[mod] game-of-life (will eventually be a game) [cells]

markthesmeagol
GitHub: smeagolthellama
In-game: haivets

[mod] game-of-life (will eventually be a game) [cells]

by markthesmeagol » Post

I have started work on rewriting flux. It will be a 3d game-of-life thingimabob. At the moment the ABMs are so inefficient, that it doesn't really do anything other than slowly disappear. Any help is welcome.

https://github.com/smeagolthellama/cells
I am not very good at lua. I am learning though.

Krock
Developer
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [mod] game-of-life (will eventually be a game) [cells]

by Krock » Post

For the 3D-loops, use minetest.find_nodes_in_area. It's faster to write and faster to execute.

Also a hacky speed-up is possible: Replace minetest.remove_node(pos) with minetest.swap_node(pos, { name = "air" }). Instead of properly removing the node, it swaps the content ID without running any callbacks (such as "on_place" or "on_dig"). Only do this as long your "cell" node does not have any metadata.

PS: Does this really work? I have my doubts. The correct vector notation is {x = x, y = y, z = z}.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

markthesmeagol

by markthesmeagol » Post

Krock wrote:For the 3D-loops, use minetest.find_nodes_in_area. It's faster to write and faster to execute.
I Was actually thinking about using that, but the documentation in the modding book is... lacking to say the least. I couldn't really understand how to use it. looking at the wiki, would something like

Code: Select all

local pos1={x=pos.x-1,y=pos.y-1,z=pos.z-1}
local pos2={x=pos.x+1,y=pos.y+1,z=pos.z+1}
local count=minetest.find_nodes_in_area(pos1,pos2,"cells:cell")
work, or would I need to do some special counting syntax stuff?