[Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: basic_machines

by maikerumine » Post

rnd wrote:updated:
- wiki https://github.com/ac-minetest/basic_machines/wiki

keypad: can now work as a keyboard or text writer/setting changer device
enviroment block: can change physics settings & skybox for nearby players
ball_spawner: spawn an energy ball that can activate stuff and bounce around when moved with https://github.com/ac-minetest/basic_ma ... wiki/mover mover
Dang! You have been busy!
Thank you for the wiki, all minetest users need this for your awesome mod. I should update esm with this when I return.
Extreme Survival Minetest-->viewtopic.php?f=10&t=12959

User avatar
rnd
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: basic_machines

by rnd » Post

now you can make cannon machine that fires projectiles with user adjustable projectile speed, projectiles bounce of walls and can activate targets
Image

cannon machine itself: left keyboard to adjust projectile speed, right sound emitter, middle cannon ball spawner, below mover to fire projectile, top behind enviroment block to adjust ball gravity
Image

worldedit file with made cannon
cannon.we
(53.83 KiB) Downloaded 170 times
Attachments
cannon_machine.jpg
(117.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet
cannon_fire.jpg
(81.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1EvCmxbzl5KDu6XAunE1K853Lq6VVOsT

aix
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2016 18:52
IRC: aix
In-game: aix

Re: basic_machines

by aix » Post

Add this around line 34 in protect.lua, otherwise typing anything in the terminal mode crashes everything:

Code: Select all

        if not player then
                return end
Lightning Server
Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something else is more important than one's fear.
-Ambrose Redmoon

User avatar
rnd
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: basic_machines

by rnd » Post

added check
1EvCmxbzl5KDu6XAunE1K853Lq6VVOsT

noob101
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 05:37
In-game: noob101

Re: basic_machines

by noob101 » Post

rnd wrote:[...] one mover refuels battery from generator[...]
For the love of it I can't get it to do that. What mode do you have to use, how do you set that up? I tried about everything, but really couldn't get it to work.

Have fun, noob101

User avatar
rnd
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: basic_machines

by rnd » Post

there is wiki https://github.com/ac-minetest/basic_ma ... wiki/mover:

inventory: useful for moving items between two nodes with inventories. You must select inventories from inventory list dropdown right to source/target fields in setup.
1EvCmxbzl5KDu6XAunE1K853Lq6VVOsT

noob101
Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 05:37
In-game: noob101

Re: basic_machines

by noob101 » Post

Thanks, rnd!

OK, then there is something wrong on The sea is my life. While the power cells stack up in the battery (and ofc much free capacity), they are not consumed and do not recharge it. Any ideas?

Have fun, noob101

User avatar
Beerholder
Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 20:23
GitHub: evrooije
In-game: Beerholder

Re: basic_machines

by Beerholder » Post

Hi rnd, so I tried to create a perpetuum power cell mover mobile using a generator to generate batteries and then move them to the battery underneath the furnace. All the movers are triggered by a distributor, the distributor is on top of a clock generator. For some reason the power cells get stuck in the first battery. It is correctly moving all the power cells from the generator to the first battery until the battery is fully loaded at 25 cells. They are however not transported to the second battery underneath the furnace :-(

I checked all the movers to make sure they are set to inventory, source and target set to "fuel" and that they point to the correct nodes, but everything looks ok....

Have you tried this scenario and got it to work? If so, then it might be a problem with the server (Cash's World) ...

Wonderful mod anyways, even having to do some things manually it still works very well and makes life easier :-)

Many thanks in advance!
Beer

Image
Attachments
perpetuum_factory.png
(467.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Beerholder
Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 20:23
GitHub: evrooije
In-game: Beerholder

Re: basic_machines

by Beerholder » Post

Never mind rnd! Just found out that I just need to finish all the power cells in the last battery and then they are moved. The issue was that (obviously) there were 25 cells in the second battery, and the mover tries to move all of them but cannot as there are still cells in the target (duhuh XD). So looks like it works!

OMG OMG OMG! I have a perpetuum diamond mobile factory thingy yay :-D

User avatar
rnd
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: basic_machines

by rnd » Post

hi,

mod always checks if action is possible and wont do anything if its not. Examples:
- moving 3 pieces of cobble into chest with only 2 pieces of space left
- moving 10 pieces of cobble but you only have 7 pieces of cobble available
- trying to place something but that spot is already occupied by non air
...

Its not the only mod with "perpetuum mobile" stuff... ever asked yourself where all that infinite energy comes from
when using geothermal/water/wind power in technic. If you want to be purist you can grow fuel - like cactus/trees and only use that to power stuff..
1EvCmxbzl5KDu6XAunE1K853Lq6VVOsT

Byakuren
Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: basic_machines

by Byakuren » Post

Wind energy comes from the sun, at least.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: basic_machines

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

wind energy comes from the rotation and the magnetic field of the earth. The Space Wind comes from stars

Byakuren
Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: basic_machines

by Byakuren » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:wind energy comes from the rotation and the magnetic field of the earth. The Space Wind comes from stars
Wind is caused by pressure differences, which are caused by temperature differences, which are caused by the sun's heat. The contribution of the rotation of the Earth is marginal and I have never heard of the magnetic field causing wind.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.

User avatar
rnd
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: basic_machines

by rnd » Post

Byakuren wrote:The contribution of the rotation of the Earth is marginal
Its more involved than that [1].

As for "space wind" - if you have charged particles like coming from stars ("solar wind") then yes, magnetic field has a big effect on them [2]

References:
[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coriolis_effect
[2] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solar_wind#Magnetospheres
1EvCmxbzl5KDu6XAunE1K853Lq6VVOsT

Byakuren
Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: basic_machines

by Byakuren » Post

rnd wrote:
Byakuren wrote:The contribution of the rotation of the Earth is marginal
Its more involved than that [1].

As for "space wind" - if you have charged particles like coming from stars ("solar wind") then yes, magnetic field has a big effect on them [2]

References:
[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coriolis_effect
[2] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solar_wind#Magnetospheres
Thanks for the Coriolis effect page. I guess the rotation of the Earth has a more-than-marginal effect, though temperature difference is still the main driver of wind. It's true also that the magnetosphere affects solar wind, but I was talking about air wind in my post. I'm assuming that's also what azekill meant in his post, since he distinguishes solar wind in the next sentence.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: basic_machines

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

ALways here to help :D

User avatar
rnd
Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:24
GitHub: ac-minetest
IRC: ac_minetest
In-game: rnd

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by rnd » Post

Updates:

1.Replaced minetest crafting for machines with Terraria like system, where you simply put materials in inventory and select what you want to craft from list. Machines on the list are sorted in a way to slowly introduce machines to new player.
Image

2. improved help
Attachments
constructor1.jpg
(69.86 KiB) Not downloaded yet
1EvCmxbzl5KDu6XAunE1K853Lq6VVOsT

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1141
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by DS-minetest » Post

nice, but theres a problem: you cant make a machine which needs more than 8 different components
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Post

this is a awesome mod. but can you put a spoiler with the older versions please
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

echosa
Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by echosa » Post

This mod causes skybox image issues, at least at high altitudes. If I add this mod then teleport to `0,18000,0`, the skybox image doesn't load and these errors occur:

Code: Select all

2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_pos_y.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_pos_y.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_neg_y.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_neg_y.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_pos_z.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_pos_z.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_neg_z.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_neg_z.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_neg_x.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_neg_x.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_pos_x.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_pos_x.png"

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Post

echosa wrote:This mod causes skybox image issues, at least at high altitudes. If I add this mod then teleport to `0,18000,0`, the skybox image doesn't load and these errors occur:

Code: Select all

2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_pos_y.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_pos_y.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_neg_y.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_neg_y.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_pos_z.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_pos_z.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_neg_z.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_neg_z.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_neg_x.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_neg_x.png"
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "sky_pos_x.png" while building texture
2016-12-31 16:28:52: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "sky_pos_x.png"
well worked perfectly for me
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

echosa
Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by echosa » Post

Here's a short video of it happening. In the video, I create a new world and show that the only mods I have enabled are the basic default mods that come with Minetest Game and basic_machines. I also show that I'm using Minetest 0.4.15.

https://cl.ly/0v3O0Q3W151h

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by ManElevation » Post

echosa wrote:Here's a short video of it happening. In the video, I create a new world and show that the only mods I have enabled are the basic default mods that come with Minetest Game and basic_machines. I also show that I'm using Minetest 0.4.15.

https://cl.ly/0v3O0Q3W151h
you need to add the sky mod ---> viewtopic.php?f=9&t=13775
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

echosa
Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by echosa » Post

Ah. Ok. The main post just says "Dependence: default". Thanks. I'll try that tomorrow.

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1141
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] basic_machines [basic_machines]

by DS-minetest » Post

no, you have to add the textures to the "textures" folder of basic_machines or to another mod textures folder but then you have to add this mod to depends.txt (add a "?" to the end of the mod name to make it optional)
the textures are:
"sky_pos_y.png",
"sky_neg_y.png",
"sky_pos_z.png",
"sky_neg_z.png",
"sky_neg_x.png" and
"sky_pos_x.png"
they should explain themselves
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests