[abandoned Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

Beware the deadly ice spider!

Image

...and the ice goblins.

Image
Attachments
fun-caves-04.jpg
(98.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-03.jpg
(141.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by duane on Tue May 17, 2016 08:12, edited 1 time in total.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

duane wrote:The ore is based on the altitudes in the default game. Wherever there's a sharp increase based on altitude normally, there will be a similar increase horizontally here. I like making the ore harder to find. It was too easy before.
But it's not the same in the defaulf game. Here you have areas with absolutely no ores and then there is a hard cut and you find everything, even Mese and diamonds at +90 and above (see attached screenshot). And it is still easy if you have a little luck. I played an hour and I have a full stack of coal blocks and nearly a full stack of diamonds
duane wrote:There is a lot of lag. Unfortunately, most of it is being caused by the liquid/lighting updates. To be fair, the game wasn't designed for caves in the sky. I haven't had any problem killing anything yet, as long as I'm walking.
Maybe my hardware is not the best, but it was never so hard like yesterday
duane wrote:The lava is in the hot biomes (where you see hot cobble and coal).
Found one. Rare
duane wrote:The uniform glow is a bit dull. Maybe I'll make the individual lights brighter and turn off the rest. That would probably help with the lighting lag.

Edit: Yep. That helps a lot. At least until you get into areas with lava and hot cobble. Then it's lag city again.
Much better performance. And it also looks much better and there is a need for torches again. Maybe you can add a ramdom brightness to the mushrooms?

Do you have more ideas or do you need inspiration?
Attachments
screenshot_20160517_082053.jpg
(190.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

Biomes are calculated only in two dimensions, right? I noticed, that there is always the same biome with lichen and the same green moss spot on the same position if I go straight down. Even the shape of the spot is nearly equal. It's like a building with lots of floors with the same carpet. And if you look up you see the same at the ceiling

If you know that there is no need to go down or up to find another biome. Just walk horizontal. Maybe you can use a 3d noise for biomes so that there can other biomes above and below?

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

Image

Image

Image
Attachments
fun-caves-17.jpg
(94.07 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-16.jpg
(270.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-15.jpg
(101.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

duane wrote:
Image
a crystal cave?!?cool!

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

I guess I found the reason for the shadows and other issues with the v6 lua cavegen. I replaced "air" with "default:cobble" for large caves and "default:wood" for normal caves.

Normal caves "grow" sometimes into forests
Image

Huge caves are floating in the air. Inside the huge caves are small caves
Image

And they are eveywhere
Image

An interesting fact is, that the large caves always spawn at specific heights
Attachments
screenshot_20160518_213149.jpg
(161.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20160518_212756.jpg
(90.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20160518_214618.jpg
(346.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

burli wrote:I guess I found the reason for the shadows and other issues with the v6 lua cavegen. I replaced "air" with "default:cobble" for large caves and "default:wood" for normal caves.
Ok, but why would that cause shadows when you're only placing air?
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:a crystal cave?!?cool!
The salt blocks are dim light sources in caverealms, which makes them look pretty, but it spoils the surprise when you're moving toward another lighted area in the distance and you hit a (nearly) invisible wall. In some places, it's a bit like a mirror maze.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

duane wrote:
burli wrote:I guess I found the reason for the shadows and other issues with the v6 lua cavegen. I replaced "air" with "default:cobble" for large caves and "default:wood" for normal caves.
Ok, but why would that cause shadows when you're only placing air?
I don't know why, but I noticed something similar with the original intersecting mod. There is just a hard limit at 48. Sometimes I found a shadow right next to a hole. If you fly above the shadow you see, that the wield hand gets darker and normal again around 48.


I also think that there must be normal caves in the air. I can see them in the water, they are inside the large caves and they "grow" along other nodes like trees. But for whatever reason air is not replaced by the small caves. It is really strange.

Another thing I noticed is, that h1 is always 1. Are you sure that vector.add can add 4 values?

Code: Select all

vector.add(v, x)`: returns a vector

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

Ok, this looks better. No flying large caves, but still shadows, caves still eat up plants and caves under water

Code: Select all

local p1 = vector.add(orpi, vector.add(veci, vector.add(this.of, this.rs / 2)))
local p2 = vector.add(orpi, vector.add(this.of, this.rs / 2)
This one is a special one. It does not collapse

Image

Is it possible that lua mapgens are executed AFTER the decoration? This would explain the destroyed plants
Attachments
screenshot_20160519_075719.jpg
(37.48 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

burli wrote:This one is a special one. It does not collapse
It won't unless you update liquids (which causes lag, sadly).
Is it possible that lua mapgens are executed AFTER the decoration? This would explain the destroyed plants
They are.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

burli wrote:If you fly above the shadow you see, that the wield hand gets darker and normal again around 48.
Your wield hand darkens when you fly into an ungenerated chunk. It brightens once the chunk generates (even if it's nothing but air).
I also think that there must be normal caves in the air. I can see them in the water, they are inside the large caves and they "grow" along other nodes like trees. But for whatever reason air is not replaced by the small caves. It is really strange.
That probably has to do with the fact that large caves are not generated by noise, so the game has no way to tell that a stone roof won't be generated over one at a chunk border. With the smaller, noise-generated caves, there's an easy way to see where they extend into the next chunk.
Another thing I noticed is, that h1 is always 1. Are you sure that vector.add can add 4 values?
I am not. It does in most languages, but lua is special.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

I started to miss the surface world, so I added it back in. It should work with any mapgen that produces a heightmap.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

duane wrote:I started to miss the surface world, so I added it back in. It should work with any mapgen that produces a heightmap.
I like your work and I think about to use it for something new

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

Wasting time, watching a bunch of goblins dig a new quarry. It's kind of like having an ant farm.

Image

Image

Image
Attachments
fun-caves-28.jpg
(248.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-27.jpg
(250.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-26.jpg
(260.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

I have a texture bug. Mob Textures are not loaded with your latest version

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

I noticed that your top dirt block is a full grass block. Do you use a mod for this? I asked for this feature a few weeks ago, but did not find a satisfying solution

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

burli wrote:I have a texture bug. Mob Textures are not loaded with your latest version
Which ones? It shouldn't matter much, since the affected mobs will die out and be replaced.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

burli wrote:I noticed that your top dirt block is a full grass block. Do you use a mod for this? I asked for this feature a few weeks ago, but did not find a satisfying solution
There are a number of texture packs (e.g. PixelBox) that have side grass. I use my own compilation, but I've borrowed from so many sources, that I can't post it for fear of leaving the credits out.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

duane wrote:
burli wrote:I have a texture bug. Mob Textures are not loaded with your latest version
Which ones? It shouldn't matter much, since the affected mobs will die out and be replaced.
I was attacked by naked spiders. I add mobs mod, but not mobs_monsters. I expected, that you just need the api, but you removed some textures. So I had to add mobs_monsters to get the textures

Or are you using an older mobs mod befor it was splitted?

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1659
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by duane » Post

I added some plants and coral, using some of my textures from valleys_c, to liven up the surface. This time I'm not using any water abms.

Image

Image

Image
Attachments
fun-caves-29.jpg
(48.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-30.jpg
(231.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fun-caves-31.jpg
(169.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

stupid question : inyour 1st post u say there's no surface... but why there is a river, grass and sun??!?!

User avatar
burli
Member
Posts: 1643
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [Mod] New Fun Caves (No Surface) [fun_caves]

by burli » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:stupid question : inyour 1st post u say there's no surface... but why there is a river, grass and sun??!?!
duane wrote:I started to miss the surface world, so I added it back in. It should work with any mapgen that produces a heightmap.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

ok thx ;)

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Fun Caves [fun_caves]

by paramat » Post

See viewtopic.php?p=218419#p218419

I think your heightmap checks may be failing, large caves should not be generated high in the air. The dark air of overgenerated large caves can cause lighiting bugs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests