[MOD] Stargate mod [StarGate]

Post Reply
User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

[MOD] Stargate mod [StarGate]

by SegFault22 » Post

Hello everyone! I have just began work on a mod, that allows the player to make ''gates'' that can be used to teleport between ''gates'' in different locations. As of now, the coordinates that the player teleports to on use of the gates has to be set in the init.lua, but later I may be able to make a command to ID the coordinates of a stargate, save them to a file, and read/use them each time a stargate is used.
But, the number of gates is currently limited to 2, and you have to ''hit'' a certain block to use the gate. Later, I may be able to modify this to let you walk through the gate to go to the other gate, but the extent of my work relies on support from other people, like you, sitting there reading about this mod I am working on.
----------------------------------------------------------------
DOWNLOADS
v0.3 (LATEST)
v0.2
v0.1

And, some snapshots (and yes, the gate blocks do generate light, because they are powered by NAQUEDA)
Image
Image

now you can craft gate blocks :D
recipe:

MSM
SNS
MSM
M = Mese
S = Steel Block
N = Naqueda Crystal
produces ONE gate block.
Note that naqueda is very rare, but each ore-piece mined gives 4 crystals

What I plan on adding later:

-DHD (stargate dialing device, lets you go to different stargates)
-walk-in function (walk through the gate, instead of hitting it)
-/setgate command (MAYBE) that lets you set the teleport-to coordinates of a gate, instead of editing the INIT.lua file every time you move/add a gate
-room for more gates
----------------------------------------------------------------
With this mod, we may be able to implement an inter-planetary transit system - using a special stargate that tells MINETEST to dump the loaded chunks of the map, and load a different map from the server. Even a ''transit hub'' where you can recycle stuff you don't want/need, and trade stuff with people, and find a list of known stargate IDs and where they lead to.
This would revolutionize Minetest, and make Notch cringe as thousands of users flock to minetest to play this awesome game, and build their own home and cities and make the Minetest Universe bigger :D
----------------------------------------------------------------
As I said before, the development of this mod depends on support from people like you :D
Last edited by SegFault22 on Fri Jun 22, 2012 08:02, edited 1 time in total.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

===UPDATE===
Latest version: 0.3
Stuff added in 0.2 & 0.3:
-Gate blocks
-Naqueda crystal ore
-Naqueda crystals
-crafting recipe for gate blocks
Additional info 1:
-Naqueda crystals in ore form are VERY rare, only found below -475, but each piece mined gives 4 naqueda crystals (so, mine 4 pieces to get enough naqueda for enough gate pieces for one gate)
Additional info 2:
-Gate blocks produce light, and so do naqueda crystals (in ore-form only)
Additional info 3:
-Read the topic post for more information.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

Okay, as of now, I am stuck about how to set up the coordinates and all without editing init.lua - it will probably have to work like a sign does to read/edit data (however that works) and tell the game where to teleport the player...I may be able to come up with something, but I will still (probably) need help with getting minetest to read the data and use that data as the coordinates for teleporting.
I will eventually add a system to let the administrator, or someone with special privs, give each stargate an ID that can be input in the DHD to ''connect'' to another gate, and will stay connected to that gate only, until the DHD is reset, or until the 1-minute timer expires (this feature will probably be installed in the first stable 1.0)
Thank you all for your support, hopefully this won't turn into another dead-end project.
Last edited by SegFault22 on Fri Jun 22, 2012 08:06, edited 1 time in total.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Great Max!

2 questions:
- Aren't there more teleporters being developed/already developed now? Maybe you could work together. (take alsoa a look at mt1.gameboom.net)
- Is it the same naqueda as in the morestuff-mod? --> "found in large amounts below -500; used to make Naqueda reactors"

I find the idea of a stargate hub very interesting. An extra dimension would be if people could 'jump' from one server to another with their stuff...
But hey, I'm not hampered by any programming knowledge :-)

User avatar
InfinityProject
Member
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 00:52
Location: World of Infinity, US

by InfinityProject » Post

Ha it took me to the nether! Great mod!

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

Topywo: no, the naqueda in my Morestuff mod is lower-grade, like the by-product of naqueda crystals after they got superheated in the core of Earth to about 25000*F
Thank you both for your support :D
Now to get the DHD and all working...
EDIT: if I can get help with developing a way to ''move'' to different maps in a server via stargate, it wound not make sense to connect to different servers, because you would only have the stuff from that server, not the stuff from the server you came from.
But, don't worry, it may be possible for Celeron55 to create a ''master server'' that stores data of everything you have in your inventory, your HP and all, so when you connect to ANY server, that server asks the ''master server'' for your inventory, and the ''master server'' loads the data into the server, and tells your client what you have (basically, you have the same stuff on every server, and you can connect to any server and take your stuff with you - and note that this is just an idea)
:D
Last edited by SegFault22 on Fri Jun 22, 2012 21:55, edited 1 time in total.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

Okay, I'm trying to set-up the stargate to teleport players when they are inside the ''event horizon'' but it isn't working. Here's the code I have for Stargate A, can someone please help me find what I'm doing wrong?

Code: Select all

minetest.register_abm(function(p, node, user)
    {nodenames = {"stargate:event_horizon"},
    interval = 1.0,
    chance = 1,
    action = function(pos, node, active_player_count, active_player_count_wider)
        local objs = minetest.env:get_players_inside_radius(pos, 2)
        if objs[1]==nil then
    local name = user:get_player_name()
--top row
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x, y = p.y + 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x + 1, y = p.y + 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x - 1, y = p.y + 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then    
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x + 2, y = p.y + 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x - 2, y = p.y + 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
--middle row
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x + 2, y = p.y, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then    
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x - 2, y = p.y, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x + 2, y = p.y + 1, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x + 2, y = p.y - 1, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x - 2, y = p.y + 1, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x - 2, y = p.y - 1, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
--bottom row
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x + 1, y = p.y - 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x - 1, y = p.y - 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    if minetest.env:get_node({x = p.x, y = p.y - 2, z = p.z}).name == "stargate:gateblock" then
    pos_sur = p
    minetest.chat_send_player(name, "Teleporting to stargate B...")
-- Set the coordinates of stargate B here (or where you want people to teleport to on using stargate B)
    user:setpos({x = pos_sur.x - 1, y = -20000, z = pos_sur.z + 1})
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end
end)
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
jpenguin
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 00:19

by jpenguin » Post

Looks great, now we could really use a multiword plugin

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

I'm working on it, but this is still under development - I haven't even set up the walk-through-the-gate teleport function, OR metadata for the teleport coordinates and the ID of a gate when it's DHD is placed. It's got a long way to go.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
czahrte
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 05:00
Location: Kentucky, USA

by czahrte » Post

what about using the pointed_thing_under function along with a check to see if the player is directly in front of the stargate
Something like this but in LUA:

IF pointed_thing_under = stargate:event_horizon AND Player_position = (X1,Y1,Z1 OR X2,Y2,Z2 OR X3,Y3,Z3 {Player is directly in front of stargate})
THEN set Player_position = X,Y,Z {Destination Gate}
END

I dont know LUA programming yet ( i'm trying to learn ) but maybe this could help trigger the teleport

Or possibly a non-flowing liquid that triggers the teleport when entered (like Lava but it teleports the player instead of damaging them)
Benson... Dear Benson... you are so mercifully free of the ravages of intelligence. - Evil
Do or Do not, there is no 'try' - Yoda
if it's broke, hit it with a hammer. if that don't fix it, get a bigger hammer. - Me

User avatar
LolManKuba
Member
Posts: 939
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 22:36
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

by LolManKuba » Post

Segfault make it so whenever you put all the stuff that u need to craft, you can craft 2 of them.

User avatar
Mineing Master
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 18:04
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

by Mineing Master » Post

I downloaded the latest file ad I exstracted the files but the pictures didn't come out. Please healp

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

by SegFault22 » Post

what about using the pointed_thing_under function along with a check to see if the player is directly in front of the stargate
Something like this but in LUA:
IF pointed_thing_under = stargate:event_horizon AND Player_position = (X1,Y1,Z1 OR X2,Y2,Z2 OR X3,Y3,Z3 {Player is directly in front of stargate})
THEN set Player_position = X,Y,Z {Destination Gate}
END
I dont know LUA programming yet ( i'm trying to learn ) but maybe this could help trigger the teleport
This might be a start, but I have a better idea:
Or possibly a non-flowing liquid that triggers the teleport when entered (like Lava but it teleports the player instead of damaging them)
In all of the stargate episodes/movies, the ''event horizon'' looks like thick, metallic water. Maybe this can be how this gate will work, too...
I'll get it working hopefully, and thank you for the idea
Segfault make it so whenever you put all the stuff that u need to craft, you can craft 2 of them.
I don't even know if I am going to keep the ''naqueda'' ore in the final release, it may all be based off a /giveme system to keep attackers from making a stargate and going to wherever they wish. So crafting may be removed too. I will not completely remove the stuff, I will just deactivate the lines that make the ores generate and make it possible to craft stuff, so that it may be activated later.
I downloaded the latest file ad I exstracted the files but the pictures didn't come out. Please healp
Did you extract the entire contents of the file to the ''minetest'' folder in the ''mods'' folder? Make sure that there is a folder for ''textures'' and it has the textures, this may be the issue.
Resources are abundant; only money is scarce. People should not have to work hard and remain poor just to pay for the needs of survival.
Society can thrive without money - but only if productive members of society are rewarded for being productive.

User avatar
Death Dealer
Member
Posts: 1379
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 18:46
Location: Limbo
Contact:

by Death Dealer » Post

nice idea:D look into pressure plates to get the walk in teleport thing working.
Keep calm and code python^_^

Draco

by Draco » Post

I can't download the Stargate mod, it says the file is deleted.

User avatar
InfinityProject
Member
Posts: 1009
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 00:52
Location: World of Infinity, US

by InfinityProject » Post

This mod is very old and I believe to be abandoned.

User avatar
prof-turbo
Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 17:02
Location: MinetestForFun or Teeworlds master server list

by prof-turbo » Post

Nice textures !
You should take a look at http://www.xorhub.com

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

According to the README.txt this is version 0.3 (just a reupload, no changes made)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/654 ... argate.zip

If someone needs another format than .zip, just ask.

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

Technic has a much better stargate, but it doesn't seem to have a recipe.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
Piezo_
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 21:36
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug
Location: (x,y,z)

Re: [MOD] Stargate mod [StarGate]

by Piezo_ » Post

Edit: never mind, wrong mod
while (true) { suffer(); }

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Skamiz Kazzarch and 9 guests