[Mod] Natural Biomes

Post Reply
User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

[Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

Natural Biomes is a mod that adds 7 new biomes to your Minetest world.

1. Wet Savanna

This biome is similar to the classic savanna, but has more green vegetation:
Image
Image

2. Outback

A dry biome that spawns in the near of deserts and savannas, inspired by the heart of Australia:
Image
Image

3. Alder Swamp

This lowland biome adds a swampy landscape with alder trees and reeds. Inspired by the North German alder swamps:
Image
Image

4. Alpine

This biome only spawns in higher latitudes and adds a typical alpine open forest landscape:
Image
Image

5. Beach

This biome appears at the tropical coast line and gives your world a Caribbean flair:
Image
Image

6. Bamboo Forest

Adds a dense bamboo forest with some banana trees in tropical regions:
Image
Image

7. Mediterranean

Inspired by the Greek coastal regions and ancient ruins:
Image
Image

Content DB: https://content.minetest.net/packages/L ... ralbiomes/

Git: https://github.com/Skandarella/naturalbiomes

The mod also contains many new building parts, including stairs, slabs and walls:

Image

This mod should not overwrite the existing biomes, but makes some of them appear lesser often.
Please post bugs or suggestions here.

The graphics are in line with my Texture Pack (Wilhelmines Texture Pack) and will not match the standard Minetest textures.

I plan to make this mod compatible with my other mods (Animal World, Native Villages, People) but I struggle with one thing. I made also the Living Floatlands mod which adds dinosaurs to the floatlands, but the floatlands are only available in V7 map generator and I think most people don’t use the floatlands at all.
I also could port down the dinosaurs down to Midgard and let them populate those 7 new biomes from the Natural Biomes mod. Making special dinosaur biomes in Midgard would be possible, but complicated, because if too many biomes are in the same climate zone, some will never appear again, they will be overwritten by the others (Etheral mod has this problem too) I can make a cold palaeolithical steppe biome for the mammoths, sabertooth and rhinos and a kind of giant tree forest for the dinosaurs, but there is not much space for biomes in the hotter climate zones anymore.
On the other side I also have a plan what new normal animals should be in the 7 new biomes. For example Zebras, Koalas, Ibex, Coconut Crab, Heron and many more.
I could also do special dinosaur biomes in the floatlands that only appear there, but it would take months to years to get everything finished, because I don’t have so much time to do anything I would like to do fast enough.

So I will make an opinion poll to hear your statement:

https://poll-maker.com/Q09R6YV3O
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

User avatar
Onyx
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 08:36
In-game: Onyx
Location: On your planet

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Onyx » Post

Very nice!
"One chunk, two chunks, three chunks..."

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by sirrobzeroone » Post

Mod looks excellent :)

Depending how much modeling work you feel like doing theres also all the extinct megafauna from aus/nz (other countries as well): A little later timewise than dino's but might fit, floatlands last of the dino's, ground level extinct Pleistocene animals?

User avatar
MCL
Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 00:44
GitHub: MCLx86
IRC: MCL
In-game: singleplayer
Location: Writing down data for GBF-Info
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by MCL » Post

Pretty neat!

I might integrate it into Adsurv...
Pop music is called that because it's so bad it pops your eardrums

User avatar
MisterE
Member
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 21:06
GitHub: MisterE123
IRC: MisterE
In-game: MisterE

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by MisterE » Post

this mod is running on Centeria Survival. you will have to explore new areas to find the biomes

User avatar
Eris
Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 23:12
IRC: definitelya Ovalo
In-game: Eris_still_crafts

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Eris » Post

Note: This happens with latest master of this mod, on Minetest 5.6.0-dev.

The schematic for the tall / wide pine tree, from the mediterranean biome, erases any block present in its space when it grows. You can reproduce this easily; it ruins the landscape and possibly your progress, too! Be careful.

The biomes look really nice otherwise!
. o O ( It's refactoring all the way down, you never actually run the code. )

Skamiz Kazzarch
Member
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 20:34
GitHub: Skamiz
In-game: Skamiz
Location: la lojbaugag.

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Skamiz Kazzarch » Post

So, yesterday I started a world with all of your mods, but quickly stopped because alder leaves weren't decaying.
At first I thought it was just because of the bad schematic which places all the leaves with param2 = 1. So I just changed the no-decay value to 25 as a workaround. When that didn't help I took a quick look through your code and noticed that non of your trees are registered for leave decay in the fist place.
You will have to use the 'default.register_leafdecay' function for decay to work. Just adding the 'leafdecay' group to the leaves is not enough.
Relevant API section: https://github.com/minetest/minetest_ga ... i.txt#L916

User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

I have added this to the mod, but only the bushes (Mediterranean Cypress for example) work for leaf decay. The big trees dont loose their leaves, even if i add them. What is wrong?

default.register_leafdecay({
trunks = {"naturalbiomes:med_bush_stem"},
leaves = {"naturalbiomes:med_bush_leaves"},
radius = 3
})

works

default.register_leafdecay({
trunks = {"naturalbiomes:outback_trunk"},
leaves = {"naturalbiomes:outback_leaves"},
radius = 3
})

works not
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

Skamiz Kazzarch
Member
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 20:34
GitHub: Skamiz
In-game: Skamiz
Location: la lojbaugag.

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Skamiz Kazzarch » Post

Most likely the schematics that place the big trees all place the tree leaves with "param2 = 1" which causes the leafdecay code to ignore these leaves. You will have to change/remake the schematics so that the leaves have a param2 of 0.

Btw: I also noticed that the new walls don't seem to have recipes. Or at least the craftguide didn't show any.

User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

Okay I will add the missing recipes soon. But how can i change the leaves from param 2 to 0?
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33
GitHub: W3RQ01
In-game: Dario23 or W3RQ01
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by W3RQ01 » Post

Can it work with Ethereal at the same time?

User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

I tried it together with Ethereal, but Ethereal overwrites all of my biomes it seems.
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

User avatar
sirrobzeroone
Member
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 07:56

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by sirrobzeroone » Post

Liil wrote:
Fri Aug 05, 2022 19:53
I tried it together with Ethereal, but Ethereal overwrites all of my biomes it seems.
Yes it's fiddly you would need to optional depend on ethereal then add trees/plants to specific ethereal biomes as decorations and not register your normal biomes.

I have a partially finished mod pack that does something similar to base MTG biomes.

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33
GitHub: W3RQ01
In-game: Dario23 or W3RQ01
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by W3RQ01 » Post

How can i make them work together?

ShadMOrdre
Member
Posts: 915
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
GitHub: ShadMOrdre
In-game: shadmordre
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by ShadMOrdre » Post

sirrobzeroone wrote:
Fri Aug 05, 2022 22:44
Liil wrote:
Fri Aug 05, 2022 19:53
I tried it together with Ethereal, but Ethereal overwrites all of my biomes it seems.
Yes it's fiddly you would need to optional depend on ethereal then add trees/plants to specific ethereal biomes as decorations and not register your normal biomes.

I have a partially finished mod pack that does something similar to base MTG biomes.
An optional dependency on Ethereal would actually fix this issue. You do not need to change any biome or decoration registrations.

If you do add a optional dependency on Ethereal, also consider optional dependencies on Australia and Aotearoa, as they also clear biomes, decorations, and ores by default.

Consider adding the following to your mod, and this should also be done for Ethereal.

Create a new or edit an existing settingtypes.txt file in your mod folder. Add the following code:

Code: Select all

#naturalbiomes settings

#If enabled, will clear all registered biomes.
naturalbiomes.clear_biomes (Enable to clear registered biomes.  true / false) bool true

#If enabled, will clear all registered decorations.
naturalbiomes.clear_decos (Enable to clear registered decorations.  true / false) bool true

#If enabled, will clear all registered ores.
naturalbiomes.clear_ores (Enable to clear registered ores.  true / false) bool false

In init.lua, add the following code somewhere at the top.

Code: Select all

--This creates the naturalbiomes object.
naturalbiomes = {}

--This creates the naturalbiomes.settings object, and fills it with either the menu selected choices as defined in settingtypes.txt, or default values, (In this case, false).
naturalbiomes.settings = {
	clear_biomes			= minetest.settings:get_bool("naturalbiomes.clear_biomes") or false,
	clear_decos			= minetest.settings:get_bool("naturalbiomes.clear_decos") or false,
	clear_ores			= minetest.settings:get_bool("naturalbiomes.clear_ores") or false,
}

if naturalbiomes.settings.clear_biomes then
	minetest.clear_registered_biomes()
end
if naturalbiomes.settings.clear_decos then
	minetest.clear_registered_decorations()
end
if naturalbiomes.settings.clear_ores then
	minetest.clear_registered_ores()
end

This is a very nice mod, the biomes blend well with Ethereal and valleys_c. Hope the above helps.

Shad.
Attachments
screenshot_20220807_200849.jpg
screenshot_20220807_200849.jpg (325.92 KiB) Viewed 275 times
screenshot_20220806_162938.jpg
screenshot_20220806_162938.jpg (459.74 KiB) Viewed 275 times
screenshot_20220805_173626.jpg
screenshot_20220805_173626.jpg (369.16 KiB) Viewed 275 times
MY MODS: lib_ecology lib_materials lib_clouds lib_node_shapes ---- Inspired By: Open Source Virtual World Simulator Opensimulator.

User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

I have added the dependency for ethereal and created a settingtypes.txt with the code and copied the other code in the init.lua, but the biomes still dont appear, only the ethereal ones. I only did this to my mod folder. Do i have to do something in ethereal folder too?
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

ShadMOrdre
Member
Posts: 915
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
GitHub: ShadMOrdre
In-game: shadmordre
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by ShadMOrdre » Post

Liil,

This does work.

Try setting the three new settings in your mod to true, to clear the biomes, decos, and ores. Do not disable Ethereal. Some map seeds are Ethereal heavy, try creating a world with a different seed, just in case.

Also, try loading just Minetest Game, with only ethereal and naturalbiomes mods.

This is simply a test to ensure that Ethereal can be loaded as a mod, while allowing your mod to establish its own biomes, decos, and ores.

The screenshots I included were taken just prior to my last post, and through last evening. I've even had naturalbiomes, ethereal, and valleys_c running with my own gal mod.


Shad
Attachments
screenshot_20220807_200149.jpg
screenshot_20220807_200149.jpg (406.48 KiB) Viewed 223 times
screenshot_20220806_175956.jpg
screenshot_20220806_175956.jpg (393.28 KiB) Viewed 223 times
screenshot_20220806_163731.jpg
screenshot_20220806_163731.jpg (483.28 KiB) Viewed 223 times
MY MODS: lib_ecology lib_materials lib_clouds lib_node_shapes ---- Inspired By: Open Source Virtual World Simulator Opensimulator.

User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

I dont know why it doesent work. I created a settingtypes.txt with the code. I copied the second code into the init.lua at firts position. I added "ethereal?" to the depends.txt
Still not working.Tried different seeds, only ethereal biomes appear. If I only active naturalbiomes and after a while ethereal, I can see how theres a cut in the generating biomes and only the ethereal ones are spawning after activating ethereal.
I also tried only ethereal and natural biomes, no doesent work.
I am using ethereal 1.28 on Minetest 5.4.1
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

ShadMOrdre
Member
Posts: 915
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
GitHub: ShadMOrdre
In-game: shadmordre
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by ShadMOrdre » Post

Liil,

Your mod also includes mod.conf. Set the optional dependency in this file.

You can safely delete depends.txt, as it is no longer used, and will be dropped in some future version of MT.

This conflict between mod.conf and depends.txt is the issue. Once you correct this, you should see the biomes in all their glory. :)

Shad
MY MODS: lib_ecology lib_materials lib_clouds lib_node_shapes ---- Inspired By: Open Source Virtual World Simulator Opensimulator.

User avatar
Liil
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 15:29

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by Liil » Post

Thank you very much Shad! I added ethereal to the mod.conf and now it works. New version with ethereal compatibility will be available soon.
cdb_xMf8awymgVmp

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33
GitHub: W3RQ01
In-game: Dario23 or W3RQ01
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by W3RQ01 » Post

Thanks Shad and Liil!

User avatar
kristovish
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2022 00:42
GitHub: kristovish
In-game: kristovish

Re: [Mod] Natural Biomes

by kristovish » Post

I love this mod I just start a public server with Natural biomes and other mods made by you on it!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: duckgo and 6 guests