[Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gates]

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

[Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gates]

by addi » Sun Aug 10, 2014 07:41

big multinode gates


Image
gates_animation.gif
a finished gate, just punch the gatecontroler to open/close the gate.
You can use each node(block) you want for building this.
(221.65 KiB) Downloaded 1 time


+ Another screenshot, wich shows a drawbrige and using mesecons


What does this mod do?


This mods adds an special node(block) wich acts as gate controler.
With this gate controller, you can transform each construction into a more dynamic one.
Just imagine: you have build up some nice castle, wich have a big gate, and its difficult or near impossible to get this gate with pistons ore movestons to change between opend and closed state.
For this you can now use this gates mod.

1. Enter the chat command:
/giveme gates:controler

2. Place the gatecontroller in the near, where the gate is acting.

3. Right-click the controller to start setup. First, select the possition wherein the gate is “moving”.

4. Now you have to decide if the gate is currently opend, or is it closed, click the button open, or closed then.

5. Now the state is saved. If you have built the opened one, now build the closed one. And if you build the opened one first, build the closed one now.

6. Click the button finish, now you can switch between the open and closed states.

(7.) Optional: you can now place some mesecons wires there wich contoling them for example by pressing buttons or levers.


DOWNLOAD:


v0.9.0 https://bitbucket.org/kingarthursteam/gates/get/v0.9.0.zip
v0.9.1 https://bitbucket.org/kingarthursteam/gates/get/v0.9.1.zip
View Sourcecode

DEPENDS: Minetest 0.4.10
LICENSE: CC BY-SA

Have fun!
Last edited by addi on Fri Feb 17, 2017 09:56, edited 10 times in total.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [mod]Gates[gates][public beta]

by Krock » Sun Aug 10, 2014 08:08

Very good! Gates.. not this Gates ROFL
Mod Search Engine - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
philipbenr
Member
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 01:56
Location: United States
GitHub: philipbenr
IRC: philipbenr
In-game: robinspi

Re: [mod]Gates[gates][public beta]

by philipbenr » Sun Aug 10, 2014 20:11

AWESOME!!! I have been looking for something like this for a very long time. It will be added to castles++ as soon as I can get git working on my computer. Having a little bit of trouble using commits... :P Oh well...
 

User avatar
HeroOfTheWinds
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 23:16
Location: Hawaii
GitHub: HeroOfTheWinds
IRC: WindHero

Re: [mod]Gates[gates][public beta]

by HeroOfTheWinds » Mon Aug 11, 2014 19:15

Excellent mod! I'l have to play around with it a bit, but it's certainly something I'd like to see on servers.
Nam ex spatio, omnes res venire possunt.
Why let the ground limit you when you can reach for the sky?
Back to college now, yay for sophomore year schedules. :P
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [mod]Gates[gates][public beta]

by addi » Tue Aug 12, 2014 14:12

great! :-) thanks @ all

but i have just a question to the mt-comunity:

Wich method is the best to select the area?

like it worldedit does? and should i copy that from worldedit mod?

or by placing some special blocks, that marks the positions?

or is there another easieer way to do it?


also another question:

does all, wich tested this mod, understand how to setup the gate, or is it too difficult?
 

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
 
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
Location: On earth
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun

Re: [mod]Gates, Drawbridges and Garage Doors[gates][public b

by Minetestforfun » Tue Aug 12, 2014 23:56

hopeful mod !

i think a special block for marks the positions is a better idea
(i dislike the worldedit method, it's too long...)
 

gamergardencat
Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:58

Re: [mod]Gates, Drawbridges and Garage Doors[gates][public b

by gamergardencat » Mon Oct 20, 2014 00:32

name conflict [Mod] Gates [1.8] [gates] https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=896
superman slices a giant apple into 3 and hands it to guest220
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido
 

User avatar
TG-MyinaWD
Member
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 21:22
Location: Far Eden
GitHub: Maddie-Myina
IRC: Maddie-Myina
In-game: .

Re: [Mod] Gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gates]

by TG-MyinaWD » Fri Jun 12, 2015 07:21

Huh me see no garage doors. unless didn't made an screenshot of so.
But anyways does do look great, and interesting. if could make it just right click like so on the stuff it would be bit more semantic guess can say.

Overall this might be great see on servers.

Semantic Using: Logic

Edit: Oh also do it work with mesh-nodes?
I'm a Transgender no shame about it.
I prefer to be considered as a "Girl/Lady/Miss/Madam/Female" for now on.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] Gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gates]

by addi » Fri Jun 12, 2015 07:59

garage doors are possible too, you just have to build it. :-)
currently there is no screen shot of a garage door, but feel free to take one.

yes, it also works with mesh-nodes
 

Doughty12
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 07:42
Location: Croydon, Pennsylvania
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] Gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gates]

by DoyleChris » Thu Jan 21, 2016 21:29

Need help setting this up not sure how to select the area.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] Gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gates]

by addi » Thu Jan 21, 2016 21:34

the easiest way is to install the world edit mod viewtopic.php?t=572
than you can easily select a area and use this in the gates configurator.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] Multinodegates, drawbridges and garage doors [gate

by addi » Mon Jul 04, 2016 09:25

Update: Now with tricky workaround to work with Minetest 0.4.14. Works still good ;-)
Also fixed some small bugs and added more small improvements. Increased gates volume and max distance.
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by BirgitLachner » Fri Feb 17, 2017 09:48

Man ... thats really cool ... such a simple way to have all kind of big gates.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by addi » Fri Feb 17, 2017 09:50

Thanks :-D.
If you have any suggestions or ideas, they are welcome. :)
 

User avatar
AndroBuilder
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:34
In-game: AndroBuilder

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by AndroBuilder » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:21

What is causing this problem? Please help :=)

Code: Select all
NodeDefManager: Ignoring CONTENT_IGNORE redefinition
2018-02-09 11:57:01: WARNING[Main]: Undeclared global variable "default" accessed at ...netest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\mods\multiblockgates\init.lua:14
2018-02-09 11:57:01: WARNING[Main]: Undeclared global variable "default" accessed at ...netest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\mods\multiblockgates\init.lua:18
2018-02-09 11:57:01: WARNING[Main]: Undeclared global variable "default" accessed at ...netest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\mods\multiblockgates\init.lua:22
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from E:\Software\minetest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\mods\multiblockgates\init.lua:
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]: ...e\minetest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:65: Name gates:controler does not follow naming conventions: "multiblockgates:" or ":" prefix required
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'error'
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]:    ...e\minetest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:65: in function 'check_modname_prefix'
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]:    ...e\minetest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:113: in function 'register_item'
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]:    ...e\minetest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\builtin\game\register.lua:206: in function 'register_node'
2018-02-09 11:57:01: ERROR[Main]:    ...netest-0.4.16-win32\bin\..\mods\multiblockgates\init.lua:382: in main chunk
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido
 

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
 
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by BirgitLachner » Sun Feb 11, 2018 19:13

I have an idea ...
of cause I can use the gates-block for that, but usage can be made easier for that.

For servers in educational use, it would be cool to reset areas to a defined status. This can be used if you offer are area, where the player can do something and after the usage you need to reset the area that the next player can do the same things again.
So a Reset-Block just needs one status. And if it is hit, the area is set back to the saved status.
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by addi » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:34

This is maybe better for a standalone mod. I add it to my todo list and make it, if I get some more free time ;-)
 

xisd
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 22:38
GitHub: xisd

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by xisd » Thu Mar 15, 2018 21:49

Hi ! I really like the idea of this mod ! I tried it today and it seem to add a lot of possibilities for buildings doors, gates and maybe other interactive things.

My only problem for now is that it seem intended only for creative mode.
I plan on adding it to a server with limited resources (I made a small separate mod to add a recipe for the controller)
Unfortunately, it also comes as a very easy way to cheat by duplicating blocs. :
- Say I make a diamond door (or other valuable blocs) as 'closed door' state, I click 'next'
- I dig them back to set an empty 'open door' state, I click 'next'
- Now I just have to switch back to the 'closed door' state to be able to dig my diamond door once more...

Most of the time, I would say that if you put some effort to figure a clever way to cheat and had some fun doing so, thats one way to play.
But I try not to make things too easy...

Any thoughts on how to fix this duplication situation ?
 

User avatar
addi
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
Location: Black-Forest, Germany
GitHub: adrido

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by addi » Fri Mar 16, 2018 09:53

Yes, I know the problem. Thats the reason why there is no craft recipe available.
Currently I have the following solutions but they are not all perfect.

  1. Disabling crafting: Only players with creative/Give privileges are able to build it. Why should they double Items, if thy can get them legally?
  2. Count the nodes in opened and closed state: This would force the players to use the exact same nodes for the opened and the closed state.
    Problems:
    • After setup, the gate cannot changed.
    • Its impossible to mark eg. with a red node, that the gate is closed and with a green node that its open.
    • It would be impossible to use eg. rope_vertical for the opened and rope_horizontal for the closed gate/drawbridge.
  3. Clear the gate area after 2nd setup step: This would clear the gate area (set air overall) and the player would have to place all nodes twice, even the static ones.

As you see there is not a satisfying solution at all. If you have further Ideas I would be thankfull.
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by hajo » Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:40

BirgitLachner wrote:reset areas to a defined status.

Worldedit + mesecons-commandblock, and the area with the saved defined status nearby,
eg. somewhere underground.
Then set the commandblock with a command to copy that area.
 

xisd
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 22:38
GitHub: xisd

Re: [Mod] Multinode-gates, drawbridges and garage doors [gat

by xisd » Sun Mar 18, 2018 07:36

Thanks for the quick answer. Solution c. seems to be the most acceptable for me but yes its not ideal

This made me think of something though :
addi wrote:Problems: [list][*]After setup, the gate cannot changed.


Maybe some combination of b and c :
What if the gate setup was only one step : defining the area.
All existing non-air nodes in the defined area are considered static and will not be editable.
Once that is done, the gate is automatically set to be opened (or closed). So the two states are the same.
Now the player can edit each state from there the same way it is possible to do it after setup

That is not very elegant, but it avoid inconveniences you mentioned (I think) and it lighten the setup process
 

Next

Return to WIP Mods



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests