An idea for making 3D players that are better than those of Minecraft.

User avatar
Pavel_S
Member
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 11:43

by Pavel_S » Thu May 30, 2013 03:16

doyousketch2 wrote:I realized there was a link on the Puzzle Moppet page that says
there's people trying to continue expanding that game from the source code.

From there I found an updated .blend file of the player.

Renamed the player file "character.blend"

I then downloaded the latest Blender
and enabled the DirectX import/export addon
in the preferences, so as to export "character.x"

Image

He loads fine in the game, tho his arms stick out.
Perhaps because bones data isn't named the same as in Minetest.
That can be corrected.

----------------------------------------
To install:

minetest/mods/minetest/default/

delete, rename, or move the "models" directory somewhere else.
Then replace it with this one:

http://wikisend.com/download/929386/models.zip

You obviously can't see yourself in game,
so you need to log in with another player to see it.

Be sure to disable any texture packs
and the player_texture mod so you get a good character image.

You may need to clear your cache folder if it still looks strange.

Animation will play if you follow this conditions:
Use only forward kinematics(all constraints do not support),
Change aimation ranges in player.lua(default mod).
Also character face look to Y+.
Export:(in .x file exporter propetries)
full animation,
armatures,
all objects.
 

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
Location: Ohio
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2

by doyousketch2 » Thu May 30, 2013 14:33

Jordach wrote:Do you want me to actually put some bones into this? I'm quite happy to tomorrow.


It already has bones, but the animations are different names than what Minetest uses.

I started renaming them, but it didn't seem to do anything.
Also, I believe it's turned around 180*

I was wondering if the bone hierarchy needed to be rebuilt from scratch.
If you feel like doing it, go for it.

The character has an internal name of "daniel"
wondered if that needed to be changed to "Player"

Then I tried renaming:

idle 0 - 80 to Stand_START and Stand_END
blink 81 - 161 to Sit_START and Sit_END
falling 162 - 167 to Lay_START and Lay_END
walk 168 - 188 to Walk_START and Walk_END
push 189 - 199 to Mine_START and Mine_END
vert fall 200 - 220 to Walk_Mine_START and Walk_Mine_END

Then I realized the frame locations might not match up with what's in the default player.lua

Hadn't had a chance to sit down and try anything else 'cuz I've been on vacation,
but yea, if you can get it running, that'd be awesome.

Edit:

Pavel_S got a post in as I was typing mine up.
Thanks for the info. That sounds about right.
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Thu May 30, 2013 14:43, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Jordach
Member
 
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
Location: Blender Scene
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach

by Jordach » Thu May 30, 2013 15:23

doyousketch2 wrote:
Jordach wrote:Do you want me to actually put some bones into this? I'm quite happy to tomorrow.


It already has bones, but the animations are different names than what Minetest uses.

I started renaming them, but it didn't seem to do anything.
Also, I believe it's turned around 180*

I was wondering if the bone hierarchy needed to be rebuilt from scratch.
If you feel like doing it, go for it.

The character has an internal name of "daniel"
wondered if that needed to be changed to "Player"

Then I tried renaming:

idle 0 - 80 to Stand_START and Stand_END
blink 81 - 161 to Sit_START and Sit_END
falling 162 - 167 to Lay_START and Lay_END
walk 168 - 188 to Walk_START and Walk_END
push 189 - 199 to Mine_START and Mine_END
vert fall 200 - 220 to Walk_Mine_START and Walk_Mine_END

Then I realized the frame locations might not match up with what's in the default player.lua

Hadn't had a chance to sit down and try anything else 'cuz I've been on vacation,
but yea, if you can get it running, that'd be awesome.

Edit:

Pavel_S got a post in as I was typing mine up.
Thanks for the info. That sounds about right.
I'll make a test model by using Simple Mobs.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Thu May 30, 2013 15:39

It looks like this topic is alive again. I hope something good comes out of this.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/
 

Previous

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests