some lags

the_foe
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:21

some lags

by the_foe » Mon Dec 12, 2011 20:04

It's very odd, but i've got extreme lags during playing game. I have 60 fps, flying, walking is perfect. the problem appears when i start crafting or building. Blocks appear with 1-3 sec. lag. The same thing when i'm using inventory. Lags can be even 10 sec. My processor usage is normal (not more than 50%).
I use direct 8 and no fancy graphic features...

sorry about my english...
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Mon Dec 12, 2011 20:45

I confirm. Playing on localhost. Using Gentoo amd64 && Intel Core 2 Duo.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Mon Dec 12, 2011 22:19

as the game gets bigger it will get more greedy for power
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

the_foe
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:21

by the_foe » Mon Dec 12, 2011 22:51

ok, but it should not happen when i only want to relocate item whithin inventory! it's very strange. I suppose the problem is somewhere between client and server. It's not hardware performance issue.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Dec 13, 2011 00:12

There is some delay between inventory moves and block placing because the client currently doesn't predict the move/build it will do. It will wait the server confirms the block placing/inventory move.
 

the_foe
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:21

by the_foe » Tue Dec 13, 2011 16:40

i understand it, but we talking about localhost. theoricaly here should be no lags. I'm sure that 10 sec. lag is pretty nasty and nobody has such obsolete hardware what can justify this...
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
 

the_foe
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:21

by the_foe » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:37

it's getting more odd: when i exit to OS and then restart client the blocks and inventory are updated immidiately. Even playing on remote server where lag can be even 1 min. It looks like lags accumulate with client uptime.
Another thing: lags are greater underground.
Last edited by the_foe on Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:39, edited 1 time in total.
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Wed Dec 14, 2011 13:39

the_foe wrote:it's getting more odd: when i exit to OS and then restart client the blocks and inventory are updated immidiately. Even playing on remote server where lag can be even 1 min. It looks like lags accumulate with client uptime.
Another thing: lags are greater underground.

The lag might be more underground because it's probably generating all of the blocks, and doing about 5 32 x 32 areas takes quite a while. Because underground there's much less space, it has to generate all 1024 blocks sometimes.
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests