Page 1 of 1

0.4 Dev Error

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 22:48
by LolManKuba
Well a few times today when I want to go on Minetest this comes up: Image
And I think it has something to do with the 'world' folder because I got my saved world from the 0.4 and put it on the 0.3.1 and when I tryed to enter the server the same thing came up.

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 22:51
by Jordach
LolManKuba wrote: And I think it has something to do with the 'world' folder because I got my saved world from the 0.4 and put it on the 0.3.1 and when I tryed to enter the server the same thing came up.
there's your problem, the world is lost.

Posted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 23:27
by dannydark
Yeah 0.4 worlds are not backwards compatible with 0.3 as the world data was changed quite a bit in 0.4

You will have to start a new world if you want to play on 0.3.1

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 00:34
by LolManKuba
Um how is my world lost? Because 0.4 is unstable so this could be one of the errors with the world part of 0.4

Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 02:28
by dannydark
LolManKuba wrote:Um how is my world lost? Because 0.4 is unstable so this could be one of the errors with the world part of 0.4
The world isn't lost you just won't be able to load it in older versions of Minetest.

A few things changed in the code that made the new world data stuff work differently meaning that because the world was created in 0.4 of Minetest you will need 0.4+ to play on it, even if the world was originally created in 0.3 if you have since loaded it in 0.4 it will have been converted to use the new 0.4 map format so it will no longer work in 0.3.

So basically if you want to continue playing that world you will have to stick with version 0.4 (or higher) otherwise if you do want to use an older version of Minetest (i.e. 0.3.1) you will need to start a new world.

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 22:04
by jp4000
I know this is an old post but I have had this problem many times. I have lost plenty of worlds in all minetest versions. The error message is referring to the env_meta file in your worlds folder. the information has been deleted somehow and you replace it with something like this:
game_time = 25541
time_of_day = 15677
EnvArgsEnd
And voila! You should get your world back.

Posted: Tue May 01, 2012 22:36
by LolManKuba
jp4000 wrote:I know this is an old post but I have had this problem many times. I have lost plenty of worlds in all minetest versions. The error message is referring to the env_meta file in your worlds folder. the information has been deleted somehow and you replace it with something like this:
game_time = 25541
time_of_day = 15677
EnvArgsEnd
And voila! You should get your world back.
I don't really play Minetest anymore, I just try to help people ect. on it.

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 02:37
by jp4000
Well, now you know. And so can anyone else having this problem. You can even slap a "Solved!" on it :)