The Mesecons Laboratory

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Inocudom wrote:Some people may not know this, but mese blocks themselves transmit signals (though using mesecon wires is much more resource efficient.) I am glad that there is a site that gives tutorials on how to build various things. One day, there might be mesecon machines that are truly fun to play with (like games and such.)
You know what, you just gave me the idea of making Death-Swap in minetest. :D
Back from the dead!

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo
Contact:

by Death Dealer » Post

Very nice work. i haven't been on the scene for awhile, but i am an advanced redstone user. ive made clock's and microcontroller with redstone, etc etc. some of this stuff look like Elorams (probably spelt that wrong) mod Redpower with the 1/8 slab repeater type logic gates all in one. seeing this diffidently make me curious as to whats possible. ^_^
Keep calm and code python^_^

User avatar
lonely
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 15:30
Location: Germany

by lonely » Post

I would like to write about my aperture map because it is depending mesecons VERY MUCH. Here linked:http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5917
Last edited by lonely on Sat Jun 01, 2013 16:33, edited 1 time in total.
Aperture science:[url]http:forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=5917[/url]
I v'e got MineCraft now, so goodbye. You can look for me at the minecraft forum. my name there
is Portalfreaky.

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

That would be excellent. If you need any help or information then let me know.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Did you try to make utility machines with Technic frames? I just made a quarry (that is lagging the server a lot...) I could make a schematic, if you want.

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

Can anyone give me the luacontroller code to output a mesecon signal from ports A and B, switching on/off about 2 times per second? So a 1/2 a second clock
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

Code: Select all

interrupt(0.5, "test")
if event.iid == "test" then
  port.a, port.b = not port.a, not port.b
end
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

User avatar
Dan Duncombe
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 21:11
Location: In the unknown depths of Earth

by Dan Duncombe » Post

Temperest wrote:

Code: Select all

interrupt(0.5, "test")
if event.iid == "test" then
  port.a, port.b = not port.a, not port.b
end
Thanks :)
Some Mods: Castles Prefab Camouflage
My Games: Nostalgia Realtest Revamped
Servers: See above games.

User avatar
markbe
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 23:00
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by markbe » Post

Hi
I am trying to get the double piston to work as per the lab page but with only two outputs. I got it working with two switches and no controller but can't replicate the sequence of switching with LUA. Please can someone help me fix it?

Switch sequence (without controller) was as follows:
extend pistons = SW1 on, SW2 on
retract pistons = SW 2 off, then SW1 off then SW 2 on, then SW2 off

the LUA I have now is as follows (port.c is control):

Code: Select all

if event.iid == "pull1" then
  port.a = false
  interrupt(0.2, "push2")
elseif event.iid == "push2" then
  port.b = true
  interrupt(0.2, "pull2")
elseif event.iid == "pull2" then
  port.b = false
else
if pin.c then --extend
    port.a = true
    port.b = true
  else --retract
    port.b = false
    interrupt(0.2, "pull1")
  end
end
The extend part of the sequence works but retract keeps repeating the "push2" and "pull2" indefinately

User avatar
davedevils
Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 01:13
GitHub: davedevils
IRC: davedevils
In-game: davedevils
Location: France
Contact:

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by davedevils » Post

i like it ! it's remember to me a old minecraft series :D

Labocraft :P http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDF06383A4B329B37

Jesseman1
Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by Jesseman1 » Post

Since I don't know where else to look, can someone please tell me how to make doors open with mesecon? I tried the redstone way but it didnt work.

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by benrob0329 » Post

***bump***

Can I submit my own designs?

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by Temperest » Post

Hi benrob0329,

I don't really have the time to update this much any more, but I'd be happy to accept submissions! Simply post it in this thread or email me with the details, and I'll add it to the site.

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by benrob0329 » Post

Would this be worth putting up on the website?

Image

Image

Image

It's a password protected door, and the door part could be used with or without a Luacontroller.
Attachments
screenshot_20151206_223703.png
screenshot_20151206_223703.png (80.96 KiB) Viewed 1196 times

Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by Temperest » Post

That's a nice project! If you send me the write-up, I'll add it as a new post.

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: [Discord unfortunately] corvus262

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by the_raven_262 » Post

Is this Project dead?
If not, I would love to see more tutorials to try to build things. :)
(I am still learning on how to use mesecons at all oO)

juli
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:31
GitHub: cpdef
In-game: juli

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by juli » Post

Should i add my 8-Bit RAM (with fpgas only) here? :)

User avatar
Desour
Member
Posts: 1472
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: Desour
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by Desour » Post

Spoiler
I made a simple node swapper:
Image
screenshot_20170428_163358.png
screenshot_20170428_163358.png (43.73 KiB) Viewed 1196 times
Image
screenshot_20170428_163423.png
screenshot_20170428_163423.png (140.74 KiB) Viewed 1196 times

This is also very easily possible with the help of a luacontroller:
Image
screenshot_20170428_163434.png
screenshot_20170428_163434.png (96.29 KiB) Viewed 1196 times
Luacontroller code:

Code: Select all

if event.type == "program" and not mem.side then
 mem.side = "c"
elseif event.type == "on" then
 port.b = false
 interrupt(0.1, 1)
elseif event.type == "interrupt" and event.iid == 1 then
 port[mem.side] = true
 interrupt(0.1, 2)
elseif event.type == "interrupt" and event.iid == 2 then
 port[mem.side] = false
 port.b = true
 if mem.side == "c" then
  mem.side = "a"
 else
  mem.side = "c"
 end
end
he/him; Codeberg; GitHub; ContentDB; public personal TODO list; "DS" is preferred (but often too short)

Brackston
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 18:09
GitHub: Brackstons
IRC: Brackston
In-game: Brackston

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by Brackston » Post

I was trying to build the Tic Tac Toe Machine from here:
http://uberi.mesecons.net/projects/TicTacToe/index.html
However it does not work.

I had to change the code for the push button Lua Controllers:
Below is the code for the lower row Lua Controller.

The lines we are concerned with is the "if" and "elseif" lines.
You will need to change the code in all 3 controllers

Old Code:

Code: Select all

if event.type == "on" then
  if event.pin == "A" then             <--- Change this line to    if pin.a then
    digiline_send("press", "12")
  elseif event.pin == "B" then      <--- Change this line to    if pin.b then
    digiline_send("press", "11")
  elseif event.pin == "D" then      <--- Change this line to    if pin.d then
    digiline_send("press", "13")
  end/join #a
end
New Code should look like this

Code: Select all

 if pin.a then
    digiline_send("press", "12")
  elseif pin.b then
    digiline_send("press", "11")
  elseif pin.d then
    digiline_send("press", "13")
 end
end
Also if you are using the WorldEdit file (TicTacToe.we) you will need to change the lua controller code for the lights indicating who's turn it is.
Old Code:

Code: Select all

port.b = not pin.d
New Code:

Code: Select all

if pin.d then
port.b = false
elseif not pin.d then
port.b = true
end
I needed to separate the lights from the push button switches and also from each other.
Image

Here Is my build:
Image
I hope this helps anyone wanting to use the wonderful game of Tic Tac Toe
I tested it with version 4.16 and it works.

Brackston

codexp
New member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:42

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by codexp » Post

Code: Select all

local row = 3
if "on" == event.type then
  if event.pin.name == "B" then
    digiline_send("key", 1 .. row)
  elseif event.pin.name == "A" then
    digiline_send("key", 2 .. row)
  elseif event.pin.name == "D" then
    digiline_send("key", 3 .. row)
  end
end

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re:

by hajo » Post

Nore wrote:Did you try to make utility machines with Technic frames?
I haven't used technic & pipeworks yet, but 'utility machines' with mesecons would be nice.
I mean, clocks, processors, doors etc. are cool, but not really useful.

Maybe I missed something, but how is it possible to do useful work with mesecons,
like harvesting&planting, and producing&moving stuff ?
Eg. getting materials in and out of a furnace, or sorting stuff into chests ?

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
GitHub: Miniontoby
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: The Mesecons Laboratory

by Miniontoby » Post

Temperest wrote:New article!

Image

The digital clock does exactly what you'd expect it to - it tells the time.

This one also covers the creation of a very compact 7 segment display plus a built-in driver for the digits 0-9.

It doesn't work by me. I get a "msg" error by all the lua controllers

Now it does work a bit and i'm trying to make a analog clock
Working on mtctl ---- Check my mod "Doorbell" -- Stay safe

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests