[abandoned Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

I've added a bit of furnishing to the houses. You'll need the Home Decor mod pack to see them.

Image

Image

Image
Attachments
t03.jpg
(354.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
t02.jpg
(317.02 KiB) Not downloaded yet
t01.jpg
(331.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by Andrey01 » Post

Nice! :p Kitchens are nice, but they need more furnishment (tables with candlesticks and set of dishes. I would like to see bedrooms, living rooms, bathrooms and other rooms are full by Homedecor`s furniture! Also, can you add streets from Roads mod and Vehicles mod?

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

Andrey01 wrote:Nice! :p Kitchens are nice, but they need more furnishment (tables with candlesticks and set of dishes. I would like to see bedrooms, living rooms, bathrooms and other rooms are full by Homedecor`s furniture! Also, can you add streets from Roads mod and Vehicles mod?
I'm not changing the basic stuff. I want that to show up with no other mods enabled. I can add nick-nacks from other mods, but it has to be for non-critical pieces.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

why not ladders (yark yark yark...)

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

Image

Added warning beacons and greatly improved Fun Caves' cave openings in Squaresville, so that ragged pieces of trees are hardly ever left. The mapgen now uses the default tree schematics, which makes a difference in appearance, but mainly makes the code easier to maintain. All houses are now worldedit files.
Attachments
t01.jpg
(123.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by Andrey01 » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:(yark yark yark...)
Hm...What are words?

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

*devil laugh*

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

I've raised the base level to accommodate the default biomes. This will break existing worlds (or at least make them look weird).

Image

Image
Attachments
t02.jpg
(332.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet
t03.jpg
(365.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

I've added mts files for the new trees. Nearly every schematic loads using the game's place_schematic functions. It's slightly faster, but you won't notice.

Stopping by the side of the road to pick a pear...

Image
Attachments
t01.jpg
(385.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

makes me hungry!

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

I've ported the game's decoration code, so that all default decorations are placed in pretty much the same places the game would place them on a C mapgen. This is a bit faster, but again, not very noticeable. Plants of a type tend to grow in the same regions, and trees are spaced more like a typical game. Any decorations and biomes added before squaresville runs will be used.

Image
Attachments
t10.jpg
(609.04 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

I've greatly overhauled the mapgen code, increasing the speed a bit, but mostly making it cleaner. The only really visible change is that jungles are now much more colorful.

Image
Attachments
t05.jpg
(599.96 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

funny little plants.

mr_dean
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 00:38
In-game: mr_dean
Location: Modding...

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by mr_dean » Post

Does anyone know if there is a place where u can share the schematics you make for your cities?
I know you believe you understand what you think I said, but, I am not sure that what you heard is not what I meant. - Author Unknown

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

why not here? :)

mr_dean
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 00:38
In-game: mr_dean
Location: Modding...

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by mr_dean » Post

That works
I know you believe you understand what you think I said, but, I am not sure that what you heard is not what I meant. - Author Unknown

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

I've made some changes to the terrain generation. Now I just need to clean up the code.

Image
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

the right and meft ârt of the mountain looks really realistic. The middle, well... no. But it's awesome!

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:the right and meft ârt of the mountain looks really realistic. The middle, well... no. But it's awesome!
Yeah, it didn't work so well, so I took it back out. The terrain still needs something though. Maybe just a smaller noise to roughen the mountains up.

I'm also making a C version, if anyone wants to look at it. For some reason this area's a desert in C.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

cool! the C one should be faster!

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:cool! the C one should be faster!
It's definitely faster.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
AlexD975
Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 21:24
In-game: AlexTheYinglet
Location: Crimea, Russia
Contact:

Re: [abandoned Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by AlexD975 » Post

Some days ago I notice that is Squaresville was abandoned... And it make me extremely sad, because I put so many time for create something interesting into this mod.

In fist steps of development I decide make big prefab pack for this mod. I have 20 builds right now, and cities looks awesome. But this mod don't work on Minetest 5.0.0... Only 4.1.7...

Look like I just lose my time.
And I have one question: Did I must continue developming?

Image
Image

User avatar
duane
Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
GitHub: duane-r
Location: Oklahoma City
Contact:

Re: [abandoned Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by duane » Post

AlexD975 wrote:But this mod don't work on Minetest 5.0.0... Only 4.1.7...
You could try this patch. It fixes the only problems I have with the squaresville code I have (which was the last stable version from github) and the stable 5.0.1 version of minetest. However, if you're going to keep using squaresville, you should probably consider either freezing your minetest at the current version or learning how to maintain the mod yourself. If you've added a lot of buildings, you might even consider sharing those with the community. Maybe it would draw more interest. As it is, I doubt many people are still using this.
Attachments
squaresville_last.zip
(118.2 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
ver50.zip
(784 Bytes) Downloaded 13 times
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.

User avatar
AlexD975
Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 21:24
In-game: AlexTheYinglet
Location: Crimea, Russia
Contact:

Re: [abandoned Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by AlexD975 » Post

duane wrote:
AlexD975 wrote:But this mod don't work on Minetest 5.0.0... Only 4.1.7...
You could try this patch. It fixes the only problems I have with the squaresville code I have (which was the last stable version from github) and the stable 5.0.1 version of minetest. However, if you're going to keep using squaresville, you should probably consider either freezing your minetest at the current version or learning how to maintain the mod yourself. If you've added a lot of buildings, you might even consider sharing those with the community. Maybe it would draw more interest. As it is, I doubt many people are still using this.
Oh, well... Look like my guess was right, I tries play in squaressville C but I cath some problem on my powerfull PC. Right now I have much weak PC and I not sure if I can use new version of this mod... I can't even download Squaressville C for test...

Anyway, I think I may make WIP release and open new topic. But I scare you are right about popularity of this idea.

And thank you for attention!

User avatar
ShallowDweller
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 22:23

Re: [abandoned Mod] Squaresville (Cities) [squaresville]

by ShallowDweller » Post

AlexD975 wrote:
duane wrote:
AlexD975 wrote:But this mod don't work on Minetest 5.0.0... Only 4.1.7...
You could try this patch. It fixes the only problems I have with the squaresville code I have (which was the last stable version from github) and the stable 5.0.1 version of minetest. However, if you're going to keep using squaresville, you should probably consider either freezing your minetest at the current version or learning how to maintain the mod yourself. If you've added a lot of buildings, you might even consider sharing those with the community. Maybe it would draw more interest. As it is, I doubt many people are still using this.
Oh, well... Look like my guess was right, I tries play in squaressville C but I cath some problem on my powerfull PC. Right now I have much weak PC and I not sure if I can use new version of this mod... I can't even download Squaressville C for test...

Anyway, I think I may make WIP release and open new topic. But I scare you are right about popularity of this idea.

And thank you for attention!
I never downloaded this mod before because I wasn't aware it even existed (can't find WIP mods listed under another user's mods). I would love to see it revived and working on MT 5.0.1+ and now that ore only generates at much deeper depths, the underground structures would be desired by the comunity (or am I mistaking this mod for another one?)
Unless this mod is too resource-intensive... I mean, how much RAM do I need for Squaresville?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests