[Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

Post Reply
User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

[Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

by cactuz_pl » Post

This simple mod adds blocks with letters (A-Z, a-z) numbers and symbols.

Image

Crafting:

Image

To select letter place dirt in place marked in green, place it in the order that corresponds to this letter in Braille.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Braille
Then place wood in red box - for upper case, or in yellow box - for lower case.

To select number place dirt in green box (in Braille, A for 1, B for 2 ... J for 0) and put wood in blue box.

To select symbol place dirt in green box and cobble in blue box.
A for !
B for @
C for #
D for $
E for %
F for ^
G for &
H for *
I for (
J for )
K for '
L for \
M for :
N for ,
O for =
P for -
Q for +
R for ?
S for "
T for /
U for _
V for . (dot)
Example: (for plus)
(dirt,dirt, ---)
(dirt,dirt, ---)
(dirt,---, cobble)

Space (white block):
(dirt,dirt, ---)
(dirt,dirt, ---)
(dirt,dirt, ---)

DOWNLOAD
Licence: GNU GPL
---

This is my first mod, sorry for my english.
Last edited by cactuz_pl on Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:31, edited 2 times in total.
Nope

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Hmm, giving me awesome ideas for life-size ad/billboards in 3D
Image

Unless you wanna do it? youre off to a good start already :-)

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Post

mauvebic wrote:Hmm, giving me awesome ideas for life-size ad/billboards in 3D
Image

Unless you wanna do it? youre off to a good start already :-)
No, thanks, for now will stay with the alphabet. Maybe another time. I don't stop you, this mod has GNU GPL licence, so do whatever you want. :)
Nope

User avatar
jin_xi
Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 18:19

by jin_xi » Post

absolutely love the input method! soon everyone playing minetest will know braille. nice.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Good that you made this mod. And with braille, that's a very nice twist :-)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Nice idea; you should add numbers and punctuation, now. :P

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Post

These letters look severely. I'm open to suggestions, what color background and the letters should be used. Maybe I should use the one of standard textures as a background?
Nope

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Changing colors by tapping them. Or letters that light up in the dark by tapping them. Combining the letters with the standard dye-mod?

User avatar
Josh
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 23:11
Location: Victoria, Australia

by Josh » Post

This could be educational if you had a child who wanted to learn the alphabet you could also make big signs!

User avatar
Bas080
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 15:54
GitHub: bas080
IRC: bas080
In-game: bas080
Location: Netherlands

by Bas080 » Post

cactuz_pl wrote:These letters look severely. I'm open to suggestions, what color background and the letters should be used. Maybe I should use the one of standard textures as a background?
You could overlay the letters and make the drawable on several types of surfaces. There is this "background.png^letter.png" thing which lets you draw png over png.

As the background you could use whatever node image there is. Wood makes the most sense if you ask me. Or what about a selection of backgrounds and letter colours. I am willing to make all the letters in 16x16 with a several colour variants. unified-dyes mod can be used to choose the colour of the letters.

User avatar
sfan5-bot
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:19
Location: /usr/bin/python2.7

by sfan5-bot » Post

[EE] No Dependencies found


Please fix these Mistakes and report this post, a moderator will delete it
If you believe I have made a Mistake contact sfan5

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

by balthazariv » Post

Hello there,

The download link is dead. Could you refresh please?

thank you

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

by Topywo » Post

balthazariv wrote:Hello there,

The download link is dead. Could you refresh please?

thank you
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/654 ... phabet.zip

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

by balthazariv » Post

Hello,

Thanks, i've tested and i like it.

User avatar
balthazariv
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 15:48
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

by balthazariv » Post

I have this error with this mod

Code: Select all

20:07:32: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\alphabet\init.lua:
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: ...test\minetest - Copie\bin\..\builtin\game\deprecated.lua:7: attempt to index global 'debug' (a boolean value)
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

Re: [Mod] Alphabet [alphabet]

by Topywo » Post

balthazariv wrote:I have this error with this mod

Code: Select all

20:07:32: ERROR[main]: ========== ERROR FROM LUA ===========
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: Failed to load and run script from 
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: L:\Minetest\minetest - Copie\bin\..\mods\alphabet\init.lua:
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: ...test\minetest - Copie\bin\..\builtin\game\deprecated.lua:7: attempt to index global 'debug' (a boolean value)
20:07:32: ERROR[main]: ======= END OF ERROR FROM LUA ========
Looks like a bug in the builtin/game/deprecated.lua file that wouldn't have been triggered if there was no old code in the alphabet.

I didn't try, but you might solve the mod not working by outcommenting, placing -- before every line of code, that has the word digprop in it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests