRC: WhiteOwl
In-game: WhiteOwl
Location: USA

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by WhiteOwl » Post

it says file or directory does not exist

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1073
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by BrunoMine » Post

You should put your mods in the .minetest/mods dir (the .minetest dir is a hidden dir inside the home dir).
I must remember that the mods folder does not exist initially, so you should create it.

If the .minetest dir does not exist (you can use the ll command on the terminal to check) open the minetest at least once.
Last edited by BrunoMine on Mon Jan 16, 2017 03:09, edited 1 time in total.

TARD
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 23:28
GitHub: kingtard
IRC: turd
In-game: TARD

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by TARD » Post

go to the mods directory in file manager if it has a address bar then copy/paste that location in the terminal so it's like
sudo chmod 777 (what you pasted)

WhiteOwl
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 18:38
IRC: WhiteOwl
In-game: WhiteOwl
Location: USA

Re: [Frequently Asked Questions] - Read before asking for he

by WhiteOwl » Post

okay i think i got it figured out thanks......didnt realize it was hidden on home folder.....makes me feel dumb....lol

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests