[POLL] What do you think about mesecons?

User avatar
Jeija
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 21:46
Location: Nürtingen, Germany

by Jeija » Post

I'd like to have more higher-level cirquits in the way of home automation - sensors, microcontrollers and affectors connected with databusses and equipped with address decoders
Coming soon...

@Nore: I personally don't think lots of people need a change of that. I suggest you to just change the overheat time yourself.
Redstone for minetest: Mesecons (mesecons.net)

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

I think a too idea would be to make the mesecon wires like the wires in the technical mod. NP annoying and ugly things that stick pout from the wall. I LOVE IT though. Keep up the good work.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Doc
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 00:21

by Doc » Post

I have had bugs with the insulated T wires, and the Insulated Crossing in some of my compact circuits. I would fix that bug/make it more stable. Other than that, I would make a special insulated wire that goes vertically, and an insulated wire that curves right.
Last edited by Doc on Fri Dec 14, 2012 18:17, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

You could make mesecon wires look like a dot and when the is a wire next to it the wires connect.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

I think databusses and adress decoders are a very good idea: it could be useful for very compact circuits. I also think that a turning insulated wire would be useful (instead of using a T-junction)

About the last version: I had a crash by turning on a mesecon next to a sticky movestone...

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Post

I have a bug that when sand or gravel falls on a wire it wants to dig the wire but can't. Could you make the wires break when gravel or sand falls on it.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right

User avatar
Doc
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 00:21

by Doc » Post

Nore wrote:I think databusses and adress decoders are a very good idea: it could be useful for very compact circuits.
I just use microcontrollers for this, and its about as compact as you need.

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Well, I thought something like passing something like 16 different channels in a single cable node (you don't have to make 16 wires).

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4186
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

Yes, like Nore said. One line (maybe even wireless) that contains 8 or 16 wires. Microcontrollers are very good and useful, but they only have 4 IO-Ports. That means it takes either complex circuits or a clock and a serial bus (complex in itshelf). If you are intrested in low-level and want to optimize your cirquit using wires, there is no reason why not to. But if the wires are not the important thing and it's about reading sensors and reacting to them it becomes easier when using a higher level of abstraction.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
Doc
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 00:21

by Doc » Post

Yeah, but part of it is the good feeling of designing a ram module, and competing over which design is best! I came up with a really compact one that can be expanded as much as you want, except that bugs with the wire are messing it up.

User avatar
Temperest
Member
Posts: 651
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 23:13
GitHub: Uberi

by Temperest » Post

You can use the vertical stacking method to make nice and compact circuits:

(8 bit ripple carry adder)
Image

For more complex combinatoric circuits, you can use some simple transformations to get the optimal partitioning of the gates into microcontrollers. But that somewhat ruins the fun, in my opinion :P.
Last edited by Temperest on Sat Dec 15, 2012 18:11, edited 1 time in total.
WorldEdit 1.0 released

The Mesecons Laboratory - the art of Mesecons circuitry
Latest article: Mesecons Basics.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

You (Jeija) should add when there is an arrangement like this (viewed from side)
mesecon,block
block, mesecon
that the mesecons don't connect, can be used to make super fast oscillators for example.
Last edited by VoidLord on Sat Jun 15, 2013 13:24, edited 1 time in total.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

The fastest oscillator you can make is by connecting the output of a not gate to its input...

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Yeah, but that crashes real bad, wo I mean w/ a sticky piston or something.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

Do you use the latest version of mesecons? And it is possible to push/pull wires with sticky pistons... If this was added, a lot of circuits would not work anymore.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Yes, No pushing mesecons w/a sticky piston doesn't work. That is honestly just too bad, both that this feature can't be implemented and what I just said.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen
Location: A forest in the midwest
Contact:

by Evergreen » Post

VoidLord wrote:Yes, No pushing mesecons w/a sticky piston doesn't work. That is honestly just too bad, both that this feature can't be implemented and what I just said.
-_- Yes it does work. I just got the latest version and it works.
Back from the dead!

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Well I have the latest version too; I just tested it and the mesecons don't join back up when the sticky piston retracts.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

They don't reconnect visually, but electrically, they do. If you don't like that, use insulated mesecons.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

No, they won't connect electrically even when the mesecon is connected back to the piston itself (if it did work then there would be some crazy fast oscillations).
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4611
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Surely you're not using the latest git pull of mesecons then - the effects described by others here work perfectly for me as well - there are a number of odd, unusual, or just complex circuits on my server that work fine.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

I just re-downloaded the mod and, frankly, nothin doin'.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

Wait! Someone I was talking to on another blog provided me with the correct version of mesecons (I thought the latest version was on the front page for mesecons) and somehow it still didn't work.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Nore
Developer
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

by Nore » Post

That should soon be fixed... However, you should try again to connect a not gate to its input. It will work as well, and cause less lag since you will not update tons of nodes.

User avatar
VoidLord
Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 16:07
Location: SPACE! WHAT!?

by VoidLord » Post

I think you mean w/a delayer. Oh well, just another one of those things that will (hopefully) get fixed next version.
</randomtextcrap>
</forumposthing>
</body>
</html>
/0

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests