Page 3 of 4

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2019 14:48
by h-v-smacker
voxelproof wrote: Oh, now I see. It makes the mod more 'game-like' so to speak by extending (or rather creating) gameplay mechanics. And as I understand it's use isn't confined to the default nodes only, am I right? Anyhow, I'll have to check it by myself (when it's hopefully released :)) how it works. Thanks :)
If you mean "default nodes" as in "nodes from default mod", then it doesn't matter: as long as the facade shapes are registered for a given raw material node, no matter from what mod it might be, this machine will work with this material.

If you mean "default nodes" as in "shapes that come with facade mod", then of course if new shapes are added at some point in future, they'll need to be explicitly added to the machine's interface. But it's a matter of adding a couple lines, really. For now there are buttons for all 14 available shapes.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:59
by voxelproof
h-v-smacker wrote: If you mean "default nodes" as in "nodes from default mod", then it doesn't matter: as long as the facade shapes are registered for a given raw material node, no matter from what mod it might be, this machine will work with this material.

If you mean "default nodes" as in "shapes that come with facade mod", then of course if new shapes are added at some point in future, they'll need to be explicitly added to the machine's interface. But it's a matter of adding a couple lines, really. For now there are buttons for all 14 available shapes.
Now I have full clarity on the subject. Yet another incentive to spare some time for some building again 8D

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 19:39
by h-v-smacker
So I guess you know the columnia mod: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9892

It looks abandoned, but generally useful. So I borrowed some of the shapes (the license is the same for facades and columnia) and played around. Looks like columnia registered more shapes than necessary, so I boiled it down to 5 (6, if one wants a texture-matching top column piece, which is not really necessary as long as facades uses materials with textures that match themselves upside-down).

Image

Image

I would say it overall matches the shapes in facade rather nicely — "big brush stroke" decorative detail which nonetheless carries architectural expression.

https://github.com/h-v-smacker/facade/t ... nia_shapes

What do you think?

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 22:07
by TumeniNodes
Hmm I'll have to think on this. I love columnia and have used it for quite some time.
I don't believe columnia was so much "abandoned" as it was left just complete. ; )
It would fit nicely in with facade but, the only issue I think about is when users want to download and the number of nodes registered by individual mods.

I still plan to add more to facade as I come up with ideas and needs in building.
I am thinking columnia may be best remaining as it's own mod, and perhaps it can be adopted by someone else and even added to as well. (maybe I will even fork it, not sure yet)

But the number of nodes an individual mod registers is definitely something to take into serious consideration.
I realize that sounds ironic, given my username, but there it is.

I still have to try out the cnc machine you would like to get merged. It would also be nice to have others test it and comment in the PR any issues or praise, so I can better determine whether to merge or not.
There are so many mods now which use similar machines such as moreblocks and mymillworks.
Mychisle being forked and reworked to work with facade was great because it goes with stoneworking/carving, so not sure if adding yet another method within the same mod may be overkill.

Looking for thoughts from others on that topic.
But I do love and appreciate the ideas you have and the time you take to put them forward and to code them.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sat Jun 22, 2019 22:58
by h-v-smacker
1. If you are worried about concurrent use issues, I can easily make it so that the nodes are registered only when columnia is not present, and ignored otherwise. I can also make the machine produce columnia native shapes if columnia is present, or remove the buttons at all.

2. Facade doesn't actually introduce many nodes. Moreblocks introduces so many it's hard to compete, and then every mod that uses moreblocks adds on top of that. In contrast, facade only introduces ~200 (without darkage). I think your policy of using basic materials with good color-matching potential is a very good choice. And even with five more shapes, there will be enough space left in the current formspec (and then it can be easily made larger later).

3. I don't see a problem with other mods using such machines. In fact, I see it as a huge bonus. Familiarity with the principle is a huge perk, since a user has to basically use a machine and a screwdriver for all cases (also don't forget the digtron mod, which can place blocks according to a template, but cannot use tools). And truth be told, a workshop or a construction site looks really cool with all the machines together. I also have an old drilling stand 3d model somewhere around, but had never had a chance to use it for anything... A mod for making holes in blocks doesn't sound like a good idea.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 00:40
by TumeniNodes
h-v-smacker wrote:1. If you are worried about concurrent use issues, I can easily make it so that the nodes are registered only when columnia is not present, and ignored otherwise. I can also make the machine produce columnia native shapes if columnia is present, or remove the buttons at all.
With that additional feature, I am sold on the idea, as it addresses another concern I had.
Go for it, and test but please be sure to add this as a separate PR from the cnc machine.

Are you able to recruit any others to test these 2 PRs for you?

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sun Jun 23, 2019 01:53
by h-v-smacker
TumeniNodes wrote:
h-v-smacker wrote:1. If you are worried about concurrent use issues, I can easily make it so that the nodes are registered only when columnia is not present, and ignored otherwise. I can also make the machine produce columnia native shapes if columnia is present, or remove the buttons at all.
With that additional feature, I am sold on the idea, as it addresses another concern I had.
OK, I'll make it so that facade would register its own shapes in lieu of columnia and show the buttons in the machine's gui only when columnia is not present.

I also split init.lua into shapes and materials for convenience.

So far the result: https://github.com/h-v-smacker/facade/t ... nia_shapes
TumeniNodes wrote:Go for it, and test but please be sure to add this as a separate PR from the cnc machine.
Actually the branch with these changes has been branched off the branch where I introduced the shaper machine...
TumeniNodes wrote:Are you able to recruit any others to test these 2 PRs for you?
I don't think so... well, maybe one player.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2019 20:42
by TumeniNodes
Is there anyone able to test h-v-smacker's PR for us?

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 17:49
by h-v-smacker
I think given three weeks passed without any 3rd party input/testing, we can conclude only two people are seriously interested in this topic.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 18:08
by TumeniNodes
h-v-smacker wrote:I think given three weeks passed without any 3rd party input/testing, we can conclude only two people are seriously interested in this topic.
Actually, someone is trying it out for me, and possibly another. You've been very patient, which is appreciated, I just ask a little more of it.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:40
by azekill_DIABLO
h-v-smacker wrote:I think given three weeks passed without any 3rd party input/testing, we can conclude only two people are seriously interested in this topic.
Hey Don't forget me! I watch this topic daily!

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:46
by TumeniNodes
azekill_DIABLO wrote:Hey Don't forget me! I watch this topic daily!
azekill, have you tested out this cnc machine?
If so, could you let me know how you like it?

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 00:24
by twoelk
had been playing around with some nodes (the red blocks are those from facade) ...
Image

and I noticed some nodes I missed. Like corner pieces to make frames around wall openings ...
Image
or maybe something to make those cassete ceilings the ancients used.
Image
column bases didn't turn out to work as I had hoped

cool stuff anyways

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 00:44
by TumeniNodes
Aww twoelk, you're images are not showing for me.
So you were testing with the cnc PR then?
You like it?
I need people to let me know so i can merge it. ; )

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 02:38
by zing269
I played around with the cnc machine for a bit. I like it better than the chisel. I do think the button background color may need tweaked, I had a hard time seeing the shapes when I was using stone.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 03:56
by h-v-smacker
I'm afraid the background of buttons created by item_image_button cannot be altered.

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 09:27
by azekill_DIABLO
TumeniNodes wrote:azekill, have you tested out this cnc machine?
If so, could you let me know how you like it?
No don't tempt me! I'm doing a detoxification of minetest!
just kidding, I ddin't have time to try it, but I may try it one day or so, i'll tell you. I had already loved the previous versions of this mod!

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:05
by twoelk
oh, you mean
Spoiler
Image
yeah I played with that as well.
worked as expected. (only used mtg though)
just didn't fit the nice ancient themed building.
-which is my only tiny problem with the otherwise nice model

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:46
by TumeniNodes
haha, nice twoelk.
I do feel bad you made it stand in the corner though.
"My Mother made me stand in the corner once....
... Once."
(quote from the movie, Johnny Dangerously"

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 12:52
by TumeniNodes
Shaper machine, by h-v-smacker... merged!
PR link - https://github.com/TumeniNodes/facade/pull/12

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 13:47
by h-v-smacker
Nice.

I made a new PR for the columnia shapes support/introduction. We can switch over to that topic now )

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 02:19
by h-v-smacker
Any development so far?

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 04:21
by TumeniNodes
h-v-smacker wrote:Any development so far?
I apologize for that long wait.
https://github.com/TumeniNodes/facade/p ... 2589164918

I will update the OP as well as ContentDB some time tomorrow, I'm off to na-nights

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2022 15:31
by rabenkind
Hello!
I've made a new column. Also enhanced the shaper machine menu. If you like it use it.
The code is at https://github.com/rabenkind-new/facade

Here's a screenshot:
Frome left to right: only front rabbets, corner rabbets and last all around
Image

Some more screenshots:
Spoiler
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Greetings rabenkind

Re: [WIP][Mod]Facade[facade]

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2022 01:21
by kristovish
hello! I have installed this mod on my server and I can't find the machine facade. where can i find it or add it?