Help with installing mods

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

Help with installing mods

by IPushButton2653 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 20:40

I have been trying to install the obsidian and gemstones mods, but I think I may have done something wrong. PLEASE HELP!!!
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 21:30

I put the mods in the data/mods folder, and it still won't work. I don't know what to do, and I searched the forums and couldn't find anything that helped.
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Sat Dec 17, 2011 22:04

Why do you think something is wrong? If the gems aren't showing up go far away so that it generates new areas.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 22:13

But the obsidian, it's the one I am trying to get to work. I tried, but failed. I think I must have forgotten something.
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Sat Dec 17, 2011 22:21

What's wrong? Is it crashing? You can't craft what you're supposed to be able to?
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sat Dec 17, 2011 23:51

I incorrectly installed the mod or something, because it is not working in-game
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Sun Dec 18, 2011 00:26

Your folders should be like this:
Minetest folder
-data
-mods
-mod folder
-texutures folder
-depends.txt
-init.lua

Is that what it looks like?
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 00:36

Yes, but I don't know what I am doing wrong.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 00:38

Is it something about the depends.txt? That's as much as I can think what I may have wrong.
 

bwog
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 14:09
Location: United States

by bwog » Sun Dec 18, 2011 02:07

IPushButton2653 wrote:Is it something about the depends.txt? That's as much as I can think what I may have wrong.

It should be in the same folder as init.lua.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 18:32

It's set up as:
-obsidian
-textures
-init.lua
-depends.txt
I am on Windows
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sun Dec 18, 2011 18:59

there's a possibility that the mod isn't current to the version your using try and download it again to see if its that
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 19:48

i fixed it thanks to Hackeridze
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Sun Dec 18, 2011 21:15

Now the gemstones mod won't work :/
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Sun Dec 18, 2011 22:04

Those gemstones will only be generated in new chunks... you need to delete your current map (you will lose any and all items) or wander far away from the already generated chunks.
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Mon Dec 19, 2011 03:31

IPushButton2653 wrote:i fixed it thanks to Hackeridze


Just out of interest how did you fix the obsidian mod? it seems it doesn't work for me either.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 02:03

I changed all the default textures i.e. water_flowing becomes default:water_flowing.
And does anyone have any clue to the gemstones? I can't even get on map. If someone who has the correct init.lua file for it could post it, I could correct as needed for my system. I'm good at simple logic, but suck at coding.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 3156
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: Troyes, France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Tue Dec 20, 2011 17:05

We need the error message (check the debug.txt file in your Minetest installation folder, last lines) to help you...
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 02:13

20:12:04: ERROR[main]: ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Brennan.hewie-pc\Desktop\minetest 0.4\bin\..\data\mods\gemstones\init.lua
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: error_message = ModError: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Brennan.hewie-pc\Desktop\minetest 0.4\bin\..\data\mods\gemstones\init.lua

This is what it said
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 02:15

20:12:04: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from C:\Users\Brennan.hewie-pc\Desktop\minetest 0.4\bin\..\data\mods\gemstones\init.lua:
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: [LUA]
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: [LUA] ...top\minetest 0.4\bin\..\data\mods\gemstones\init.lua:9: attempt to call field 'get_modpath' (a nil value)
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: ...top\minetest 0.4\bin\..\data\mods\gemstones\init.lua:9: in main chunk
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: [LUA]
20:12:04: ERROR[main]: Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Brennan.hewie-pc\Desktop\minetest 0.4\bin\..\data\mods\gemstones\init.lua
forgot this part
 

celeron55
Administrator
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10
GitHub: celeron55
IRC: celeron55

by celeron55 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 15:26

Apparently gemstones is using a function in the Lua API which isn't contained in the latest Windows build.
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 16:39

In other words, it doesn't work on Windows?
 

User avatar
dannydark
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 21:28
Location: Manchester, UK

by dannydark » Thu Dec 22, 2011 16:44

It does if you compile from source yourself, I think celeron55 meant it isn't in the latest windows build that he has compiled (which I'm guessing you have downloaded).
 

User avatar
IPushButton2653
Member
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 22:47
Location: Mississippi

by IPushButton2653 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 17:10

I have no clue how to compile or do any of this. And none of the other mods I am trying to install (cube, village, and flowers) are wanting to work either.
 


Return to Problems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 2 guests