Why does minetest store light in the nodes?

For people working on the C++ code.
Sires
Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 21:00
Location: :noitacoL
GitHub: Sires0
IRC: Sires
In-game: Sires Sores Siri Seris or anything ppl call me

Why does minetest store light in the nodes?

by Sires » Sat Mar 09, 2019 18:42

It might seem like a dumb question for a minetest developer but I have never really dig down into the code and I'm too noob with minetest C code structure to really understand anything from the code. Is it just for faster calculation maybe?
In the middle of the road was a stone
was a stone in the middle of the road
was stone
in the middle of the road was a stone.

I shall never forget that event
in the life of my so tired eyes.
I shall never forget that in the middle of the road
was a stone
was a stone in the middle of the road
in the middle of the road was a stone.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: Why does minetest store light in the nodes?

by sofar » Sat Mar 09, 2019 19:57

Minetest doesn't use hardware lighting. All lighting is calculated in software. In order not to have to recalculate light over and over again, it is stored in the map.
 


Return to Partly official engine development



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest