Page 1 of 3

[Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 14:38
by TalkLounge
Image

What's that?
Plot System generates these plots. Every plot can be owned by a player, but players can play together too. It's like citybuild in minecraft.

How to edit config?
To edit the config there are some settings for the minetest.conf:
Spoiler
Image

Code: Select all

plot_system_plotposy = 10000 #On which y coordinate the plots should be generated
plot_system_plotwidth = 32 #The plot length
plot_system_plotheight = 32 #How deep the plots should be
plot_system_plotairheight = 32 #How high the plots should be
plot_system_plotblock = default:dirt #What's the block under the plot surface
plot_system_plotblocktop = default:dirt_with_grass #What's the plot surface
plot_system_plotborder = stairs:slab_stonebrick #What block the border should be
plot_system_pathwidth = 3 #How wide the path should be
plot_system_pathblock = default:wood #What block the path should be
plot_system_plotsperplayer = 1 #How many plots can be owned by a player
Spoiler
Image

Code: Select all

plot_system_plotposy = 20000 #On which y coordinate the plots should be generated
plot_system_plotwidth = 20 #The plot length
plot_system_plotheight = 32 #How deep the plots should be
plot_system_plotairheight = 32 #How high the plots should be
plot_system_plotblock = default:dirt #What's the block under the plot surface
plot_system_plotblocktop = default:dirt_with_grass #What's the plot surface
plot_system_plotborder = stairs:slab_steelblock #What block the border should be
plot_system_pathwidth = 5 #How wide the path should be
plot_system_pathblock = default:aspen_wood #What block the path should be
plot_system_plotsperplayer = 5 #How many plots can be owned by a player
Protection
Image
Image

Dependencies
default
stairs

Download
Download
Browse on Github

License
CC BY-NC 3.0

Changelog
05.04.2018: Released.
30.07.2018(v2.0): Fix some little imperfections
28.03.2021(v3.0): Fix snow biome generation and make mod minetest 5.x compatible

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 14:40
by LoweGaming
Cool

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 15:39
by twoelk
neat

I wonder wether it can be combined with some ideas from the basic_layout generator

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 18:42
by hajo
TalkLounge wrote:Minecraft like plot system
Can you please describe what it does, for people who don't know MC ?

Also, some comments on the config-files would be nice.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 07:43
by Wolfshippie
Durchrasten and Totalbrutal server clones for minetest are incoming?
(german youtube insider :p)

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 07:54
by Wolfshippie
hajo wrote:
TalkLounge wrote:Minecraft like plot system
Can you please describe what it does, for people who don't know MC ?
On the typical MC Citybuild servers you can "rent" a plot of land (the squares at the screenshot in the main post), on which only the owner of it can build. So every player has his own little piece of land.
(@TalkLounge: Maybe there will be a possibility to get a second or more plots if needed and the admin accepts to merge them together?)

Usually on the most MC servers there's a special area for farming ressources like wood, stone, coal, iron and other stuff that you can use for building on the plot.

It's similar to the concept of Skyblock.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 20:19
by BirgitLachner
Quite interessting for school. I'll add it to the mod list for teachers.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Wed May 30, 2018 10:13
by Festus1965
Yes our TL,
that what we was talking long time ago about my arangement on Server "Wildes Land" (that world is back om "Celines Wildes Thailand"), where I contructed a City with plots, each 64*64 Nodes, to give "rent" (haha yes) to thoose who are willing to build in the town ..., I did an new area there with more then 100 plotrs, enough for thoose who are asking and talking and willing
Outside on the free gaming and protection zone I only protrect to crossing main roads through the Span to make sure, the Spawn is not blocked to reach easier ...

So good Idea, maybe test it, ... but remember sure.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 14:29
by Fixer
This will be useful for some creative servers, thank you!

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 20:31
by Sokomine
Looks very good. Reminds me of the old MC creative server I used to play on. It didn't have protection as that wasn't possible there (one of the reasons why I searched for an alternative and ended up with MT).

Perhaps moderators could take a look at plots that are declared "finished" and - if the player made good use of them - grant the player the right to get another protected plot.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 19:40
by Chiantos
Deleted message

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 20:32
by Phoenixflo44
You must teleport to the height of 10000.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 20:37
by TalkLounge
Thanks for the mail. But its even better to reply here in the forum :)

The minetest 0.4.16 is compatible ?
Yep, should be 0.4.16+
Édit : I use actually à area mods for protect, problem i have not the Time for moderate all Time Vandales, Grieffers and stupid players who only connect for destroy all area show not protect ... I think'disabled interract défaut, this is not à solution. Because, players with respect, can't so interract ... I don't understand players who connect only for destroy all ... Grmpfff.
There is a own protection system for the plots included.


From Mail:
Because, i have use your minetest.conf
A few words how this plot system works without commands in the minetest.conf:
The plots will be only generated in new regions!
The plots will be generated on y = 10000(To go there: /teleport 0 10000 0)(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotposy)
The plots will have a size of 32x32(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotwidth)
The plots will have a thickness of 32(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotheight)
Above the plots will be a thickness of 32 with air, where you can build(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotairheight)
The plots will be filled with default:dirt(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotblock)
The top layer of the plot will be default:dirt_with_grass(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotblocktop)
Every plot will be surrounded with stairs:slab_stonebrick(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotborder)
On every corner you can righclick the border and own this as your plot.
The path between the plots will be 3(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_pathwidth)
The path will be default:wood(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_pathblock)
Every player is allowed to own one plot(minetest.conf setting: plot_system_plotsperplayer)
Two questions, i devellop à creative Subgame, Can i use this mod ?
Of Course you can. Just follow the license: LGPL v2.1+

Edit: Phoenixflo44 was faster than me xd

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 08:19
by Chiantos
Deleted message

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 16:35
by Chiantos
Deleted message

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 16:40
by TalkLounge
I tested my mod again with the default settings(No commands in minetest.conf) and it worked.

Tested with Minetest 0.4.16 & Computer with Windows 10

Maybe your mobile doesnt have enough performance to generate these right...

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 16:45
by Chiantos
Deleted message

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 16:52
by TalkLounge
Have you test in Linux ? Ubuntu, debian or others ?
Tested just now with Linux Mint. Works too.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 17:03
by Chiantos
Deleted message

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 17:09
by TalkLounge
I think the problem is that your mobile doesnt have enough resources to handle the generation. Because there is no other reason why you have problems and I dont have problems. And I cant test it because I dont have Android.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Thu Jul 05, 2018 17:56
by Phoenixflo44
Can you do so if you have 4 plots that become a big one, for example? That means they connect.

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 02:15
by luizsab
I didn't understand how to use. Someone can help me?

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 06:41
by TalkLounge
Just insert the mod into your mods folder and then enter this command ingame: /teleport 0 10000 0

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 14:57
by luizsab
I get it, but sometimes the game close suddently. Is it possible to plot at level world?

Re: [Mod] Minecraft Citybuild [plot_system]

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 14:59
by TalkLounge
You mean, that the plot will be generated at y = 0?
Add this to your minetest.conf: plot_system_plotposy = 0