gsmapper + map mod

For people working on the C++ code.
Post Reply
User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

gsmapper + map mod

by gsmanners » Post

I don't want to get anyone too excited, but this just happened:
+ Spoiler
Here's where the fun starts: 0.7a. :)

--> Now includes map mod, which lets you control settings for the map (though I haven't figured out how to make this work properly for multiplayer, yet).

EDIT: Now with proper githubbing goodness: https://github.com/gsmanners/minetest/tree/gsmapper
And available as a pull request for your pulling pleasure: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/pull/1209

EDIT: 0.3 (using some more proper drawing routines)
0.3c (better texture clean up, proper scanning, fixed a few bugs)
0.4b (more fixes, player marker, one big optimization for non-tracking mode)
0.4e (fixes/workarounds and stuff, not too sure but I think it works mostly)
0.5a (radar mode implemented)
0.5b (a few fixes)
0.6 (optimized with tracking in mind, doesn't need quite so long a cool down)
0.6b (a few more fixes)
0.7a (dynamic colors, initial release)
Attachments
map-0.2.zip
(2.26 KiB) Downloaded 482 times
gsmapper-0.7a.zip
(13.28 KiB) Downloaded 460 times
Last edited by gsmanners on Tue Jun 10, 2014 22:28, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

What must be done with this to get it to work?

You might want to show this to the community of the following fork of Minetest too:
http://freeminer.org/
The developers of that fork are more likely to accept this.
Last edited by Inocudom on Wed Feb 05, 2014 01:10, edited 1 time in total.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

I'm excited. But the patching is not too straightforward. Can you tell me how to get this compiled?

@Inocudom: Please don't be such a sadist. The Minetest developers will pull stuff that is fit to merge. This is the reason why minetest is also much more stable and lighter than FM. End of Story.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

Yes, but the developers of Minetest can be a little cautious with pulling features.

Why, I say, why aren't people talking about this feature?
Last edited by Inocudom on Wed Feb 05, 2014 16:58, edited 1 time in total.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

hoodedice wrote:The Minetest developers will pull stuff that is fit to merge. This is the reason why minetest is also much more stable and lighter than FM.
[citation needed]

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

mauvebic wrote:
hoodedice wrote:The Minetest developers will pull stuff that is fit to merge. This is the reason why minetest is also much more stable and lighter than FM.
[citation needed]
citation: Original research.

@Ino: Because it doesn't have a 'download' button.
Last edited by hoodedice on Wed Feb 05, 2014 23:14, edited 1 time in total.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

hoodedice wrote: citation: Original research.
Real researchers usually publish their work along with their conclusions :P I say this because just 24 hours ago, something was pulled to MT that made it totally unplayable. So obviously MT is not immune to pulling "unfit" stuff :-)

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

mauvebic wrote:
hoodedice wrote: citation: Original research.
Real researchers usually publish their work along with their conclusions :P I say this because just 24 hours ago, something was pulled to MT that made it totally unplayable. So obviously MT is not immune to pulling "unfit" stuff :-)
I agree about the research. put some of your own stats into it (number of errors, normal fps, cpu usage, data usage, graphics rendering, etc.).
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

If you want to try it out, go ahead and unpack the 0.4.9 source somewhere and then do the diff for game.cpp. Then edit the CMakeLists.txt so that it includes gsmapper.cpp in the list under where it says "Client sources". Oh, and make sure you have hud_map = true in your conf (or you'll get shader timeouts and stuff).

If that just went over your head then you'll want to have a look at this:

http://dev.minetest.net/Compiling_Minetest

I kind of like the idea behind Freeminer, but I honestly just think of it like the experimental branch of Minetest. It's pretty cool, but it could take a while to win me over.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Novacain wrote: put some of your own stats into it (number of errors, normal fps, cpu usage, data usage, graphics rendering, etc.).
I hope that's addressed to the other guy, since i'm not the one making unfounded claims :p But in case it isn't, the issue im referring to is here with the relevant discussion here.
Last edited by mauvebic on Thu Feb 06, 2014 01:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

mauvebic wrote:
Novacain wrote: put some of your own stats into it (number of errors, normal fps, cpu usage, data usage, graphics rendering, etc.).
I hope that's addressed to the other guy, since i'm not the one making unfounded claims :p But in case it isn't, the issue im referring to is here with the relevant discussion here.
The stuff has been since fixed. See next day.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

hoodedice wrote: The stuff has been since fixed. See next day.
I know, i've been keeping up. I was simply demonstrating that MT devs are no more infallible than FM devs.

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice
Location: world
Contact:

by hoodedice » Post

mauvebic wrote:
hoodedice wrote: The stuff has been since fixed. See next day.
I know, i've been keeping up. I was simply demonstrating that MT devs are no more infallible than FM devs.
I never said they were SuperMen. It's just that MT's code is much more thoroughly checked before merging.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build

User avatar
Novacain
Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 01:03
Location: Skaaro

by Novacain » Post

mauvebic wrote:
Novacain wrote: put some of your own stats into it (number of errors, normal fps, cpu usage, data usage, graphics rendering, etc.).
I hope that's addressed to the other guy, since i'm not the one making unfounded claims :p But in case it isn't, the issue im referring to is here with the relevant discussion here.
I was just supporting your statement, no worries.
EXTERMINATE!!!
My Tronrealm modpack
My tronblocks mod

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

hoodedice wrote: I never said they were SuperMen. It's just that MT's code is much more thoroughly checked before merging.
Of course but the fact that mistakes happen disproves the notion that only things that are fit gets pulled :P
Novacain wrote: I was just supporting your statement, no worries.
That's what I figured, but quotes within quotes tend to be confusing :P
Last edited by mauvebic on Thu Feb 06, 2014 05:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

Slowly moving toward a mapper that might actually be usable...

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

gsmanners wrote:Slowly moving toward a mapper that might actually be usable...
Is there a way that this mapper would be able to show blocks that are from mods?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

Currently, this converts any block by name to a specific color. Those colors are defined in the gsMapper constructor, but I'll probably load those from a file somewhere in a future version.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

gsmanners wrote:Currently, this converts any block by name to a specific color. Those colors are defined in the gsMapper constructor, but I'll probably load those from a file somewhere in a future version.
How about VanessaE's colors.txt?
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4513
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

If it'll be of use, you're more than welcome to use my colors.txt:

http://digitalaudioconcepts.com/vanessa ... colors.txt
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
cheapie
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 00:59
GitHub: cheapie
IRC: cheapie
In-game: cheapie

by cheapie » Post

VanessaE wrote:If it'll be of use, you're more than welcome to use my colors.txt:

http://digitalaudioconcepts.com/vanessa ... colors.txt
Still no plasticbox support in there, I see.
-- This account is no longer active --
My mods have moved to: https://cheapiesystems.com/git

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi
Location: United States

by philipbenr » Post

Inocudom wrote:Yes, but the developers of Minetest can be a little cautious with pulling features.

Why, I say, why aren't people talking about this feature?
'Cause we're too busy trying it out.
“Would it save you a lot of time if I just gave up and went mad now?”

“I'd far rather be happy than right any day.”

“What, are you, crazy?" "It's a possibility I haven't ruled out yet"

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

Well, there's really not much to talk about just yet. It's barely more than a proof-of-concept code at the moment.

Thanks for the colors.txt, by the way. That'll be helpful, though I doubt I'll be supporting more than 256 entries in my color table. I don't think I need all the overhead of a huge color table on top of everything else. It also seems kind of silly to me to need more than 30 or 40 colors, anyway. Good maps give you highly simplified information IMHO.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

gsmanners wrote:Well, there's really not much to talk about just yet. It's barely more than a proof-of-concept code at the moment.

Thanks for the colors.txt, by the way. That'll be helpful, though I doubt I'll be supporting more than 256 entries in my color table. I don't think I need all the overhead of a huge color table on top of everything else. It also seems kind of silly to me to need more than 30 or 40 colors, anyway. Good maps give you highly simplified information IMHO.
If your minimap feature is ever added to Minetest, the color limit could end up being configurable.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

User avatar
gsmanners
Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 21:37

by gsmanners » Post

The color limit is whatever you want. I just don't think it's all that big a deal. Still, you multiply the number of nodes to scan through by 100, you increase the overhead by 100.

Well, I'll figure something out. Meanwhile... I think I more or less have this player marker thing working.

EDIT: Stuff like this is starting up...
+ Spoiler
EDIT #2: Okay, let's see... Time to sort out my todo list here:

- Load up a color config file on construct.
- Load/save above map info somewhere.
- Other player markers.
- Custom markers.
- Custom annotations.
- Custom lines (borders).
- X, Y, Z info (probably won't bother).

Just a few things before I'll call this finished, but this is a nice stopping point for now.
Last edited by gsmanners on Sat Feb 15, 2014 00:03, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest