[Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

scottvee
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 07:59
In-game: scottvee

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by scottvee » Post

Ooh. Downloaded it. Ironically, I was just sketching out a mod to do funky genetics with butterflies (because they were never really completed in the Forestry mod for MC and it bugged me). I'm less interested in being doomed, pretty much just running around in my underwear in my test world, but will see what you've conjured up.

KongarTheTerrible
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 18:33

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by KongarTheTerrible » Post

>water dragon

I am pretty sure I downloaded the latest version, etc. Spawned a water dragon, attacked it. Getting a "unknown object" block for fireball. Have checked through a few other creatures, have all or most related dmob installed and they seem fine, so this seems like an isolated incident. The texture png for fireball seems there. Any help?

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

O.o there's a texture missing. I don't really know how this mod works anymore.
Rather than fix this(which I don't know how), I think I'll just re-do the entire mod, maybe even split the dragons to a separate mod.

Edit: so there's a major update on the way
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
taikedz
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake
Location: Scotland, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by taikedz » Post

Keep it clean-ish eh, and dinnae forget the aliases :-P

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

aliases?
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
taikedz
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake
Location: Scotland, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by taikedz » Post

If you split into a new mod youll need to register_alias so dmobs:dragon are not unkonws :p

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

oh I understand.
I kind of don't want to re-do the whole mod, but it will be better because of it :/
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
taikedz
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake
Location: Scotland, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by taikedz » Post

Sbould be fairly easy to split the dragons out now... i c an look into it if you're game

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

Yeah it is a lot easier than it would have been before.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

FreeFlairBar
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 21:43

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by FreeFlairBar » Post

Hey i a got a Problem with the mod dmobs and mobs!
ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'dmobs' in callback luaentity_Step(): ...ktop\minetest-0.4.15-win64\bin\..\mods\mobs_redo/api.lua:1276: attempt to compare nil with number
Well no drake can be Spawned cuz it Crash! I have no much idea why but i tryed everything need some help cuz i love this mod!

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

Hmm, I'm not really sure what happened there, I'll have a look.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

D00Med wrote:^that'd be nice, is it possible to animate particles?
yes, i'm working on realistic tnt, it's in post your screnshots topic!

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

I've seen that, it looks good
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

thx

Vince
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 02:58
GitHub: vaggrippino
IRC: Vince
In-game: Vince

Wyvern and Water Dragon can't spawn?

by Vince » Post

First I need to admit that I don't know anything about coding in Lua or creating Minetest mods, but I'm poking around in the code anyway...

I was able to create several of the dragon egg types, but I wasn't able to find any "bosses" to get the corresponding gems, so I took a look at the code. One of the things I looked at doesn't look quite right...

https://github.com/D00Med/dmobs/blob/master/spawn.lua

Code: Select all

if dmobs.dragons then
	mobs:register_spawn("dmobs:dragon2", {"default:pine_needles"}, 20, 10, 64000, 2, 31000)
	mobs:register_spawn("dmobs:dragon3", {"default:acacia_leaves","default:dirt_with_dry_grass"}, 20, 10, 64000, 2, 31000)
	mobs:register_spawn("dmobs:dragon4", {"default:jungleleaves"}, 20, 10, 64000, 2, 31000)
	mobs:register_spawn("dmobs:waterdragon", {"default:water_source"}, 20, 10, 32000, 1, 31000, false)
	mobs:register_spawn("dmobs:wyvern",	{"default:leaves"}, 20, 10, 32000, 1, 31000, false)
	mobs:register_spawn("dmobs:dragon_great", {"default:lava_source"}, 20, 0, 64000, -21000, 1000, false)
end
If I cross-reference that with the mobs_redo API, it looks like Water Dragons and Wyverns can only spawn when it is both night time and there is a light level of at least 10.

In my own copy, I removed the day_toggle value for the Water Dragons (why can't they spawn during the day?) and set the minimum light value for the Wyverns to 0. I immediately started seeing Wyverns and Water Dragons

Am I missing something about the intended design? Was I supposed to set up lights on trees and over water to cause these mobs to spawn?

Thank you.

User avatar
taikedz
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake
Location: Scotland, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by taikedz » Post

Only at night either by lava or artificial light ;-)

This way, dragons that show up at night only do so occasionaly, when an unwitting player is lighting their way out in the wild. They're devious ;-)

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2464
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by Andrey01 » Post

Have mod finished yet? Just i see you did not update long ago.

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

@Vince I never even noticed this.
@Andrey01 Not yet, I'm still working on new cubic models.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
taikedz
Member
Posts: 694
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 11:11
GitHub: taikedz
IRC: DuCake
In-game: DuCake
Location: Scotland, UK
Contact:

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by taikedz » Post

D00Med wrote:@Vince I never even noticed this.
.... just to say, night-only Wyverns was the way it was coded even before the code refactoring ........ :-P

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

Lol tbh I only recently figured out how the light-related spawning worked
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
Beerholder
Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 20:23
GitHub: evrooije
In-game: Beerholder

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by Beerholder » Post

Hi D00Med, got this running on my server thanks for the great mobs! Really enjoying it :) Tried to tame a dragon, but not sure how it works. Tried to place an egg on a single lava block (source), then I feed it the dragon gem by right clicking on the egg with dragon gem in hand. Except that it says that it swallowed it, nothing happens (i.e. egg does not change color)? Right click with a fire dragon gem then also does nothing. Am I doing something wrong here? Thanks!

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

You have to have the egg surrounded by lava on all sides, and also underneath(and underneath the other lava nodes).
So you have to make a sort of bowl of lava for the egg to sit in.
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

User avatar
Beerholder
Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 20:23
GitHub: evrooije
In-game: Beerholder

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by Beerholder » Post

D00Med wrote:You have to have the egg surrounded by lava on all sides, and also underneath(and underneath the other lava nodes).
So you have to make a sort of bowl of lava for the egg to sit in.
And a dragon just spawned! Thanks D00Med!! :D

User avatar
D00Med
Member
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2015 22:49
GitHub: D00Med
Location: Australia...somewhere

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by D00Med » Post

You're welcome :)
Look! I have a signature :]
My subgame: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=14051#p207242

Moleman
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 16:27
In-game: Moleboi

Re: [Mod] D00Med mobs [dmobs]

by Moleman » Post

How do you tame the hedgehog and panda

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests