[abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by Milan* » Thu Sep 28, 2017 08:30

@elettrico it does work on my server with v7 4.16-dev (not 5-dev) at least.

however, that [abandoned mod] scares me... -.-
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by the_raven_262 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 09:42

Duane is probably going to integrate this into his new mapgen, i guess.
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Thu Sep 28, 2017 17:59

the_raven_262 wrote:Duane is probably going to integrate this into his new mapgen, i guess.


Already done.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
Milan*
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
Location: Germany
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by Milan* » Sun Oct 08, 2017 14:13

the_raven_262 wrote:Duane is probably going to integrate this into his new mapgen, i guess.


so far so good but think about broken worlds with other mapgens already using those abandoned mods - even as a server - in case a new minetest update makes those mods incompatible.

i just hope that if that happens, one of us is able to fix this.
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.
 

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by the_raven_262 » Thu Jan 25, 2018 17:51

Sorry for resurrecting this mod (from the dead, possibly), isn't it too good to die actually?
Anyway, I have a reason for doing this.
I do know that this mod is "abandoned", but still I might get some help here, right?
Okay, so here it goes: the mod doesn't work anymore for me.
What do I mean by that? Well, nothing generates at -250 depth as it should. It is completely empty.
I have tried using different mapgens, and it doesn't help at all.
I have also removed my minetest.conf to reset the settings, still this didn't do anything.
I don't remember how long this was happening, but I think it has been a few months before I started using MT 0.4.17,
though my memory can be a bit bad, so this might be happening cause of the 0.4.17 version.
But I have no idea.

P.S. Is this how you resurrect a mod? I rarely do this. Hope I did it right.
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by duane » Mon May 28, 2018 00:17

the_raven_262 wrote:Sorry for resurrecting this mod (from the dead, possibly), isn't it too good to die actually?
Anyway, I have a reason for doing this.
I do know that this mod is "abandoned", but still I might get some help here, right?
Okay, so here it goes: the mod doesn't work anymore for me.
What do I mean by that? Well, nothing generates at -250 depth as it should. It is completely empty.
I have tried using different mapgens, and it doesn't help at all.
I have also removed my minetest.conf to reset the settings, still this didn't do anything.
I don't remember how long this was happening, but I think it has been a few months before I started using MT 0.4.17,
though my memory can be a bit bad, so this might be happening cause of the 0.4.17 version.
But I have no idea.

P.S. Is this how you resurrect a mod? I rarely do this. Hope I did it right.


That issue might be fixed on github. It produces geomorphs on the latest 0.5 version of minetest, anyway. A more recent version of geomoria is embedded in https://github.com/duane-r/flats, but it would be difficult to separate from the rest of the mod.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by FreeGamers » Fri Jul 12, 2019 04:09

Added this to my world and it worked fine.

It generated in the average range of -135 through -172
 

ShadMOrdre
Member
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA
GitHub: ShadMOrdre
In-game: shadmordre

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by ShadMOrdre » Fri Jul 12, 2019 06:41

I've also posted a fork, that enables the stairs to the surface, without the deep chasms. To my knowledge, this is the only change I've made, and this works with v5.0.

Here's my fork at github: https://github.com/ShadMOrdre/geomoria
MY MODS: lib_ecology lib_materials lib_clouds lib_node_shapes ---- Inspired By: Open Source Virtual World Simulator Opensimulator.
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by FreeGamers » Fri Jul 12, 2019 06:59

Nice to see someone forked and maintained this. I've been looking around it the last hour and tweaking goblins into it. Its a nice simple mod that doesn't add any extra unnecessary stuff too.

I wouldn't recommend anyone set goblin spawns to the top of the biome unless you want it to start raining goblins in some of the larger halls.

The stairs would be a nice touch.
 

User avatar
duane
Member
 
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 19:11
Location: Oklahoma City
GitHub: duane-r

Another Fork

by duane » Tue Oct 08, 2019 00:08

If anyone wants to see what I'm using now, it's in my experimental mapgen. It's basically the same code, without stairs to the surface, and you can define regions of geomoria more easily with the realms.conf file. They still have to be full chunks -- I tried to make partial chunks work, and it was a mess.

Geomoria is more or less the center-piece of my game these days. I've combined about five layers of dungeon with two cave realms so that it has lots of ruined areas and vertical access. The first thing I generally do in a game is dig down and start looking for treasure chests. (My Fun Tools has a treasure detector which helps a bit.) The random monsters keep me plenty busy, and I get lots of cotton for bags and decoration without having to farm it.

I'm considering adding vertical access to every geomorph. It doesn't always make sense, but it would be convenient.
Believe in people and you don't need to believe anything else.
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug

Re: [abandoned mod] Geomoria [geomoria]

by FreeGamers » Mon Nov 25, 2019 22:39

Was there a fork of this that had beds and basic default treasure?

Players keep telling me that they are coming across chests that have no slots and no items. So I would like to spruce up those aspects of this.
 

Previous

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests