Android Minetest

For people working on the C++ code.
a1batross
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 12:56

Android Minetest

by a1batross » Fri May 04, 2012 13:00

Can someone port Minetest 0.4 to Android.
Minetest can be?:
1) Run on cheap devices
2) Support ARMv6
3) AWESOME!
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Fri May 04, 2012 14:59

I do have a cheap Android 2.1 device that could be used. So it is possible, BUT DROID DOES SUPPORT C++ BUT NOT VERY MUCH.

I will see if I can get a C++ -> Java engine working.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

mauvebic
Member
 
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Fri May 04, 2012 16:10

I wonder if it could be done with a browser and webgl
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Fri May 04, 2012 20:55

Lol if this is possible please make one on iOS?
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Sat May 05, 2012 05:44

iOS runs Obj-C, not C++. Also does not support opengl. -.-
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat May 05, 2012 10:46

tinoesroho wrote:iOS runs Obj-C, not C++. Also does not support opengl. -.-

From what I read, Minecraft PE uses it. But Obj-C is the main. And another thing I read that, both platforms support c++.
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat May 05, 2012 22:23

Jordach by the way you posted something like this long ago.
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sat May 05, 2012 22:23

Jordach by the way you posted something like this long ago.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sat May 05, 2012 22:43

Me has idea. Stencyl a free iOs game maker could be able to do this. And it works like scratch.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun May 06, 2012 09:50

LolManKuba wrote:What about the Android one?

a loNg time learning java?
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada

by LolManKuba » Sun May 06, 2012 10:18

I only know a very small bit of Java, maybe you can ask someone else to help you with the Android version.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun May 06, 2012 11:14

Like you, I know a little Java, however, since Canonical is releasing their own tablet, the Ubuntu tablet, we could use that instead, since it would naturally support C++.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
 

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
 
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Sun May 06, 2012 16:32

Jordach wrote:I do have a cheap Android 2.1 device that could be used. So it is possible, BUT DROID DOES SUPPORT C++ BUT NOT VERY MUCH.

I will see if I can get a C++ -> Java engine working.

IT WAS WRITTEN IN C# C++ IN JAVA WHY WOULD YOU SAY THAT?!
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Sun May 06, 2012 21:38

Actually, all I have to do is write a C++ implementation, just like MT does so with LUA.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

kingtux
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 16:59

by kingtux » Wed Jul 11, 2012 05:14

Use the android NDK and search for android ports for libraries.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Fri Dec 14, 2012 17:37

Any news
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

Michael Eh?
Member
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 17:21

by Michael Eh? » Wed Dec 19, 2012 21:53

I do have finally an Icecream Sandwich 7" tablet. 4.0.4 Fairly cheap at $99 so having an android version of MT would be good.

However, since Android is a tablet. There is little of keyboard support. Especially function keys. A WHOLE rework of the interface is needed. Mouse scrolling where you look around gives way to touch and literally turning the tablet to look around.

Inventory should be bar along the bottom where swiping up displays inventory craft window. Swipe top down for chat window and onscreen keyboard. On screen movement buttons with a toggle for walk-run-fly. How to handle the extra debug screen is the question. Auto clear cache, debug.txt would be nice.

The only other crutch is memory. Android devices like mine only have 512K ram though flash is 8 gig on my tablet, others aren't as lucky. Now how do we handle having NO ESCape key? =)
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 23:41

Michael Eh? wrote:I do have finally an Icecream Sandwich 7" tablet. 4.0.4 Fairly cheap at $99 so having an android version of MT would be good.

However, since Android is a tablet. There is little of keyboard support. Especially function keys. A WHOLE rework of the interface is needed. Mouse scrolling where you look around gives way to touch and literally turning the tablet to look around.

Inventory should be bar along the bottom where swiping up displays inventory craft window. Swipe top down for chat window and onscreen keyboard. On screen movement buttons with a toggle for walk-run-fly. How to handle the extra debug screen is the question. Auto clear cache, debug.txt would be nice.

The only other crutch is memory. Android devices like mine only have 512K ram though flash is 8 gig on my tablet, others aren't as lucky. Now how do we handle having NO ESCape key? =)


no escape key then use home button or back button
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Dec 19, 2012 23:43

jojoa1997 wrote:
Michael Eh? wrote:I do have finally an Icecream Sandwich 7" tablet. 4.0.4 Fairly cheap at $99 so having an android version of MT would be good.

However, since Android is a tablet. There is little of keyboard support. Especially function keys. A WHOLE rework of the interface is needed. Mouse scrolling where you look around gives way to touch and literally turning the tablet to look around.

Inventory should be bar along the bottom where swiping up displays inventory craft window. Swipe top down for chat window and onscreen keyboard. On screen movement buttons with a toggle for walk-run-fly. How to handle the extra debug screen is the question. Auto clear cache, debug.txt would be nice.

The only other crutch is memory. Android devices like mine only have 512K ram though flash is 8 gig on my tablet, others aren't as lucky. Now how do we handle having NO ESCape key? =)


no escape key then use home button or back button


also look at the mincraft pe controls download the demo
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

by kaeza » Thu Dec 20, 2012 00:08

+100 I don't have an Android tablet currently but that would be nice.
Next: Minetest S90, and maybe later Minetest J2ME :P
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Wed Jan 09, 2013 08:26

I've got my POWERFUL tablet - Huawei Mediapad 10 in original, 2 gb ram version, quad core CPU, 16 core gpu with 64 bit memory controller. p.s. it has screen resolution 1900x1200 :)
I hope there will be full port of minetest on android - my hmp will run it without any problem.
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

Next

Return to Partly official engine development



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests