[mod] monitoring

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

[mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Mon May 13, 2019 18:46


Minetest monitoring mod

Monitoring mod for minetest server owners

Features

Monitors the following metrics:
  • Lag (max,min,avg)
  • Player count
  • Craft/Dig/Place nodes
  • Protection calls
  • ABM/LBM/Nodetimer calls and timings
  • Lua memory
  • Custom metrics support (gauge,counter,histogram)
  • Prometheus export
  • Mod integrations (advtrains, mesecons, technic, etc)
  • ...many more

Screenshots

Lag stats
Image

Craft stats
Image

Documentation / Download
See: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/monitoring

Hosted
A hosted public monitoring server is available under: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=22473


Links


Mod integrations

  • advtrains
  • mesecons
  • technic
  • digtron
  • pipeworks


License

MIT
Last edited by BuckarooBanzay on Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:14, edited 3 times in total.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [mod] monitoring

by texmex » Mon May 13, 2019 19:15

This is solid work, thank you for making it! I wonder, is the the cumulative data saved in Minetest for possible access from other mods?

Welcome to Minetest Land btw :)
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Mon May 13, 2019 19:19

texmex wrote:This is solid work, thank you for making it! I wonder, is the the cumulative data saved in Minetest for possible access from other mods?

Welcome to Minetest Land btw :)


A current snapshot of the data is stored in a global monitoring.metrics but the "cumulative" (historic) data is not saved locally, that gets posted to the monitoring server.
A local history of monitoring data would be overkill for a mod :/

What is your relation to minetest-land? I think i heard that around here somewhere and saw the open subdomain on opendns...
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [mod] monitoring

by texmex » Mon May 13, 2019 20:42

The reason for me asking was that I think some of the data might also be used in mods providing RPG elements for characters in a game. But that is probably best left to a mod dedicated to fetching whatever data is needed. Overkill and out of scope. :D

I’m a fellow inhabitant of the Land, you’ll find my island at git.minetest.land. We should form a services alliance, for funs.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Thu Nov 14, 2019 09:32

I did it, and works on minetest.land
but what is this ? coming from
Code: Select all
[monitoring] globalstep took 265318 us in mod *builtin*

? profiler ? is one of the builtin mods there ...
and coming about every 30 min, as the peak on your server, and I have that message but no peak.
Last edited by Festus1965 on Sun Nov 17, 2019 00:37, edited 1 time in total.
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:04

To whoever owns "CitySim":
Your mesecons are out of control:

Image

And a constant lag of 1 second is not normal with no-one online!

I suggest to switch to the latest release: https://github.com/minetest-mods/mesecons/
and switch on the lightweight interrupt setting:

Code: Select all
luacontroller_lightweight_interrupts = true


And maybe even remove the mesecons actionqueue between a restart


EDIT: pipeworks could use a flush too ;) https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/B37I ... ce=CitySim
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Sun Nov 17, 2019 09:39

quite often this:
Code: Select all
2019-11-17 16:18:30: ERROR[CurlFetch]: https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/minetest.one not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 100)
2019-11-17 16:18:35: ERROR[CurlFetch]: https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/minetest.one not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 0)
2019-11-17 16:18:40: ERROR[CurlFetch]: https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/minetest.one not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 100)

and at first profiler 10% of all mts CPU work ... going ahead.

And this also hits through to the server with a lag peak of 836ms where 150ms is avg.
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Fri Nov 22, 2019 03:47

Hi,
got the test server in also, playing around there with changes first ... and took monitoring in.

At the Overview / AVG lag gauge - I think can take away the decimal, as
* a .5 or.3 doenst make any big sence as most lag is over 100 (mean show less then 1 % changes ...)
* the first digit of 100 is then covered under the gauge left ...
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Fri Nov 22, 2019 07:06

Festus1965 wrote:Hi,
got the test server in also, playing around there with changes first ... and took monitoring in.

At the Overview / AVG lag gauge - I think can take away the decimal, as
* a .5 or.3 doenst make any big sence as most lag is over 100 (mean show less then 1 % changes ...)
* the first digit of 100 is then covered under the gauge left ...


Fixed, thanks. ;)
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Fri Nov 22, 2019 09:34

BuckarooBanzay wrote:Fixed, thanks. ;)

Ups, now I know where the decimal WAS maybe good. When lag is over 1 s, but never mind, as it can still be seen at the graphs, and over 1 s it isn't anymore real important about how much exactly.
(Seen at pandorabox often hihi)

So, if decimal IS also important, maybe the ms over the number, then there is more place for the diggits.
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
Location: Thailand - Chiang Mai (+5-6h to MEZ)
In-game: Thomas Explorer

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Sat Dec 07, 2019 10:59

Code: Select all
..
2019-12-07 12:50:21: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 75530 us in mod biome_lib
..
2019-12-07 13:59:25: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 77141 us in mod mesecons
..
How to read ? monitoring it self need so/too long, or the mod named ? (By far not the first and only time this happen)
Server: still up, see some gamer - but there is a new 1st important thread "climate change" for me. Something I know since 1992 - had seen the melting glacier in Switzerland.
 

BuckarooBanzay
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: thomasrudin-mt
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:53

Festus1965 wrote:
Code: Select all
..
2019-12-07 12:50:21: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 75530 us in mod biome_lib
..
2019-12-07 13:59:25: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 77141 us in mod mesecons
..
How to read ? monitoring it self need so/too long, or the mod named ? (By far not the first and only time this happen)


This is a generic warning (see: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... ep.lua#L37)
It is set to pop up if a globalstep takes over 75 ms, i think i need to make this optional or bump the threshold, it may be a bit too noisy on busy servers...
 


Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests