Page 1 of 2

3D animals

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 22:52
by darian_gossman
Can minetest have 3D animals? If it can, can someone make a mod or patch?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 23:12
by rinoux
+1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 23:15
by sdzen
if you look at the animals mod for a moment sapier used 3d models ask him

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 01:20
by jordan4ibanez
every body is against it for some reason..i would love to play this game..but its not really fun without 3d mobs and people and sound effects

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 01:53
by sapier
I've just created a patch for linking entities together, it's inteded as testcase for linking players to entities thus creating minecarts. But it may be used to link different shaped blocks to a 3d model of an animal too. One entity being the master entity all other entity's movement beeing controled by it. It's not complete but another piece of the puzzle.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 20:22
by r_kAY
I suggest that there should be different options for 3d animals. So based on your system capabilities you can still play minetest. That way we can please more than one group of people.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 16:04
by Krisi
3D People: i working for it, i have already make a model in Blender (thread http://c55.me/minetest/forum/viewtopic.php?id=362) but the big problem is that the new Mod api has no function to add something to the engine so i must "export" all models in blender to a "C Code" and add this to the source. Currently i fail on the texture because the tex-coordinates are wrong and im to stupid to export the coordinated with the new blender 2.5 python api right.
3D Animals & new 3D objects: the same

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 17:56
by jordan4ibanez
if you can get 3d animals and 3d people into minetest i will completely give up minecraft..that is freakin cool

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 18:17
by sfan5
jordan4ibanez wrote:if you can get 3d animals and 3d people into minetest i will completely give up minecraft..that is freakin cool

+3

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 19:20
by rinoux
Krisi wrote:3D People: i working for it

Woooooooo, yes !! that will be realy cool !

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 20:12
by sapier
If there's 3d model loading support ans someone provides 3d models I'll add it instantly to animals ;-).

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 21:06
by dannydark
sapier wrote:If there's 3d model loading support ans someone provides 3d models I'll add it instantly to animals ;-).


Well Irrlicht supports various types of 3d models (http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/features/) although you would still need to add the ability into Minetest to use them ^_^

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 21:57
by sapier
sorry forgot the "for mods" in my sentence :-)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:44
by MirceaKitsune
And 3D players too. But yes, +1.

Also, I know some people are concerned with the performance impact 3D meshes could have. Which is why I suggest making 3D a setting which can be turned off, and giving each entity (animal mob or player) both a 3D version as well as a 6-way sprite set. So if people want sprites for either performance or that Infiniminer look, everyone is happy :)

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 01:26
by Michael Eh?
then we're nothing but being minecraft....

The rat in 3.1 is fine. I think we need to get ingenius to make a critter is such low res as possible. It's a challenge. Use the regular system of generating things. How simple can we make stuff like jungle grass to look like something special.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 01:27
by Michael Eh?
Maybe what we need is design tool that we can draw on blocks and view in minetest sim.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 14:43
by wokste
3D as minecraft or 3D as (insert random modern 3D game here)?

For the first: I have [url=stevenw.nl/c55/3dmodel.cpp]some ideas for code[/url].
For the second: opengameart.org, may provide us with some models

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 15:31
by Nemo08
Michael Eh? wrote:then we're nothing but being minecraft....

The rat in 3.1 is fine. I think we need to get ingenius to make a critter is such low res as possible. It's a challenge. Use the regular system of generating things. How simple can we make stuff like jungle grass to look like something special.


Maybe make a hybrid? Make a checkbox in the settings to "show 3d models" and depending on it to load and display 3D models for players, animals, objects or load textures as they are now.
I know - this is double work for the designer and developer of 3D, but on the other side of a compromise between quality/fun and productivity.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 01:51
by Michael Eh?
Still I think we're missing something. The mandate that MineTest run on older machines.

We're thinking too hard and should look at what's already there. Like whenever you hold a torch, pickaxe, rat... it's rendered in a 3D extrapulation of it's 2D bitmap. The program already handles this, why not use it for in game graphics rather for just to signify you're holding it?

This let us have many more possibilities while keeping that 8-bit feel. Possibilities? Like a bird with extruded 3D body with 2D hortizontal bit map for wings when flying. Not like a bird ... how about a dragon... I shutter the thought.

For players, the same 2D-3D but you could have layer bitmaps extruded. Adding some depth without adding the costs of CPU or game lag.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 00:57
by IPushButton2653
In other words, just using 2D images to produce a 3D effect. Like a paper airplane.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 15:45
by Michael Eh?
Not quite but I guess for the bird idea, yes. I thinking of just using the routines for generating whatever you're holding into fake 3D and use it creatively in-game objects.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 02:29
by LolManKuba
Guys theres the 3D Players (Whatever) Mod. So if you want 3D players, download it.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 02:37
by Death Dealer
Michael Eh? wrote:Not quite but I guess for the bird idea, yes. I thinking of just using the routines for generating whatever you're holding into fake 3D and use it creatively in-game objects.

ya like editing the tools textures, it makes them 3d. that would look nice with animals

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 08:11
by Jordach
yes, this is the point.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 09:52
by kahrl
The meshes generated with the extrusion routine can contain lots of vertices. Using one of those for every visible animal might be too heavy on older graphics cards. (Perhaps it's not too bad if you stick to 16x16 textures.)