Page 1 of 1

Too small chat

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:56
by cactuz_pl
Default chat has only six lines.

Image

Is it possible to increase it to 20 lines, editing minetest.conf or by editing code before compiling?

I've searched the forum but I could not find similar topic.

Thanks in advance for your time.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 13:01
by PilzAdam
You can expand it by pressing F10.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 13:08
by jmf
It is possible to show more lines without pressing F10.
I found out yesterday.
Go to chat.cpp and look for "m_recent_buffer(6),"
Change this line to "m_recent_buffer(20),"
to have 20 lines or any number that you want to have.
Then recompile minetest and you're done.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 13:12
by cactuz_pl
PilzAdam wrote:You can expand it by pressing F10.


F10 sometimes crashing Minetest, what is annoying.

jmf wrote:It is possible to show more lines without pressing F10.
I found out yesterday.
Go to chat.cpp and look for "m_recent_buffer(6),"
Change this line to "m_recent_buffer(20),"
to have 20 lines or any number that you want to have.
Then recompile minetest and you're done.


Thanks

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 00:41
by RAPHAEL
cactuz_pl wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:You can expand it by pressing F10.


F10 sometimes crashing Minetest, what is annoying.


This is confirmed with my friend. Whenever he presses f10 his client crashes. I haven't tried it yet but if I remember I will try later.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 00:45
by PilzAdam
RAPHAEL wrote:
cactuz_pl wrote:
PilzAdam wrote:You can expand it by pressing F10.


F10 sometimes crashing Minetest, what is annoying.


This is confirmed with my friend. Whenever he presses f10 his client crashes. I haven't tried it yet but if I remember I will try later.

This F10 crash is called segfault and its there since the console is added.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 16:45
by Zeg9
PilzAdam wrote:
RAPHAEL wrote:
cactuz_pl wrote:
F10 sometimes crashing Minetest, what is annoying.


This is confirmed with my friend. Whenever he presses f10 his client crashes. I haven't tried it yet but if I remember I will try later.

This F10 crash is called segfault and its there since the console is added.


I noticed this segfault seems to only happen on Debian-based distros (and Debian itself).
This would need some more testing though. I wonder what can cause this.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 18:38
by 0gb.us
I've talked with some Windows users who confirm that the segfault is also present in the Windows version, not just Debian-based Linux distributions.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 19:48
by Zeg9
On Arch Linux it never happened to me. Maybe update Irrlicht or some other dependency (I have irrlicht 0.8 but it didn't crash with 0.7.3, too).
On Debian and Ubuntu it always happens. What's common between Debian, Ubuntu, and Windows, that isn't in Arch ? Good question...

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 19:49
by PilzAdam
Zeg9 wrote:On Arch Linux it never happened to me. Maybe update Irrlicht or some other dependency (I have irrlicht 0.8 but it didn't crash with 0.7.3, too).
On Debian and Ubuntu it always happens. What's common between Debian, Ubuntu, and Windows, that isn't in Arch ? Good question...

Are you sure you run Irrlicht 0.8? Because I have 1.7 ...

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 20:33
by Calinou
jmf wrote:It is possible to show more lines without pressing F10.
I found out yesterday.
Go to chat.cpp and look for "m_recent_buffer(6),"
Change this line to "m_recent_buffer(20),"
to have 20 lines or any number that you want to have.
Then recompile minetest and you're done.


IMO, this should be made into a "chat_lines" minetest.conf option and the default value should be 8.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 23:13
by Topywo
Thanks, I'll try it out with 12 lines.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 00:09
by Menche
PilzAdam wrote:Are you sure you run Irrlicht 0.8? Because I have 1.7 ...

I'm an Archer here too, the latest version of irrlicht in Arch is 1.8.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 15:12
by rarkenin
Can we at least have an extra chant window, or a full chat that doesn't overlap with the game view? The chat on top of the game is hard to read in light conditions and you can't click formspec buttons through it, and the F10 console is crashy and obstructs the game.