Page 1 of 1

[Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 03:49
by v-rob
Image

This extension for the default farming mod adds four new types of grains: oats, rye, barley, and rice. These all can be made into respective flour and bread. Barley seeds are found in normal grass, while oat, rye, and rice seeds are found in dry grass.

GitHub: https://github.com/v-rob/grains
Zip: https://github.com/v-rob/grains/archive/master.zip

License: MIT for code, CC BY 3.0 for textures.

Depends:
default, farming

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 07:58
by Chibi ghost
I like this does it work with ten+'s farming redo

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 08:08
by cx384
Nice mod!
You could add spelt (dinkel) and rice.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:57
by azekill_DIABLO
Yeah, rice would be cool.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 13:15
by Chem871
Einkorn! Buckwheat! Spelt! I know from experience that einkorn bread tastes scrumptious :P

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 17:24
by v-rob
Chibi ghost wrote:I like this does it work with ten+'s farming redo
Only thing it could conflict with is the barley, if that's the farming mod that gives you it.

I like the idea of rice. I'll add it.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 17:57
by Chibi ghost
is there a way to use redo's barley for recipes if redo is present in the game
thus removing potential mod conflict
sorry if what say is strange

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 20:54
by v-rob
Chibi ghost wrote:is there a way to use redo's barley for recipes if redo is present in the game
thus removing potential mod conflict
sorry if what say is strange
Actually, this is planned already.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 20:05
by Chem871
Could you make new textures for the rye, barley, and oats seeds, flour, bread, and plants?

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 15:56
by Chibi ghost
any news on the development of this mod pls

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 21:13
by v-rob
Chibi ghost wrote:any news on the development of this mod pls
Sorry! I didn't post the update I made. Rice has been added.

I can't remove the barley if farming_redo is enable without ruining the mod. Farming_redo is technically called "farming", so I would always have barley disabled because of the default farming mod. This mod won't actually conflict with farming redo. All it will do is make two different versions of barley.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 22:04
by Chem871
Maybe rename your barley to a different kind of wheat. Could you add ricecakes? :P

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 00:31
by Chibi ghost
https://www.thespruce.com/what-are-whole-grains-3376950
had a lookie and Farro might be an option

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 06:04
by Napiophelios
check out PixelBox texture pack by Gambit ( License: WTFPL)
It has some nice textures for the stages of rice.
You are already using variants of his work, so they should fit nicely :)

EDIT: sorry wrong link. You need PixelBox Reloaded

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:01
by Chibi ghost
silly question but if I adjust the code plus image tag and change every reference to the word barly to another grain name would this mod still work?

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 16:01
by ManElevation
nice! +1

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 16:44
by Chem871
Chibi ghost, I think that would work, but you would have to change ALL barley plants/bread/flour etc to something new.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 23:02
by Chibi ghost
yes I worked that out if I didn't like or see the potential of this mod I wouldn't do the work
or see a way to make it work for me
thank you very much
yey seems to work just fine with my minor rewrite and hopefully, very soon I will be
eating my first loaf of farro bread
just rearanging the farm to make room for the new crops

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2017 16:21
by Chibi ghost
is me or the growing times are broken on this mod
I can't seem to get the grains to grow past stage one
Image
Image

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 21:24
by casp3r
After 3 day/night cycles i'm comfirm :)
i'm work on it cause i
want it

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Wed Nov 29, 2017 22:10
by Chibi ghost
I had this running for more than 1 minetest week and the crop stayed at stage one before I gave up removed the mod and repurposed the spare land

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 18:22
by azekill_DIABLO
In farming you can have hard times :D

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 20:28
by Chem871
V-rob, just look into how Tenplus1 coded his growing stages.

Re: [Mod] Grains [grains]

Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 21:28
by TenPlus1
Note: If a plant is registered with default farming mod then it will automatically work with farming redo as well :)