Page 2 of 2

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Sat Jun 29, 2019 11:44
by Red_King_Cyclops
Pyrollo wrote:
Red_King_Cyclops wrote:There isn't a good reason why I am spawning in stone. The mapgen is singlenode, the version is 5.0.1, and the game is minetest_game. I use noclip and fly to try to escape the stone, but the stone seems to fill the entire map.


Can you :
- post coordinates where you spawn;
- post the map seed;

Also, try to teleport at 0 500 0, you should be in air. If not, this may be a problem with installation.

I am using the seed "test". I spawn at 0.0 -0.5 -1.0. I teleported to 0 500 0 but I was still in the stone. The skybox still works. I uninstalled cratermg and reinstalled it, but that didn't work either.

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 15:51
by juli
which version of minetest does it need? i have similar problems with the mapgen atm. at first it said:
Code: Select all
2019-07-04 17:47:27: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: Lua: finishGenRuntime error from mod 'cratermg' in callback environment_OnGenerated(): /home//.minetest/mods/cratermg/mapgen.lua:230: bad argument #1 to 'random' (interval is empty)
2019-07-04 17:47:27: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-07-04 17:47:27: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'random'
2019-07-04 17:47:27: ERROR[Main]:    /home//.minetest/mods/cratermg/mapgen.lua:230: in function 'get_craters_list'
2019-07-04 17:47:27: ERROR[Main]:    /home//.minetest/mods/cratermg/mapgen.lua:326: in function '?'
2019-07-04 17:47:27: ERROR[Main]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:419: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:399>


my Minetest version is 5.0.1

i changed the debristotalchance then to 1 idk, that was just a shot in the blue, but then the full map was filled with stone.
here is my mapmeta:
Code: Select all
mg_biome_np_humidity_blend = {
   flags = defaults
   lacunarity = 2
   offset = 0
   scale = 1.5
   spread = (8,8,8)
   seed = 90003
   octaves = 2
   persistence = 1
}
mg_biome_np_humidity = {
   flags = defaults
   lacunarity = 2
   offset = 50
   scale = 50
   spread = (1000,1000,1000)
   seed = 842
   octaves = 3
   persistence = 0.5
}
mg_biome_np_heat_blend = {
   flags = defaults
   lacunarity = 2
   offset = 0
   scale = 1.5
   spread = (8,8,8)
   seed = 13
   octaves = 2
   persistence = 1
}
mg_biome_np_heat = {
   flags = defaults
   lacunarity = 2
   offset = 50
   scale = 50
   spread = (1000,1000,1000)
   seed = 5349
   octaves = 3
   persistence = 0.5
}
seed = 0
water_level = 1
mapgen_limit = 31000
mg_name = singlenode
chunksize = 5
mg_flags = caves, dungeons, light, decorations, biomes
[end_of_params]


Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 19:18
by Pyrollo
Ok, I found the reason why it worked for me... the problem is present only when technic is not enabled.

So the "stone everywhere" issue is fixed.

Juli, I use MT 5.0.1 but I don't have this 'random' error. Can you test again with last commit ?

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 20:08
by Lone_Wolf
The random error has something to do with the numbers being negative/too large IIRC. Not very familiar with how it works but it's a pain

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 20:32
by Red_King_Cyclops
Pyrollo wrote:Ok, I found the reason why it worked for me... the problem is present only when technic is not enabled.

So the "stone everywhere" issue is fixed.

Juli, I use MT 5.0.1 but I don't have this 'random' error. Can you test again with last commit ?

Technic is a dependency?

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 20:33
by Pyrollo
Yes an optional one, for minerals.

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 08:15
by juli
Now it works well!
Image

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 08:17
by juli
Red_King_Cyclops wrote:
Pyrollo wrote:Ok, I found the reason why it worked for me... the problem is present only when technic is not enabled.

So the "stone everywhere" issue is fixed.

Juli, I use MT 5.0.1 but I don't have this 'random' error. Can you test again with last commit ?

Technic is a dependency?

it seems not anymore ;)

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 08:32
by Pyrollo
juli wrote:Now it works well!


Good !!

Don't forget it is only a mapgen, not a game. I mean I'm not sure at all it is playable as is. It should be integrated in some other game (like mars survival or something like that).

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 14:45
by juli
yes i know ... i know marssurvive has some issues but maybe i'll take some time to fix some things or so.
But a question: Can i find ores in underground if i use this mapgen? It looks not that there are no caves yet, but that would be maybe no Problem ...

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 14:48
by Pyrollo
Yes you should be able.

There are no caves, only kind of cracks, which becomes larger if you go deeper.

Ores are not scattered but present in vast volumes. There are also vast volumes of stone without any ore.

The idea behind that is, if you have technology to get on another planet, then you have technology to do large scale mining. And so, the game is to find interesting ore fields and exploit them.

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 16:22
by juli
that sounds pretty nice (i think that is just more realistic then normal ores and caves)! go one with this nice work :)
Just one idea which came in my mind: maybe you can add Canyons if u have much time?
like this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valles_Marineris
Image
And what i have tested once with the normal mars game was, adding some different sand colors (like biomes), then the landscape looks more interessting. But that are just my ideas, so if u don't like them its no Problem :)

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 00:59
by Red_King_Cyclops
Earlier, this mod did not work for me because I did not have technic. Now that technic is optional, I am able to use this mod. I walked around the surface and so far the mod is immersive and cool.

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [experimental] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2019 15:32
by Pyrollo
Just to remember, I have to integrate this mod to API listed here : An incomplete list of dimension mods

Removing the [experimental] tag as the mapgen has become stable.

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2019 05:20
by voxelproof
Another use for it in standard mapgens could be replacing ugly shaping of terrain by TNT blasts with craters created by your mod. Excellent work btw.

Re: [mod] Crater MG [cratermg] [mapgen]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2020 06:57
by juli
can you add the groups
stone = 1 to cratermg:stone
and
stone = 2 to cratermg:sediment
like default:stone and default:cobble has?
Then it would be more simple to craft things using it