See your own player

For people working on the C++ code.
User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
Inocudom wrote:This feature looked like it had a future, but then development stopped. Is there a coder in this community that can continue the development of this feature (maybe make it as a mod first?)
I had the plan to add API functions to set the playermodel with all the animations etc. This can be send to the client and it can be used there.
Then this should be successful one day? I would hope so, for it would add a good deal to the immersion factor.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
SONICBLAST5678
New member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 20:52
Location: UK

by SONICBLAST5678 » Post

pilzadam, can you fix the download link to the windows build?

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

SONICBLAST5678 wrote:pilzadam, can you fix the download link to the windows build?
omploader deletes files after some time, I'm sure PilzAdam hasn't got the .zip file anymore
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

SONICBLAST5678 wrote:pilzadam, can you fix the download link to the windows build?
Re-uploaded to my dropbox win build folder (in "other"): https://www.dropbox.com/sh/am3ddzfm8qxz9w0/VlbFIebGBK
sfan5 wrote:omploader deletes files after some time, I'm sure PilzAdam hasn't got the .zip file anymore
:-p

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

You should keep working on this, PilzAdam. I like the idea of being able to see myself in-game.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Inocudom wrote:You should keep working on this, PilzAdam. I like the idea of being able to see myself in-game.
Theres nothing to keep working on, its finished but too hacky to include in Minetest
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Inocudom wrote:You should keep working on this, PilzAdam. I like the idea of being able to see myself in-game.
Theres nothing to keep working on, its finished but too hacky to include in Minetest
There actually is a lot of stuff to work on, but I dont know if I can do all this.

User avatar
tinoesroho
Member
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

by tinoesroho » Post

Do. What the F*#$ you want to do. Isn't that the point of open source?
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

tinoesroho wrote:Do. What the F*#$ you want to do. Isn't that the point of open source?
Yes.

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

I like it. for screenshots is the point of binding it to a key. If you like 1stperson building, but like 3rd person screenshots, there you go.
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

It looks like this idea was abandoned yet again. If this is impossible to do, then mirrors could be made.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
yohanes828
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 01:05

by yohanes828 » Post

how to use it

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

yohanes828 wrote:how to use it
Download the win build and play it.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

User avatar
yohanes828
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 01:05

by yohanes828 » Post

how to use this and i think its like minecraft

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

yohanes828 wrote:how to use this and i think its like minecraft
Repeat: Download the Windows build Minetest Build, and play Minetest with it.
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

I think that Windows build is out of date. Is there a way that the function that displays the player model can be added to the latest development version?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3926
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Inocudom wrote:I think that Windows build is out of date. Is there a way that the function that displays the player model can be added to the latest development version?
Sure, sombody just needs to apply the patch to the latest version of Minetest.
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3096
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

sfan5 wrote:
Inocudom wrote:I think that Windows build is out of date. Is there a way that the function that displays the player model can be added to the latest development version?
Sure, sombody just needs to apply the patch to the latest version of Minetest.
Any luck with this? Things seem pretty void in this community lately.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

yes, I noticed.
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"

Rhys
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Post

Where do you actually put the code?

User avatar
darthvader
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 14:35
Location: Death Star

by darthvader » Post

Rhys wrote:Where do you actually put the code?
Q. Why cant you write with a broken pencil?
A. Because its not in minetest.
(The original answer is "Because it's pointless.")

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

darthvader wrote:
Rhys wrote:Where do you actually put the code?
It's a patch, I'm guessing you don't know how to patch anything?
Back from the dead!

User avatar
darthvader
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 14:35
Location: Death Star

by darthvader » Post

Evergreen wrote:
darthvader wrote:
Rhys wrote:Where do you actually put the code?
It's a patch, I'm guessing you don't know how to patch anything?
How do you patch things?
Q. Why cant you write with a broken pencil?
A. Because its not in minetest.
(The original answer is "Because it's pointless.")

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

darthvader wrote:
Evergreen wrote:It's a patch, I'm guessing you don't know how to patch anything?
How do you patch things?
It's complicated. Come back when you're 15 or older.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
darthvader
Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 14:35
Location: Death Star

by darthvader » Post

hoodedice wrote:
darthvader wrote:
Evergreen wrote:It's a patch, I'm guessing you don't know how to patch anything?
How do you patch things?
It's complicated. Come back when you're 15 or older.
Hell, just freaking tell me.
Q. Why cant you write with a broken pencil?
A. Because its not in minetest.
(The original answer is "Because it's pointless.")

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest