[Mod] Find Biome [1.0.1] [findbiome]

Post Reply
User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3988
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

[Mod] Find Biome [1.0.1] [findbiome]

by Wuzzy » Post

Find biomes with a single command.

This is a mod for game developers. This will help you find biomes quickly. It adds two server commands:
  • findbiome <biome>: Find a biome and teleport to it
  • listbiomes: List all biomes
This is very helpful when you're tweaking biomes of your game and don't want to search all over the world.

Note: To find biomes in v6 mapgen, you need to use the Biome Info API mod.

Limitations
It's rare, but the mod might not find your biome if it is very obcure, but even then it should be unlikely. If this happens, just move somewhere else and try again.

Mod infos:
Last edited by Wuzzy on Sun Sep 29, 2019 09:57, edited 9 times in total.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
Yvanhoe
Member
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 03:18
Location: Japan

Re: [Mod] Find Biomes [0.1.0] [findbiomes]

by Yvanhoe » Post

That's great! Thanks!

User avatar
runs
Member
Posts: 1748
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 08:32
GitHub: runsy

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.1.0] [findbiome]

by runs » Post

Cool for modders to test things. Or for a mod to teleport to biomes too.
Day 42 of the quarantine

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2853
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.1.0] [findbiome]

by TumeniNodes » Post

Nice Wuzzy... thank you
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

CalebJ
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 19:21
GitHub: KaylebJay
IRC: KaylebJay
In-game: CalebJ
Location: Tunnelers' Abyss

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.1.0] [findbiome]

by CalebJ » Post

Awesome, Wuzzy! Thank you, I've been wanting something like this for a long time :)
If you want realism, you're in the wrong place. Get off your mobile.

User avatar
StarNinjas
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 00:32
GitHub: starninjas
IRC: StarNinjas
In-game: J1
Location: aincrad

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.1.0] [findbiome]

by StarNinjas » Post

I.. I Like P-P- Potatoe? Thanks SO MUCH Wuzzy I have always dreamed of this!!!
Thanks Again

-J1

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4073
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.1.0] [findbiome]

by Sokomine » Post

Sounds like a very useful mod. If you start a new world and are searching for a particular biome, that biome certainly wouldn't be the one you started in :-) So - thanks for the mod!
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3988
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Version 0.2.0

by Wuzzy » Post

Version 0.2.0 released!

Now with mapgen v6 support! But you need to use the biomeinfo mod for it to work.
For the other mapgens you don't need any other mod.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

shacknetisp
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 15:27
GitHub: shacknetisp
IRC: behalebabo
In-game: beha

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.2.0] [findbiome]

by shacknetisp » Post

This is currently broken, attempt to use /findbiome in a biome-mapgen.

Code: Select all

minetest_findbiomes/init.lua:66: attempt to get length of global 'biome_ids' (a nil value)
Seems that bug was introduced when v6 support was added and variable scope was messed up.[/s]

Edit: It's been fixed in the latest commits.
Last edited by shacknetisp on Tue Aug 27, 2019 19:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [0.2.0] [findbiome]

by texmex » Post

Thanks!
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3988
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Version 1.0.0

by Wuzzy » Post

Version 1.0.0 released!

Changelog:
  • You can now find biomes not in the same height as you. Much more convenient that way!
  • No longer teleport outside the map
  • /findbiome now supports searching the special “default” biome (fallback biome in non-v6 mapgens), if it exists. There's no 100% chance it will find it (even if it exists in the world) and the algorithm isn't very smart, however. But it helps to see if your biomes still have large “holes”. The “default” biome is intentionally not listed in /listbiomes because it's just a fallback
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1752
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [1.0.0] [findbiome]

by texmex » Post

Is this mod supposed to be only for direct player use or do you plan on adding API functions for other mods that may want to search for biomes (and return data only, not necessarily teleport the player).
Mods | Support Mesehub: bc1qluuests9rxmlnvpjrhsnyjg9ucwy6z3r0y3srw

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3988
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [1.0.0] [findbiome]

by Wuzzy » Post

This mod is a fork from the mod “spawn” in Minetest Game. It finds a spawn position in an “easy” biome for new players. So if you need that, use that.

I do not plan to add an API.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
Hagrid669
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 19:32

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [1.0.1] [findbiome]

by Hagrid669 » Post

Hi Wuzzy, nice and usefull mod. Thanks.
I'm using your mod to tune up biomes in a ocean-underwater game, and I'm getting problems in finding underwater biomes, such as corals. Is there anything can be adjusted in your code or does it depends on the minetest.get_biome_data(pos), that is not able to retrive underwater biomes (because they are not suitable for spawning)?.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 3988
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [1.0.1] [findbiome]

by Wuzzy » Post

If I remember correctly, your current height at the time of using /findbiome matters. So try starting at ocean height to find ocean biomes.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH

User avatar
Hagrid669
New member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 19:32

Re: [Mod] Find Biome [1.0.1] [findbiome]

by Hagrid669 » Post

Starting at sea level or even under seems not working as well :( I solved for now stretching underwater coral biomes up to water level +1, this way /findbiome does its job right. It's a great help in developing, thanks again.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests