Iron?

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

Iron?

by neko259 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 08:43

I can't find any iron since 0.4. I've searched over an hour and walked throw the map and the caves and found only 1 iron block. Before 0.4 it was very common.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Mon Dec 05, 2011 08:47

Might just be that map/world. If you don't need that world delete it and create another. I haven't specifically looked for iron on 0.4 yet but I've seen maps on 0.3 that you had to go deep to find any.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 08:48

I've tried to go very deep with free move. There's nothing but lava, coal and dungeon masters there.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

xorik
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 18:24

by xorik » Mon Dec 05, 2011 08:49

I can confirm, can't find any iron on new map in last commits
 

xorik
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 18:24
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Mon Dec 05, 2011 09:37

Just tried it on a brand new world. Iron might be rarer than it was, I haven't tested that, but it definitely still exists. Even above sea level. Try fixed_map_seed = 3466114428692010540 and go to X = 64, Y = 8, Z = 200, there is iron below the arch.
Last edited by kahrl on Mon Dec 05, 2011 09:38, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Mon Dec 05, 2011 10:18

Yeah the same with me :/ I was so pissed :(
I love mods :D
 

Gatharoth
Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 02:54

by Gatharoth » Thu Dec 22, 2011 05:17

MESE is more common than iron is =/ I found 4 iron, 40 MESE =/

Edit: Found 3 more Iron, and 50 MESE.

Edit2: Tip: If you find 2 or more iron, start clearing around them. On that 3 I just found above, found another 6 under stone
Last edited by Gatharoth on Thu Dec 22, 2011 05:30, edited 1 time in total.
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Thu Dec 22, 2011 13:32

Gatharoth wrote:MESE is more common than iron is =/ I found 4 iron, 40 MESE =/

Edit: Found 3 more Iron, and 50 MESE.

Edit2: Tip: If you find 2 or more iron, start clearing around them. On that 3 I just found above, found another 6 under stone

I've also noticed MESE being more common then iron. Definitely needs to be fixed.
 

mcburgerbob
Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 19:50
Location: B.C Canada

by mcburgerbob » Tue Jan 03, 2012 23:22

On my first day i found alot of iron lol
MY CAKE!
 

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Wed Jan 04, 2012 08:58

On the second day. I was too lazy and used /giveme command :)
I love mods :D
 

xorik
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 18:24

by xorik » Wed Jan 04, 2012 09:17

mcburgerbob wrote:On my first day i found alot of iron lol


Try to compile or get latest version of minetest and delete map
 

cosarara97
Member
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 18:53

by cosarara97 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 16:03

I compiled lastest version and still can't find any :/ (using a new map)
:D
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Wed Jan 04, 2012 17:18

Maybe add Iron generation in moreores?
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

zoup
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 01:20

by zoup » Sun Jan 29, 2012 01:36

Hi,

I greet you all with my first post! With big thanks to c55 and all contributors for this great project :)

I have seen there have been two approaches to deal with the iron problem, they do not seem to work for me though. How does it turn out for the rest of you?

I am quite unexpierienced with git and I installed via archlinux's user repositories which is giving me the install script for a 0.4.dev-20120122-1 build. Please excuse if I got this wrong: The patch should be included that way already, or am I wrong?
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Jan 29, 2012 02:16

zoup wrote:Hi,

I greet you all with my first post! With big thanks to c55 and all contributors for this great project :)

I have seen there have been two approaches to deal with the iron problem, they do not seem to work for me though. How does it turn out for the rest of you?

I am quite unexpierienced with git and I installed via archlinux's user repositories which is giving me the install script for a 0.4.dev-20120122-1 build. Please excuse if I got this wrong: The patch should be included that way already, or am I wrong?


Hi zoup,

Welcome to the Minetest forums ^_^

The patch that fixed Iron being too rare was indeed in the build your using so I'm not too sure why your having a problem finding some how far down are you digging? because for me at around about 15/20 blocks down its quite common to find Iron and obviously the further down you go the more Iron you will find.

Iron can also be found quite often amongst coal so if you see some coal have a dig around chances are you will also find a couple blocks of iron too.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 02:18

I have actually seen a good bit of iron on the map that MrTheBuilder made his LoZ Temple of Time on
 

zoup
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 01:20

by zoup » Sun Jan 29, 2012 09:41

dannydark wrote:how far down are you digging? because for me at around about 15/20 blocks down its quite common to find Iron and obviously the further down you go the more Iron you will find.


I've been digging more than 100 blocks down and looking around in caves there :-/

dannydark wrote:Iron can also be found quite often amongst coal so if you see some coal have a dig around chances are you will also find a couple blocks of iron too.


I just ran a comparison between this version and 0.3.1 again and digging with a wooden pickaxe resulted in 6 lumps of iron within less than 5 minutes, not many blocks deep.

With the new build i've been searching more than 5 minutes with a mese pickaxe at lower than -60 and found more than 100 lumps of coal and no iron whatsoever ^^ Even coal seems to have become a little less...

If this problem seems to have been solved for others, I'll just generate maps with 0.3.1 for now and wait for the next release, maybe it will be solved by itself :)
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 09:43

Iron density was fixed after the itemdef update.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:12

hmmm well I think the bug might still exist, on my local world iron is very common, however, I'm playing on jordan4ibanez's server at the moment and I've been looking for Iron for about the last 30mins or so and have only found 2 blocks (I even had a quick fly around in free move -600 blocks deep and could see lots of mese and coal but naff all iron).

Maybe I was just lucky to get a seed with lots of iron on my single player world.
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:16

dannydark wrote:hmmm well I think the bug might still exist, on my local world iron is very common, however, I'm playing on jordan4ibanez's server at the moment and I've been looking for Iron for about the last 30mins or so and have only found 2 blocks (I even had a quick fly around in free move -600 blocks deep and could see lots of mese and coal but naff all iron).

Maybe I was just lucky to get a seed with lots of iron on my single player world.

What version does jordan4ibanez have? Did you search on a new map (created after the update) or on the old areas?
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:22

@neko259 as far as I know he is using the latest git and yeh brand new map as the other one ended up being corrupted after jordan4ibanez decided to play with some nukes haha.

To be honest It may just be where I'm looking but on my single player world it wasn't this hard to find it ^_^
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3157
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:41

Latest git seems to fix this bug... at least for me.
 

zoup
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 01:20

by zoup » Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:28

Maybe it's all just about expectations, so let's compare :D

In 0.3.1 I would only have to dig a small mine (max 10 blocks deep and a room of 7x7x7 to find enough iron ore to make steel tools for continuing the mine.

In 0.4-dev-20120122-1 I can dig a mine like this:
[img=http://ompldr.org/vY2lpdA]http://ompldr.org/tY2lpdA[/img]

and what I get from it are 7 lumps of iron which makes me so happy I turn them into a sword which I keep in a locked chest :D (The depth of the mine is less than -30 but if I go to -400 it's virtually the same. The only difference is that there is mese)

Considering this mine, is it normal that I find that few?

I tried recreating the world several times, too, as well as deleting any remaining config and other files and reinstalling.
This is kray's build script for archlinux: PKGBUILD
The pkgver variable suggests an older git commit but it pulls the newest one.
 

rahonejm
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 01:58
Location: Brazil

by rahonejm » Sun Jan 29, 2012 19:59

+1. I've made almost a full castle with cobble, a farm complete with fences, torches everywhere, mese, and only 7 iron :(
Sorry for possible language mistakes
 

Next

Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests