Page 1 of 1

[Mod] Automatic Cave Lighting [cave_lighting]

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 15:10
by Hybrid Dog
This mod adds two chatcommands to automatically light up dark places (e.g. caves) with lighting nodes such as torches. The commands are light_cave [maxlight] and auto_light_placing [maxlight].
In both cases, maxlight is the maximum light a lighting node is placed to. If you, for example, pass 0 to the chatcommand, then the lighting nodes are only placed where the light is zero.
The lighting nodes which are placed are from the currently wielded itemstack, or the stack right to it.
light_cave [maxlight] automatically lights up a whole dark region where the player looks at.
auto_light_placing [maxlight] enables a function for the player which constantly tests where the player looks at; if it is dark at a pointed position, the function makes the player automatically place the light node there.

If you want to see light values at specific positions, try the superpick mod.

Download: zip, tar.gz
github: cave_lighting

Image

If you got ideas or found bugs, please tell them to me.

How to install a mod?

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2015 16:07
by DS-minetest
cool mod, but
Hybrid Dog wrote:to automatically to light up
(fixed)

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 03:08
by Nathan.S
Does it take torches from the players inventory?

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 15:08
by Hybrid Dog
DS-minetest wrote:cool mod, but
Hybrid Dog wrote:to automatically to light up
fixed.
Nathan.S wrote:Does it take torches from the players inventory?
No, it depends on which light_source node you hold in hands. Currently automatically lighting a cave requires the give privilege because l think it's fairly cheaty.

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 20:40
by lightonflux
Very impressive mod.

Works flawlessly in really big caves. But it didn't work in a small cave that was 50% filled with water. But that is okay, because the mod did give some feedback (something went wrong).

BTW: does not work with meselamp block.

Just wanted to mention this two things. I don't need them fixed, but you might want to know. :)

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 14:38
by Hybrid Dog
lightonflux wrote:Very impressive mod.

Works flawlessly in really big caves. But it didn't work in a small cave that was 50% filled with water. But that is okay, because the mod did give some feedback (something went wrong).
The something went wrong message didn't mean an error, it meant that you viewed a node with an angle < 45°, l fixed it.
Thanks for informing me about the water problem, now the light nodes are only placed onto "normal" nodes.
BTW: does not work with meselamp block.

Just wanted to mention this two things. I don't need them fixed, but you might want to know. :)
Did you get the "Something went wrong." message?
Image

ls the bobblocks mod or the version l use broken?
When the light node is placed, it becomes dark, so the mod fills every possible position with a bobblock:
Image

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 20:29
by lightonflux
Just tested again with meselamp before updating your mod. It appears it was a user error and meselamps work fine. So i probably didn't look at the right thing.

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 20:31
by lightonflux
I just got the "cave to big" error. Would it be possible to light only a part of the cave in that case?

Re: [Mod] cave lighting chatcommand [cave_lighting]

Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 14:45
by Hybrid Dog
lightonflux wrote:I just got the "cave to big" error. Would it be possible to light only a part of the cave in that case?
yes, it would also be possible to increase the maximum amount of nodes
l think I'll greatly increase the 20000 nodes limit. lt's actually just to avoid overfilling memory (e.g. if a bug would appear).