[mod] monitoring

Post Reply
User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

[mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post


Minetest monitoring mod

Monitoring mod for minetest server owners

Features

Monitors the following metrics:
  • Lag (max,min,avg)
  • Player count
  • Craft/Dig/Place nodes
  • Protection calls
  • ABM/LBM/Nodetimer calls and timings
  • Lua memory
  • Custom metrics support (gauge,counter,histogram)
  • Prometheus export
  • Mod integrations (advtrains, mesecons, technic, etc)
  • ...many more
Screenshots

Lag stats
Image

Craft stats
Image

Documentation / Download
See: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/monitoring

Hosted
A hosted public monitoring server is available under: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=22473


Links
Mod integrations
  • advtrains
  • mesecons
  • technic
  • digtron
  • pipeworks

License

MIT
Last edited by BuckarooBanzay on Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:14, edited 3 times in total.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1753
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [mod] monitoring

by texmex » Post

This is solid work, thank you for making it! I wonder, is the the cumulative data saved in Minetest for possible access from other mods?

Welcome to Minetest Land btw :)

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

texmex wrote:This is solid work, thank you for making it! I wonder, is the the cumulative data saved in Minetest for possible access from other mods?

Welcome to Minetest Land btw :)
A current snapshot of the data is stored in a global monitoring.metrics but the "cumulative" (historic) data is not saved locally, that gets posted to the monitoring server.
A local history of monitoring data would be overkill for a mod :/

What is your relation to minetest-land? I think i heard that around here somewhere and saw the open subdomain on opendns...
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1753
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [mod] monitoring

by texmex » Post

The reason for me asking was that I think some of the data might also be used in mods providing RPG elements for characters in a game. But that is probably best left to a mod dedicated to fetching whatever data is needed. Overkill and out of scope. :D

I’m a fellow inhabitant of the Land, you’ll find my island at git.minetest.land. We should form a services alliance, for funs.

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Post

I did it, and works on minetest.land
but what is this ? coming from

Code: Select all

[monitoring] globalstep took 265318 us in mod *builtin*
? profiler ? is one of the builtin mods there ...
and coming about every 30 min, as the peak on your server, and I have that message but no peak.
Last edited by Festus1965 on Sun Nov 17, 2019 00:37, edited 1 time in total.
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

To whoever owns "CitySim":
Your mesecons are out of control:

Image

And a constant lag of 1 second is not normal with no-one online!

I suggest to switch to the latest release: https://github.com/minetest-mods/mesecons/
and switch on the lightweight interrupt setting:

Code: Select all

luacontroller_lightweight_interrupts = true
And maybe even remove the mesecons actionqueue between a restart


EDIT: pipeworks could use a flush too ;) https://monitoring.minetest.land/d/B37I ... ce=CitySim
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Post

quite often this:

Code: Select all

2019-11-17 16:18:30: ERROR[CurlFetch]: https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/minetest.one not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 100)
2019-11-17 16:18:35: ERROR[CurlFetch]: https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/minetest.one not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 0)
2019-11-17 16:18:40: ERROR[CurlFetch]: https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/metrics/job/minetest/instance/minetest.one not found (Timeout was reached) (response code 100)
and at first profiler 10% of all mts CPU work ... going ahead.

And this also hits through to the server with a lag peak of 836ms where 150ms is avg.
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Post

Hi,
got the test server in also, playing around there with changes first ... and took monitoring in.

At the Overview / AVG lag gauge - I think can take away the decimal, as
* a .5 or.3 doenst make any big sence as most lag is over 100 (mean show less then 1 % changes ...)
* the first digit of 100 is then covered under the gauge left ...
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Festus1965 wrote:Hi,
got the test server in also, playing around there with changes first ... and took monitoring in.

At the Overview / AVG lag gauge - I think can take away the decimal, as
* a .5 or.3 doenst make any big sence as most lag is over 100 (mean show less then 1 % changes ...)
* the first digit of 100 is then covered under the gauge left ...
Fixed, thanks. ;)
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:Fixed, thanks. ;)
Ups, now I know where the decimal WAS maybe good. When lag is over 1 s, but never mind, as it can still be seen at the graphs, and over 1 s it isn't anymore real important about how much exactly.
(Seen at pandorabox often hihi)

So, if decimal IS also important, maybe the ms over the number, then there is more place for the diggits.
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
Festus1965
Member
Posts: 4181
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:58
GitHub: Festus1965
In-game: Festus1965 Thomas Thailand Explorer
Location: Thailand ChiangMai
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by Festus1965 » Post

Code: Select all

..
2019-12-07 12:50:21: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 75530 us in mod biome_lib
..
2019-12-07 13:59:25: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 77141 us in mod mesecons
..
How to read ? monitoring it self need so/too long, or the mod named ? (By far not the first and only time this happen)
Human has no future (climate change)
If urgend, you find me in Roblox (as CNXThomas)

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

Festus1965 wrote:

Code: Select all

..
2019-12-07 12:50:21: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 75530 us in mod biome_lib
..
2019-12-07 13:59:25: WARNING[Server]: [monitoring] globalstep took 77141 us in mod mesecons
..
How to read ? monitoring it self need so/too long, or the mod named ? (By far not the first and only time this happen)
This is a generic warning (see: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... ep.lua#L37)
It is set to pop up if a globalstep takes over 75 ms, i think i need to make this optional or bump the threshold, it may be a bit too noisy on busy servers...
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
AFCM
Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:21
GitHub: AFCMS
IRC: AFCM
In-game: AFCM
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by AFCM » Post

I tried to host a server instance, for monitoring a testing MineClone2 server but then I activate this mod in minetest, the lag increased by like by 10s then a player connect.

It looks like its related to globalsteps.

Anybody have the same problem?

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

AFCM wrote:
Fri Nov 26, 2021 10:44
I tried to host a server instance, for monitoring a testing MineClone2 server but then I activate this mod in minetest, the lag increased by like by 10s then a player connect.

It looks like its related to globalsteps.

Anybody have the same problem?

Please provide a way to reproduce your problem, i would love to see why that could happen...
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
ulla
Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 09:22
GitHub: IIIullaIII
IRC: ulla
In-game: ulla

Re: [mod] monitoring

by ulla » Post

Hello, I found that this mod conflicts with the mod adv_weapon ,I posted the problem also on the adv_weapon forum

Code: Select all

2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'adv_weapons' in callback luaentity_Step(): Runtime error from mod '??' in callback l_add_item(): Invalid position (expected table got nil).
2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'add_entity'
2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: 	/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/item_entity.lua:6: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/item_entity.lua:3>
2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: 	[C]: in function 'add_item'
2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/ulla/.minetest/mods/adv_weapons/turret.lua:57: in function 'old_on_step'
2022-02-20 14:56:50: ERROR[Main]: 	/home/ulla/.minetest/mods/monitoring/builtin/on_step.lua:17: 
X4cna2d4UqsiawIzUumDgPoYNx3JLGII

User avatar
amelaye
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 10:47
GitHub: amelaye
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by amelaye » Post

-
My server : 188.165.239.63:30000 - My website : http://minetest.amelieonline.net

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

amelaye wrote:
Thu Jul 07, 2022 08:59
-
.-- .... .- - ..--..
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

User avatar
amelaye
Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 10:47
GitHub: amelaye
Contact:

Re: [mod] monitoring

by amelaye » Post

Sorry, I can't delete my messages :) ... I had a question (about advtrains integrations), that I've resolved ... I just had to download the extensions ;)
My server : 188.165.239.63:30000 - My website : http://minetest.amelieonline.net

c56
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 03:05
GitHub: tigercoding56
In-game: bm5 or bemo5 also sell_her_on55

Re: [mod] monitoring

by c56 » Post

minetest just crashes with "prom_push_url defined but http not avaible" even though i added it to trusted http mods
this is a signature not a place to post messages also if i could change my username i would change it to sell_her_on55

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

c56 wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 02:47
minetest just crashes with "prom_push_url defined but http not avaible" even though i added it to trusted http mods
Interesting, did you follow the instructions here: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... /hosted.md

Also: are you sure the settings you defined get used?
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

c56
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 03:05
GitHub: tigercoding56
In-game: bm5 or bemo5 also sell_her_on55

Re: [mod] monitoring

by c56 » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 07:53
c56 wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 02:47
minetest just crashes with "prom_push_url defined but http not avaible" even though i added it to trusted http mods
Interesting, did you follow the instructions here: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... /hosted.md

Also: are you sure the settings you defined get used?
no since announce server seems to reset itself every time i start a singleplayer world

but in minetest conf the 2 lines look like that
secure.http_mods = monitoring lwcomputers chat-translator
monitoring.prometheus_push_url = https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/m ... -continues
this is a signature not a place to post messages also if i could change my username i would change it to sell_her_on55

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [mod] monitoring

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

c56 wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 15:20
BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 07:53
c56 wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 02:47
minetest just crashes with "prom_push_url defined but http not avaible" even though i added it to trusted http mods
Interesting, did you follow the instructions here: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... /hosted.md

Also: are you sure the settings you defined get used?
no since announce server seems to reset itself every time i start a singleplayer world

but in minetest conf the 2 lines look like that
secure.http_mods = monitoring lwcomputers chat-translator
monitoring.prometheus_push_url = https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/m ... -continues
You may need a comma between the http enabled mods:

Code: Select all

secure.http_mods = monitoring,lwcomputers,chat-translator
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Not active here anymore, contact me on the minetest discord, irc, lemmy or github (for programming issues)

c56
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 03:05
GitHub: tigercoding56
In-game: bm5 or bemo5 also sell_her_on55

Re: [mod] monitoring

by c56 » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 15:38
c56 wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 15:20
BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Sat Jul 23, 2022 07:53


Interesting, did you follow the instructions here: https://github.com/minetest-monitoring/ ... /hosted.md

Also: are you sure the settings you defined get used?
no since announce server seems to reset itself every time i start a singleplayer world

but in minetest conf the 2 lines look like that
secure.http_mods = monitoring lwcomputers chat-translator
monitoring.prometheus_push_url = https://monitoring.minetest.land/push/m ... -continues
You may need a comma between the http enabled mods:

Code: Select all

secure.http_mods = monitoring,lwcomputers,chat-translator
thank you that solved it
this is a signature not a place to post messages also if i could change my username i would change it to sell_her_on55

c56
Member
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2021 03:05
GitHub: tigercoding56
In-game: bm5 or bemo5 also sell_her_on55

Re: [mod] monitoring

by c56 » Post

could you add a feature that shows the lag from each mod (if possible )
this is a signature not a place to post messages also if i could change my username i would change it to sell_her_on55

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests