hd lighting abilities?

For people working on the C++ code.
User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

hd lighting abilities?

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Jan 03, 2012 15:40

i was reading about irrlicht and i noticed that it is capable of lighting in hd...could this mean that there could be dynamic torch light? or dynamic TEXTURED (coloured) torch light? or how about orange glow at sun down? or blue darkness early in the morning? THAT would be amazing!
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 15:51

celeron55 is afraid of making the game too slow on old computers if the dynamic lighting would be enabled. Mayba this can be done optionally?
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Tue Jan 03, 2012 15:51

And beat MC hands down.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Jan 03, 2012 16:57

thats the thing!! my friend is running minecraft on a p4 2.6 ghz with
like 512 gb of ram and nvidia 5200 fx (128mb vram) on half settings!
this game is 1/10th the weight of minecraft! all this stuff will be
possible if we have settings to enable and dissable some of the
bulkier features on minetest after their developed!
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
Hackeridze
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 13:35

by Hackeridze » Tue Jan 03, 2012 18:40

jordan4ibanez wrote:like 512 gb of ram

O_O
My game: RTMG
GENTOO USER
 

User avatar
Staffs
Member
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 13:16

by Staffs » Tue Jan 03, 2012 18:59

Hackeridze wrote:
jordan4ibanez wrote:like 512 gb of ram

O_O

I think he meant MB
I love mods :D
 

User avatar
cisoun
Member
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 18:56
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: cisoun
IRC: cisoun
In-game: cisoun

by cisoun » Tue Jan 03, 2012 19:48

Would be interesting! I've got also an old Dell P4 1.8Ghz 512Mb with Nvidia Geforce 5600FX, that would be cool if it works on it!


Edit: Or we could just use the Doom 3 engine? Ok I'm out... ->[]
Not here for a while due to some troubles between my graphic card and Minetest.
Cisoun's Texture Pack | The Conifers Mod (deprecated) | Faenza icons for Minetest |
Website
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Tue Jan 03, 2012 21:56

if I had the amount of ram he has 512 gb I would consider looking outside to remember what the sun looks like :)
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Jan 03, 2012 22:16

sdzen wrote:if I had the amount of ram he has 512 gb I would consider looking outside to remember what the sun looks like :)

i meant mb
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Tue Jan 03, 2012 22:31

I know I was Just Teaseing
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

Teravisor
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:52

by Teravisor » Sun Jan 08, 2012 13:56

If you implement dynamic lighting correctly, you can't lose anything. you might only win.
Old machines turn it off and get static lighting like the one right now
Not-so-old do dynamic lighting themselves and ignore(ideally not even receive? - meaning less bandwidth usage) lighting bits.

Though getting yourself into making correct dynamic lighting might be just time-consuming.
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:00

Yes, dynamic lightning must be implemented. Also we must have an ability for entities to emit light.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

Nemo08
Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 04:59

by Nemo08 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:35

neko259 wrote:Yes, dynamic lightning must be implemented. Also we must have an ability for entities to emit light.

+100500!
 

User avatar
sdzen
Member
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 22:33
Location: Paradise (your not allowed)

by sdzen » Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:39

+∞ :)
[h]Zen S.D.[/h] The next generation of tranquility!
malheureusement mon français n'est pas bon :<
Owner of the Zelo's
In game name: MuadTralk, spdtainted, sdzen, sd zen, sdzeno
 

User avatar
MrThebuilder3
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 18:26

by MrThebuilder3 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 22:12

neko259 wrote:Yes, dynamic lightning must be implemented. Also we must have an ability for entities to emit light.

+inf
 

User avatar
RAPHAEL
Member
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 09:09
Location: Earth

by RAPHAEL » Sun Jan 08, 2012 23:20

+Image

Actually wouldn't bother me one way or the other if it was implemented. However I would be interested in MORE lighting. AKA a higher light max.
"Before you speak, ask yourself: Is it kind, is it true, is it necessary, does it improve upon the silence?"
My mods: http://goo.gl/n4kpn
(Currently Various, Industrial, Fakeblocks, Jail, MoarCraft, Christmas, Replicator, minetest dev installer for linux, bash mod installer, windows mod installer)
 

celeron55
Administrator
 
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10
GitHub: celeron55
IRC: celeron55

by celeron55 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 20:42

The problem with hardware lighting is that you cannot use the voxel lighting and hardware lighting simultaneously without shaders, and nobody is willing to or capable of creating such a system. Including me,
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 20:52

celeron55 wrote:The problem with hardware lighting is that you cannot use the voxel lighting and hardware lighting simultaneously without shaders, and nobody is willing to or capable of creating such a system. Including me,

You mean shaders support isn't implemented in irrlicht? Or you don't want the game to bound users or old computers? But this also slows the game on modern hardware and wastes its features that aren't used.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Mon Jan 09, 2012 23:33

i have taken this on my own to rewrite the lighting to accommodate hd/dynamic/textured lighting with help from members of the irrlicht community. wish me luck.
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:06

jordan4ibanez wrote:i have taken this on my own to rewrite the lighting to accommodate hd/dynamic/textured lighting with help from members of the irrlicht community. wish me luck.

I wish you luck!
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

User avatar
jordan4ibanez
Member
 
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 18:44
Location: Rhode Island, USA
GitHub: jordan4ibanez
IRC: jordan4ibanez
In-game: jordan4ibanez

by jordan4ibanez » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:50

thank you..this could take me weeks or months
I've been gone for a long time
 

User avatar
neko259
Member
 
Posts: 804
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 06:51

by neko259 » Sun Jan 29, 2012 21:12

Mesa driver supports opengl3 now, so we can use modern graphics features even on computers with old graphics cards. Of course they will be emulated by CPU.
s3tuPDfUv2IyvXHzPmE31MQvnWULv1zj
 

wokste
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 09:06

by wokste » Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:54

The day / night system currently gives problems. I think we should have fluent transitions. Here is a suggestion for implementation:

Code: Select all
u8 MapNode::getLight(u8 bankLevel, INodeDefManager *nodemgr) const
{
    // Select the brightest of [light source, propagated light]
    const ContentFeatures &f = nodemgr->get(*this);
    if(f.param_type == CPT_LIGHT)
    {
        return (
            (param1 & 0x0f) * (16 - bankLevel) +
            (param1>>4)&0x0f * (bankLevel)
        )>>4;
    }
    if(f.light_source > light)
        return f.light_source;
    return 0;
}


bankLevel must be an uint8 between 0 and 16. 16 means day, 0 means night. I suggest a sin-like curve for the float.

A word on efficiency. I do not know what the if statements do, but if statements and type conversions are relatively expensive for a computer. To further improve speed, this can be changed in a macro. (to avoid a function call). This will look somewhat like:

Code: Select all
#define getLight(block,bankLevel) (((block).param1 & 0x0f) * (16 - (bankLevel)) + ((block).param1>>4)&0x0f * (bankLevel))>>4)


Note: This code is neighter compiled nor tested
Last edited by wokste on Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:16, edited 1 time in total.
We must be careful not to clone Notches mistakes.
 

kahrl
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 07:51
Location: Rös̓̇chenhof

by kahrl » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:18

wokste wrote:The day / night system currently gives problems. I think we should have fluent transitions. Here is a suggestion for implementation:

Code: Select all
u8 MapNode::getLight(u8 bankLevel, INodeDefManager *nodemgr) const
{
    [snip]
}


bankLevel must be an uint8 between 0 and 16. 16 means day, 0 means night. I suggest a sin-like curve for the float.


That's what getLightBlend() is for.

wokste wrote:A word on efficiency. I do not know what the if statements do, but if statements and type conversions are relatively expensive for a computer. To further improve speed, this can be changed in a macro. (to avoid a function call). This will look somewhat like:

Code: Select all
#define getLight(block,bankLevel) (((block).param1 & 0x0f) * (16 - (bankLevel)) + ((block).param1>>4)&0x0f * (bankLevel))>>4)


Umm, you know that a function that is defined inside class {} is inline?


BTW, the actual reason that the day-night transition is not smooth is that time_to_daynight_ratio (from utility.h) returns only three discrete values (350 at night, 750 at sunset and sunrise, 1000 during the day). I started changing that in my shaders_v2 branch (be sure to set enable_shaders=0 in minetest.conf if you want to try it). However, the patches force a lot more mesh updates when the daynight ratio is changing.
 

wokste
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 09:06

by wokste » Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:07

Thanks for the reply, appearantly I didn't understand the code as well as I thought. Your explanation helps a lot. I also like to hear that someone is already working on it.

kahrl wrote:Umm, you know that a function that is defined inside class {} is inline?

I didn't know that. Thanks again.
We must be careful not to clone Notches mistakes.
 

Next

Return to Partly official engine development



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests