[Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

[Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by stu » Mon Apr 07, 2014 19:26

Screenshot
Image

Minetest version: 0.4.9-dev (current dev)
Depends: default
Download: version 0.1.0
Browse Code: github

Adds miniature node-like objects, purely for fun and decoration.
Micronodes can be placed on any pointed node or other micronode face,
they will automatically snap to the closest grid position.
Just like ordinary nodes, use right-click to place and left-click to dig.

This mod is probably best suited to creative mode, however an optional
micronode cutting laser has been added for those wishing to use this in
a survival game.

Issues

Servers can get upset if they find too many active objects in one place
and may randomly remove stuff. If you have problems then try increasing
max_objects_per_block in minetest.conf

Note: Requires a recent development build that includes the following commits
#1b5b6fe: Pass pointed_thing to on_punch and minetest.register_on_punchnode callbacks
#c9b6420: Fix error when calling minetest.node_punch without a pointed_thing
These should be present in most windows builds by now.
Last edited by stu on Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:35, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world
GitHub: hoodedice
IRC: hoodedice
In-game: hoodedice

by hoodedice » Mon Apr 07, 2014 19:29

OOh, stu delivered!

Nice mod, like always =D
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4106
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

by Krock » Mon Apr 07, 2014 19:49

Horray! The Micronodes are here!
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:10

This is brilliant! Thanks for another great mod stu!
 

User avatar
RHR
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

by RHR » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:28

stu wrote:Just like ordinary nodes, use left-click to place and right-click to dig.

Are we playing the same game ... ??? o.O

BTW: I love this mod. ^^
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:37

RHR wrote:
stu wrote:Just like ordinary nodes, use left-click to place and right-click to dig.

Are we playing the same game ... ??? o.O

BTW: I love this mod. ^^


Oops! well spotted (updated)

Thanks for all the encouraging comments so far guys,
 

User avatar
Evergreen
Member
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 01:22
Location: A forest in the midwest
GitHub: 4Evergreen4
IRC: EvergreenTree
In-game: Evergreen

by Evergreen » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:38

Absolutely incredible! It has it's issues, but that is to be expected. I never though you could do something like this in minetest.
Back from the dead!
 

User avatar
RHR
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

by RHR » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:49

Just an idea:
Would it be possible to add something like 3D crafting. Using micronodes for crafting nodes and items in a 3x3x3 grid? Although 2x2x2 would even be enough for all moreblocks stair-like nodes.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:55

Evergreen wrote:Absolutely incredible! It has it's issues, but that is to be expected. I never though you could do something like this in minetest.

Thanks, it was mostly written as a technical exercise and because others said it could not be done ;-)
If nothing else there are some useful routines in there that others may find helpful.
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

by stu » Mon Apr 07, 2014 20:57

RHR wrote:Just an idea:
Would it be possible to add something like 3D crafting. Using micronodes for crafting nodes and items in a 3x3x3 grid? Although 2x2x2 would even be enough for all moreblocks stair-like nodes.

Love this idea but I think I will leave that for someone else to implement ;-)
Last edited by stu on Mon Apr 07, 2014 22:48, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
davidthecreator
Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 19:48
Location: Lithuania
GitHub: daviddoesminetest
In-game: DavidDoesMinetest
 

User avatar
AMMOnym
Member
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 14:18
Location: Slovakia
IRC: AMMOnym
In-game: AMMOnym
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
 

User avatar
dpbqRman
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 08:15

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by dpbqRman » Thu Aug 03, 2017 17:31

Are you planning on adding mesecons?
o__l_ dpbqR o-l&&&&&
 

User avatar
dpbqRman
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2016 08:15

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by dpbqRman » Tue Sep 05, 2017 06:54

Could you add mesecons to size?
o__l_ dpbqR o-l&&&&&
 

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
Location: some were in middle earth
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by RSLRedstonier » Thu Jan 04, 2018 18:52

dpbqRman wrote:Could you add mesecons to size?


that would probably be impossible or if not extremely difficult and laggy

mesecons has to register hundreds of items for all the different wire placements and this doesn't use nodes it uses entity's or objects so every micronode isn't even a node its an entity
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568
 

User avatar
stu
Member
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 02:51
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: stujones11

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by stu » Thu Jan 04, 2018 19:05

RSLRedstonier wrote:
dpbqRman wrote:Could you add mesecons to size?


that would probably be impossible or if not extremely difficult and laggy

mesecons has to register hundreds of items for all the different wire placements and this doesn't use nodes it uses entity's or objects so every micronode isn't even a node its an entity


Indeed, this is a very out-dated mod, I'd be surprised if it still even works. There are likely better ways to do this now but I never really intended this to be more than an experimental bit of fun. The 3d crafting idea was an interesting one though.
 

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
Location: some were in middle earth
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by RSLRedstonier » Sat Feb 24, 2018 00:10

-deleated
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568
 

getinfonanyang
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 03:55
GitHub: nanyangjoss

Re: [Mod] Micronodes [0.1.0] [micronode]

by getinfonanyang » Sat Apr 14, 2018 08:00

Nice it's compatible for new version ?

stu wrote:Screenshot
Image

Minetest version: 0.4.9-dev (current dev)
Depends: default
Download: version 0.1.0
Browse Code: github

Adds miniature node-like objects, purely for fun and decoration.
Micronodes can be placed on any pointed node or other micronode face,
they will automatically snap to the closest grid position.
Just like ordinary nodes, use right-click to place and left-click to dig.

This mod is probably best suited to creative mode, however an optional
micronode cutting laser has been added for those wishing to use this in
a survival game.

Issues

Servers can get upset if they find too many active objects in one place
and may randomly remove stuff. If you have problems then try increasing
max_objects_per_block in minetest.conf

Note: Requires a recent development build that includes the following commits
#1b5b6fe: Pass pointed_thing to on_punch and minetest.register_on_punchnode callbacks
#c9b6420: Fix error when calling minetest.node_punch without a pointed_thing
These should be present in most windows builds by now.
 


Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests