[Mod] Map generator with Rivers [mapgen_rivers]

Gael de Sailly
GitHub: gaelysam
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly gaelysam

[Mod] Map generator with Rivers [mapgen_rivers]

by Gael de Sailly » Post

Map Generator with Rivers (mapgen_rivers v1.0)

This is a map generator I have been developing since April 2020 (my "lockdown project"...), that aims at being as realistic as possible.

It introduces a mapgen approach that is different from usual procedural noise-based mapgens. The concept is to simulate surface geological phenomena like river flowing and erosion, using physical equations, while other mapgens generally use noises to empirically mimick landforms.

It generates rivers whose behaviour is close to real-life: they flow strictly downhill, and combine together to form wider rivers, until they reach the sea. Another notable feature is the possibility of large lakes above sea level (in fact any enclosed depression will form a lake).

The mod pre-generates the map at first start of a world, by creating something that I call a "grid", that is stored in the world folder as raw data, and represents a downscaled map. It's the moment at which flow and erosion calculations are at play, because they need to act on the full map (since they can have unpredictable distant effects). During actual map generation, the grid is upscaled (15x by default) and smaller-scale features are added with noise.

Pre-generation used to be done with a separate Python program, but it has been rewritten in Lua for version 1.0 (July 2021).
(pictures are outdated but the concept is still the same)

Pre-generation: Initial and final topography for a tiny 50x50 grid.Image

Map generation on Minetest: using this grid, with simplest possible settings. The grid is upscaled: each grid cell becomes a 12x12 square, so the map is 600x600. Notice how the cell pattern is obvious on river angles:Image