[Mod] Hexagonal* Prisms [hex]

Schnux
GitHub: Schnux2

[Mod] Hexagonal* Prisms [hex]

by Schnux » Post

I once read in the Minetest modding book that before releasing a mod, one should think about whether it is useful. This mod isn't.
But it is fun to play with it.

* Technically, they are not hexagonal, but dodecagonal, but I still prefer this name because it just sounds better and seems easier to imagine.

Since I am totally new to this forum, I may introduce myself, but there is not very much to say. As you will see when you read further, my largest motivation for playing Minetest is that I have way too much free time. I am an unskilled programmer and a horrible texture designer. English is not my mother tongue, please correct me if I make mistakes.

Presenting...

hex (version 0.1)! (Imagine a dramatic fanfare here.)

description.txt says "This mod adds prisms with a hexagonal base area which behave similar to nodes." And that's it, basically.
I got a bit bored by all those cubes, so I added prisms. They are entities, technically, and "similar to nodes" is an exaggeration (no ABMs, no VoxelManip, no digging animation), but you can build houses out of them - if Minetest doesn't decide that there are too much entities in some area and removes all of them.
This mod adds a simple API described in api.txt for adding your own prisms and already registers two prisms: Basalt and a Basalt slab.

License:
The parts of the code which were written by me, Schnux: LGPL 2.1.
I copied and adjusted some lines from the "carts" and "stairs" mod from Minetest Game, this is documented in the readme.
Media, all by myself: CC BY-SA 3.0.

How to install:
Download and decompress the folder which is attached to this post, if necessary, rename it to "hex" (that is how it should already be called), and put it into the "mods" subfolder of your Minetest folder. (If you only want this to be used in a single world, place the folder in worldmods/ in your world directory.)