[Mod] Space 2.2 [space]

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: [Mod] Space 1 [space]

by AiTechEye » Mon May 02, 2016 17:32

have you activated the marsmod package?

the space mod is made in 4 parts:
space (the main)
space_moon (spawns the moon into earth)
space_planets (spawns planets)
marsruvive (the other space stuff)
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
Location: Michigan
GitHub: Benrob0329
IRC: benrob0329
In-game: benrob03

Re: [Mod] Space 1 [space]

by benrob0329 » Mon May 02, 2016 18:35

Never mind, I was trying to use it with 3D armor.
Social: YouTube Peertube Matrix Room: #minetest:matrix.org | Games: The Infinite IKEA
 

User avatar
TG-MyinaWD
Member
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 21:22
Location: Far Eden
GitHub: Maddie-Myina
IRC: Maddie-Myina
In-game: .

Re: [Mod] Space 1 [space]

by TG-MyinaWD » Fri May 06, 2016 04:23

Looking good still.
Got any plans add the sun at -10000?
I'm a Transgender no shame about it.
I prefer to be considered as a "Girl/Lady/Miss/Madam/Female" for now on.
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps

Re: [Mod] Space 1 [space]

by Diamond knight » Fri May 06, 2016 23:42

you should rename the marssurvive so it doesnt conflict with the other mod
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: [Mod] Space 1 [space]

by AiTechEye » Sat May 07, 2016 08:25

Alt. Tester wrote:Looking good still.
Got any plans add the sun at -10000?

i will, but havent time to do it yet...


the reason to the name is marssurvive is to make a conflict because its same mod, but don't have all blocks / resources.

Becaouse its unnecessary to use dual functions
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by TheReaperKing » Wed May 11, 2016 05:32

I have been loving playing it on my own and going to test it with the kiddos tomorrow!! I can let you know what they think if you are interested :) Also going to try to get permission from the school (especially since it is summer camp) to try Mars Survive!
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

jakab
Member
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 17:19
IRC: jakab
In-game: jakab

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by jakab » Thu Sep 01, 2016 14:42

with minetest 0.4.14 is work ?
i cant find planets asteroids in the correct height :P
and also mars survival wont wors too :/
can somebodey help me ?
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by echosa » Sun Sep 04, 2016 19:35

In order to get to space, do you have to build your way up all those thousands of blocks or use fly or /teleport? Or is there another way to get to space?
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by AiTechEye » Sun Sep 04, 2016 20:02

The space starts at +2000, it does not mather how you are coming up.

so you can do both, build, fly, teleport, the space should always appear

The planets appear as massive platforms at +4200.

The mod is based on generating ores, and spawn things on them.
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by echosa » Sun Sep 04, 2016 20:07

Right, I got that. I'm wondering about how to get that high, though. Are there any blocks, tools, or vehicles to get you there? That would be pretty cool, so you don't have to build a 4000+ block pillar, ladder, or stairway just to get to space.

Also, I tried running this mod at the same time as asteroid. It seems they both work, but the asteroid skybox takes over, meaning we don't get the nice skybox available from the space mod. Any idea how to get them to work together but have your skybox show up?
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by TheReaperKing » Sun Sep 04, 2016 20:43

You could just copy the skybox from the space mod and replace the asteroid mod with it :) or you could just rename the spacemod to aspace. I believe that should work anyway since it would load the space mod first. Let me know if it works out!
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by echosa » Sun Sep 04, 2016 21:34

Ah, so mods just get loaded alphabetically, and the first loaded takes precedence? I considered making asteroid a dependency of space, to force asteroid to load first, and then space would load, overwriting the skybox. If what you're saying is true, though, that wouldn't work.
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by TheReaperKing » Sun Sep 04, 2016 21:46

Test it and find out :) That's how we learn!!
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by echosa » Sun Sep 04, 2016 21:54

Renaming didn't work, and I didn't feel like making one a dependency of the other. I just went into the Lua code for asteroids and commented out the two lines that set the skybox. That seems to have worked just fine. :-)
 

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by TheReaperKing » Sun Sep 04, 2016 22:55

Awesome nice work and thanks for the update!!!
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by Diamond knight » Sun Nov 13, 2016 22:49

someone should make a mod for minetest that is like the warpdrive mod from minecraft (only the movingships and some of the equitment part, not the worldgen or the stuff that isnt possible in the api right now)

the worldedit mod will help as warpdrive does a very similar thing
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 2345
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by AiTechEye » Wed Nov 16, 2016 16:05

The space appear after +2000, so you have to fly or teleport, outspace at +4000

like /teleport 0 2050 0
 

jakab
Member
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 17:19
IRC: jakab
In-game: jakab

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by jakab » Mon Jan 30, 2017 12:25

it is working with marssurvive ?
 

User avatar
AiTechEye
Member
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 21:14
Location: ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
GitHub: AiTechEye

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by AiTechEye » Thu Feb 02, 2017 13:01

i think i added support for it, i don't remember.

but used a part of the ,mars mod to it... try
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: SCP-3008
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by GreenDimond » Thu Feb 02, 2017 23:47

Just so you know, this messes with other_worlds a bit.
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patre●n | Twitter | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232

Hey, you. You're finally awake.
You were trying to view their profile, right? Found the rest of their signature, same as us, and that guest over there.
 

User avatar
MangleFox70
Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 14:50
GitHub: Cat5TV
IRC: MangleFox70
In-game: MangleFox70

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by MangleFox70 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 15:09

GreenDimond wrote:Just so you know, this messes with other_worlds a bit.


I'd like to try to make them work well together... perhaps make other_worlds a part of the modpack and make whatever tweaks are needed to let them play well together. I'll host it on github and welcome any PR's or feedback. I'm also testing this on TPS-SciFi (currently beta testing at servers.minetest.tv port 30004).

-RobbieF
#ThePixelShadow on YouTube
A Weekly Minetest Webcast hosted by MangleFox70
Have a mod you'd like featured? Want to participate in our show? Join servers.minetest.tv Port 30000 for creative or 30001 for survival.
Upload your own skin via our web site: Minetest.TV
 

Shara
Moderator
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 15:18
GitHub: ezhh
IRC: Shara

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by Shara » Fri Mar 24, 2017 19:03

Does this mod have settings so you can easily adjust which heights things do/don't appear at? If so it should be quite easy to run alongside other_worlds.

The problem with running multiple space mods is that they can fight for control of things like the sky box and gravity, as well as attempt to generate content at the same heights if you don't make adjustments to account for it.

(Maybe those of us with space mods should agree to make sky box changes optional so people wanting to run more than one mod at once can just choose a mod to control the sky box if they don't have the ability to adjust the code themselves?)
 

echosa
Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 04:01

Re: [Mod] Space [space]

by echosa » Sat Mar 25, 2017 03:25

I have a game (or is it subgame? I can never remember the right terminology) I've been working on and testing on stream for a while. It includes several space mods. There were definitely conflicts, but luckily most (maybe all?) of them had a setting, or at least a variable somewhere, where the y-level boundaries could be set. I simply changed them all to layer them as I desired:

- <mod name>: <y levels where the mod is active>
- skylands: 700-4000
- other_worlds: 5000-6000,6000-7000
- asteroid: 8000-14000
- asteroids: 15000+

Other Worlds has two different levels within itself, hence the two sets of numbers.

I also added the space modpack, but I removed `space_moon` and `space_planets`, leaving only `space` and `marssurvive`. I basically just wanted the spacesuit and the need for oxygen. Planets, asteroids, etc. all come from the other mods.

After my changes, everything seems to work fine together so far. I haven't tested the space parts much, though. I haven't made it that far in my game yet. :-P (Reaching space is my end game content. The game is still pre-alpha as far as I'm concerned, until I can get through at least one full playthrough).
 

seller
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 16:31
Location: in a hose
In-game: seller bombingspree lockerhead5000 blob5000 thediamondfighter

Re: [Mod] Space 0.5 [space]

by seller » Fri Dec 22, 2017 21:08

Diamond knight wrote:you always make the best mods, i cant weight(less) to try this.
 

PreviousNext

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests