[MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

[MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Sat Jun 25, 2016 00:39

This mod will be developed no further.
I would like to recommend comboblock by pithy for those who like this idea, as it is a far better approach and, one can stack slabs atop one another all day :D
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15248

This mod adds stackable top slabs to Minetest.

*Depends = default

*License
LGPLv2.1 for code,
CC-BY-SA 3.0 for media.
=========================

Image

Image
Lots of new building options using the screwdriver : )

source = https://github.com/TumeniNodes/stackslabs

download = https://github.com/TumeniNodes/stackslabs/archive/master.zip

Install = rename file from "stackslabs-master", to only "stackslabs" and move into your mods folder. Be sure to enable the mod.
Enjoy
Attachments
lots of new options.png
(134.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_slabs2.png
(300.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by TumeniNodes on Wed Oct 03, 2018 04:20, edited 10 times in total.
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
Onyx
Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 08:36
Location: Steinheim-NodesNation
In-game: onyx58

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by Onyx » Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:12

Great! I'll try it soon.
Very good job, keep it up!
"Science sans conscience n'est que ruine de l'âme."
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steinheim NodesNation : steinheim-minetest.servegame.com Pt : 28000
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by Don » Sat Jun 25, 2016 14:14

Cool idea!
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Sat Jun 25, 2016 16:10

Thank you both. I will be removing the bottom slabs today, as they are not needed.
When I did it last night, and then entered "stack" in the inv search, nothing came up so I thought something was wrong, and I put the bottom slabs back in.
I was actually mistaken, and should have entered "top", then I would have seen that the mod was still working fine :P
A simple, silly mistake of a tired person :D
I will also be adding support for other nodes from other mods, which are supported by the stairs mod. That is a step I have yet to do, so I will have to look at the stairs code to see how it is done.
Last edited by TumeniNodes on Mon Jun 27, 2016 04:20, edited 1 time in total.
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Sun Jun 26, 2016 00:57

Updated.
This mod now only adds the top slabs.
blert2112 noticed I was calling the register function twice, which was causing the mod to become null after I removed the lines for the bottom nodes.
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=15015#p222699
Thank you blert2112.
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by sofar » Sun Jun 26, 2016 01:07

You just made slabs that have a nodebox *outside* of the node's position.

That's likely going to violate all sorts of game engine assumptions, and break all over the place.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Sun Jun 26, 2016 01:10

sofar wrote:You just made slabs that have a nodebox *outside* of the node's position.

That's likely going to violate all sorts of game engine assumptions, and break all over the place.


Well I sure hope not. That's why it will stay here for testing. I have had no problems yet. Just waiting on hearing any issues from other users.
I have other similar mods I have made but not shared yet, and I have had zero issues with them.
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by sofar » Sun Jun 26, 2016 01:24

Well, for one, you can't place anything above the two slabs.

Plus rotation is going to go very ... strangely.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Sun Jun 26, 2016 01:29

sofar wrote:Well, for one, you can't place anything above the two slabs.

Plus rotation is going to go very ... strangely.


In the 2d image of the orig post, I show a stairs slab and top slab rotated to their sides, and then a block set atop them.
The only area a user cannot place another node is against the top of the top slab (whichever position it is in) so that is the only limitation.
So one could use these to say, make a structure with one material inside, and another outside, while still only using the space a single node would (they just can't place other nodes up against the outside) because that is the top of the top slab.
Besides, we are unable to place any nodes atop slabs in the first place, right along..., until now :D
But as I stated to the user who posted regarding wishing for this, it is a somewhat limited use. But they do add some unique new options
rotation is actually pretty cool with these nodes.
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Fri Jul 15, 2016 03:38

If anyone is interested in helping, I am sure there has to be a way to make it so that when you place a slab of one material, and one of these top slabs of another material on top, that they switch into a full node entity, the same as when you place a slab atop another of the same material they turn into a full node?
I have been really locked onto this, it has been stuck in my head, and it drives me nuts trying to figure out how this might be achieved... : P
So, if anyone has any ideas, please pass them on?
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by Don » Sun Jul 24, 2016 18:26

TumeniNodes wrote:If anyone is interested in helping, I am sure there has to be a way to make it so that when you place a slab of one material, and one of these top slabs of another material on top, that they switch into a full node entity, the same as when you place a slab atop another of the same material they turn into a full node?
I have been really locked onto this, it has been stuck in my head, and it drives me nuts trying to figure out how this might be achieved... : P
So, if anyone has any ideas, please pass them on?

You would need to make a node for each variation. That would be a lot of nodes to register. But it could be done.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

Thomas-S
Member
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
Location: Bavaria, Germany
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by Thomas-S » Sun Jul 24, 2016 18:30

This is another reason why we need meta-set nodedef ;)
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Sun Jul 24, 2016 20:00

Don wrote:
TumeniNodes wrote:If anyone is interested in helping, I am sure there has to be a way to make it so that when you place a slab of one material, and one of these top slabs of another material on top, that they switch into a full node entity, the same as when you place a slab atop another of the same material they turn into a full node?
I have been really locked onto this, it has been stuck in my head, and it drives me nuts trying to figure out how this might be achieved... : P
So, if anyone has any ideas, please pass them on?

You would need to make a node for each variation. That would be a lot of nodes to register. But it could be done.


Which is the only option I was able to come up with as well, with the same downside. That's why I chose not to do it. I'm not great at maths but I'm sure someone around here would be able to determine quickly just how many nodes it would require... My guess is A LOT. :D
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
pithy
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 17:34
GitHub: pithydon

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by pithy » Sun Jul 24, 2016 22:01

For Minetest Game it is 420 slab combos.
It's elementary my dear TumeniNodes.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Mon Jul 25, 2016 02:47

pithy wrote:For Minetest Game it is 420 slab combos.
It's elementary my dear TumeniNodes.


Then it is as I presumed... A LOT...
Even if I produced one per day, I'd still come up short at the end of one year :P
At any rate, they're still fun because... they do that which should not be done.
Actually, I should have a quick look over to add any textures I may have missed, then send it up for release tomorrow.
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
pithy
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 17:34
GitHub: pithydon
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Fri Jul 29, 2016 07:37

pithy wrote:I used my time machine to register all of the nodes
Image
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15248


That's awesome! :D
Doh... glass, I forgot glass...
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
StarNinjas
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 00:32
Location: aincrad
GitHub: starninjas
IRC: StarNinjas
In-game: J1
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2462
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by TumeniNodes » Fri Apr 13, 2018 16:59

StarNinjas wrote:+1 Awesome this should be added to minetest sub-game.


No, it really shouldn't... But I am glad you like it

StarNinjas wrote:can you make this work with my Xblox mod

Sorry, I honestly never had planned to do any more with this. It was literally thrown together due to another member asking if there was anything like it, and to show it could be done (but in a very hacked way)
It has limitations.
In my original post this is explained with another option/mod by pithy, which uses another approach and reduces the limitations but, I am not sure the other mod is still available
My brain, is AES256 encrypted, even I don't know wth I'm thinking...
 

User avatar
StarNinjas
Member
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 00:32
Location: aincrad
GitHub: starninjas
IRC: StarNinjas
In-game: J1

Re: [MOD] Stack Slabs [1.0] [stackslabs]

by StarNinjas » Sat Apr 21, 2018 20:46

TumeniNodes wrote:
StarNinjas wrote:+1 Awesome this should be added to minetest sub-game.


No, it really shouldn't... But I am glad you like it

StarNinjas wrote:can you make this work with my Xblox mod

Sorry, I honestly never had planned to do any more with this. It was literally thrown together due to another member asking if there was anything like it, and to show it could be done (but in a very hacked way)
It has limitations.
In my original post this is explained with another option/mod by pithy, which uses another approach and reduces the limitations but, I am not sure the other mod is still available

Ok no problem
 


Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests