[mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45
GitHub: Parasitoid

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by parasite » Tue Dec 26, 2017 15:13

sorcerykid wrote:This looks like a very promising mod :) I am seriously considering adapting this for use on JT2.

I'd long been debating whether to install travelnet elevators, but they have the disadvantage (as parasite mentioned), that users can instantly teleport to any height or depth in the world, which offers no challenge whatsoever. This might be just the solution I need. Thanks!


Hi!
If you are considering adding this great mod you will need to deal with bugs mentioned above, especially those with inactivity/motor replace. But I do not know how it act in a multiplayer (does this bug show up after server restart?). But at least one person above had some suggestion about what is the reason and what can be the cure for this. And as I remember in travelnet mods, player need at least two of elevators. Can`t just teleport whenever she or he wants. So first he or she need to go by own feet to some place high to put there lift-station to be able in future go there by elevator from lower place. But even that it is just easy anyway, not so cool like real elevator :)
Last edited by parasite on Tue Dec 26, 2017 15:46, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
AccidentallyRhine
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by AccidentallyRhine » Tue Dec 26, 2017 18:52

parasite wrote:I have just two questions:
A) why all stops/floors have some additional, default name except those given by the player?
B) what will happened when in the same time, in one shaft, a few players enter the elevators on different floors and start useing it in such that some will be going down, and some of them will be going up? (I guess, nothing wrong should happens, like carts do not crash when meet each other during rid on the same track, but I had no opportunity to test it in singleplayer).


A) The default labels represent the height of the floors.

B) The first person to select a floor gets to use it, all other players are ejected one block outside the elevator doors. Everyone else must wait for the first player's ride to finish before they can interact with the elevator.
 

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45
GitHub: Parasitoid

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by parasite » Tue Dec 26, 2017 20:03

Hi!
Thanks for reply!

AccidentallyRhine wrote:A) The default labels represent the height of the floors.

I noticed that. But why this label is still present after renaming by a player? I do not think all players want to have such labels there.
AccidentallyRhine wrote:B) The first person to select a floor gets to use it, all other players are ejected one block outside the elevator doors. Everyone else must wait for the first player's ride to finish before they can interact with the elevator.

Oh, that sounds interesting! This make it more realistic and also more funny: whoever first will be able to ride on!
 

User avatar
v-rob
Member
 
Posts: 685
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
Location: Right behind you.
GitHub: v-rob

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by v-rob » Tue Dec 26, 2017 22:40

Actually, the bug that I reported earlier doesn't seem to be a problem anymore. But, you might want to test it out yourself to see if its a problem after restarting.
 

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45
GitHub: Parasitoid

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by parasite » Thu Feb 15, 2018 22:47

Hi!
v-rob wrote:Actually, the bug that I reported earlier doesn't seem to be a problem anymore. But, you might want to test it out yourself to see if its a problem after restarting.

Actually, the bug with minetest not "remembering" where are located motor and elevator stops seems to be still a problem. I tested it and the mod failed after logoff. With new login player need to destroy old and place new motor to "unlock" data about motor and elevator coordinates. :( Sugested code changes do not work either :(( Come on, this is awesome mod, lets try another fix...

What I see is that the mod is creating two files in the 'world' folder:
- elevator
- elevator.tmp

Both are just simple text files but 'elevator.tmp' contain all the important data and 'elevator' just a few. When I copy the content of 'elevator.tmp' to the 'elevator' file, I do not need to replace motor after joining the game: evrything seems to be all right (if I will make new elevator in game I will need to copy one file into another again I guess).
 

shacknetisp
Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 15:27
GitHub: shacknetisp
IRC: behalebabo
In-game: beha

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by shacknetisp » Tue Sep 25, 2018 15:25

This problem of renaming is fixed now; saving will no longer use temporary files and will use mod storage instead of files when possible. I also merged the label fix PR.
 

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45
GitHub: Parasitoid

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by parasite » Thu Jan 03, 2019 16:53

shacknetisp wrote:This problem of renaming is fixed now; saving will no longer use temporary files and will use mod storage instead of files when possible. I also merged the label fix PR.

Oh I just found your post after few month :O But that is not important. Important is to say thanks to you. So, thanks a lot! That is great update, fantastic fix. This time elevators works as they should! Great job! It is also nice to see this mod on servers :)))
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by FreeGamers » Tue Nov 05, 2019 13:51

I found this mod by accident while searching on YouTube for another mod, I've added it to my server and really enjoy it.
"i showed u my source code, pls respond"
 

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
Location: The Netherlands
In-game: Miniontoby

Re: [mod] Realtime Elevators [elevator]

by Miniontoby » Sat Nov 09, 2019 15:53

I like this really, because it work very well
My English isn't very good because I'm Dutch ---- Check my mod "Doorbell"
 

Previous

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kilarin, MSN [Bot] and 2 guests