what are the steps to open mods?

Post Reply
User avatar
d0fabur5st
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 03:03

what are the steps to open mods?

by d0fabur5st » Post

i can't open mods, for example, i dragged the mesecon mod into my mods bin, opened the configure tab, enables it, and it says it failed to upload it..... and i really want to try mods, it sounds great, sooo... could someone give me a procedure to help me?

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Did you unzip the .zip file the mod comes in?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
i1abnrk
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 03:20
GitHub: i1abnrk
IRC: i1abnrk
In-game: mervyncoll
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

by i1abnrk » Post

That sounds like it could be folder permissions. What are the permissions on your minetest folder? I'm no expert (anymore) but if you're on a newer version of Windows and you install to Program Files there could be restrictions preventing mod installation. So I've heard. Installing to a user directory is said to be preferred for games you want to modify.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6451
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

I assume you actually mean the configuration tab, and not the mods tab?

User avatar
MrElmux
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2013 09:50
Location: North Western Germany

by MrElmux » Post

Please post the error output if there is any

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

d0fabur5st wrote:i can't open mods, for example, i dragged the mesecon mod into my mods bin, opened the configure tab, enables it, and it says it failed to upload it..... and i really want to try mods, it sounds great, sooo... could someone give me a procedure to help me?
1. Unzip the file into your mods folder.
2. Rename the new folder that pops up to just 'mesecons' without quotes.
3. Open Minetest, enable mesecons in the mod config thingy. Hit Save, and run your game.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

hoodedice wrote:2. Rename the new folder that pops up to just 'mesecons' without quotes.
ah yeah, the renaming. that could get quite a few people.
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: freshreplicant, Google [Bot] and 2 guests