[abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7489
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by the_raven_262 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 19:01

How do you exactly make it so lighten up?
The darkness of the underground caves makes it a bit hard to explore :P
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Fri Mar 03, 2017 01:15

the_raven_262 wrote:How do you exactly make it so lighten up?
The darkness of the underground caves makes it a bit hard to explore :P


I set DEBUG on in the mapgen file, which removes all the damage and falsely lights the chunks. The light will disappear as soon as you disturb anything, but it's good for checking my work.

A better way for regular play is to enable the cheap_lighting setting, which isn't always attractive, but doesn't ever disappear. I also use the flare gun from my fun_tools mod whenever I go exploring. It lights up a cave nicely, for a short while.

Edit: I'm working on adding more levels and connections to the existing geomorphs. I'm also setting up a connection to the surface. I think I may move the default depth up to -1.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Fri Mar 03, 2017 14:59

Almost finished with the entrance plan. Entrances will be spaced in an 800 meter grid, and are fairly unobtrusive, at least in valleys mapgen.

Image

Image
Attachments
geomoria19.jpg
(378.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
geomoria18.jpg
(337.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:38

Geomoria will no longer write over the entire contents of a chunk with stone, sparing as much damage as possible to caves. The actual rooms and corridors will be surrounded by stone. It makes the crevasses more interesting.

Image

Image
Attachments
geomoria21.jpg
(176.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
geomoria22.jpg
(363.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by Milan* » Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:15

Awesome. This'll be part of the next upcoming Illuna server.
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by the_raven_262 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 20:23

You made enough material here to make a subgame out of it :P
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?
 

User avatar
Neuromancer
Member
 
Posts: 795
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 22:28
GitHub: Neuromancer56

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by Neuromancer » Sat Mar 11, 2017 18:17

I mentioned that Underworlds needs to be added to Minetest Game, so does Geomoria! adds so much interest to the underground areas!
 

User avatar
burli
Member
 
Posts: 1641
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 13:18

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by burli » Sat Mar 11, 2017 19:52

Duane's projects are great, but instead of adding new empty hollows we should fill the hollows we already have
 

bell07
Member
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by bell07 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 22:09

At the first thank you for this mod!
I see the geomoria does spawn some chests without formspec/inventory. Maybe you add treasurer support at this place like implemented in http://repo.or.cz/minetest_tsm_chests_dungeon.git/blob/HEAD:/init.lua?
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Fri Apr 07, 2017 23:54

bell07 wrote:At the first thank you for this mod!
I see the geomoria does spawn some chests without formspec/inventory. Maybe you add treasurer support at this place like implemented in http://repo.or.cz/minetest_tsm_chests_dungeon.git/blob/HEAD:/init.lua?


I'm not going to add that to the mapgen -- for one thing, people will want to specify what kind of treasures go where, and I'm not willing to complicate the geomorph descriptions that much. I added the chests from Booty because they're trivial. If treasury has a node for generic treasure chests/caches, I'll put that in. Anything more would be a job for a separate mod.

To that end, I've added a hook function in init.lua which can be overridden to place anything you want (and start after functions if necessary).
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

bell07
Member
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 15:15
GitHub: bell07

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by bell07 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 13:26

Here is the treasurer mod that uses the new hook: https://github.com/bell07/minetest-tsm_geomoria
The code is based on tsm_chests_dungeon. Pls. note I am not really good in balancing things, so I am listening for adjustments proposals.
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by the_raven_262 » Wed Apr 12, 2017 05:31

I have a question, can the dungeon be limited so it extends only to the specific x and z coordinates?
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by Diamond knight » Sat May 06, 2017 01:10

:0 This is massive, this could almost replace the (kind of basic) dungeons in default
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7489
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Sun Jun 25, 2017 01:15

Madness!
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by the_raven_262 » Sun Jun 25, 2017 07:37

Do you think making some decorations for this would be possible?
I mean it almost looks like some kind of an abandoned temple, just missing some vines and stuff.
And for some reason I can't generate ores no matter how many times I set the configuration to true :/
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by BirgitLachner » Sun Jun 25, 2017 16:07

What about having portals that are a bit hidden in the "overworld". You can see them but not really good. If you come close to the portal-stone you are teleported to one of the structures. To go back you need to find the back-portal or dig you up.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Sun Jun 25, 2017 23:53

the_raven_262 wrote:And for some reason I can't generate ores no matter how many times I set the configuration to true :/


Normally, you want the mapgen to generate ores, otherwise you'll get them twice. If you aren't running a mapgen, you'll have to add a vm:generate_ores call after the set_*data calls. You'll still only get ores in regular stone and at the specified altitudes, unless you change the ore registration in the default game. See the default mod's mapgen file for that.

Then go through and add "{act='fill', node='grass', coords={...}, random=5}" items to the geomorphs. The x and z coordinates will be the same, just add one to the y coordinate. I guess you could make some geomorphs that don't have lots of floating tunnels, but if it's all floating, that's less of an issue.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Sun Jun 25, 2017 23:54

BirgitLachner wrote:What about having portals that are a bit hidden in the "overworld". You can see them but not really good. If you come close to the portal-stone you are teleported to one of the structures. To go back you need to find the back-portal or dig you up.


I went for stairs instead. Pretty much the same thing.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
 
Posts: 7489
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
Location: OMICRON
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
 

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by Diamond knight » Tue Jun 27, 2017 17:59

duane wrote:
BirgitLachner wrote:What about having portals that are a bit hidden in the "overworld". You can see them but not really good. If you come close to the portal-stone you are teleported to one of the structures. To go back you need to find the back-portal or dig you up.


I went for stairs instead. Pretty much the same thing.


Lol :P
 

elettrico
Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 20:00

Re: [mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by elettrico » Fri Aug 18, 2017 13:28

Does this mod works in 4.16 with mapgen v7? I've added this mod to a world but I cannot find geomoria caves underground. I also have Caverealms installed ant it works well.
 

PreviousNext

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests