[Game] SkyBlock [skyblock]

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

[Game] SkyBlock [skyblock]

by cornernote » Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:26

SkyBlock for Minetest

Copyright (C) 2012 cornernote, Brett O'Donnell <cornernote@gmail.com>
License: GPLv3

Homepage | Download


Screenshots

Youtube Video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-qpuXP88SU

Image


Credits

PilzAdam - code to make a tree came from his farming mod
RealBadAngel - help in IRC to make the spiral
Last edited by cornernote on Tue May 27, 2014 23:28, edited 2 times in total.
 

Belgac
Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 15:27
Location: Brussels, Belgium

by Belgac » Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:32

Great mod idea. I really like it.

I would suggest that you change the actual wood crafting with the tree to a new recipe:
When you put leaves in the crafting grid you get 1 stick
Then you can create basic pickaxe and axe by putting sticks this way

SSS
XSX = basic pickaxe
XSX

XSS
XSS = basic axe
XSX

Those will of course be less efficient and have less uses than the wooden tools
Last edited by Belgac on Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:33, edited 1 time in total.
Contributor: Plant aging library
Creator: (soon)
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Developer
 
Posts: 3999
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:45

Belgac wrote:Great mod idea. I really like it.

I would suggest that you change the actual wood crafting with the tree to a new recipe:
When you put leaves in the crafting grid you get 1 stick
Then you can create basic pickaxe and axe by putting sticks this way

SSS
XSX = basic pickaxe
XSX

XSS
XSS = basic axe
XSX

Those will of course be less efficient and have less uses than the wooden tools



Thanks. I'm not planning on adding any tools or items into this minimal version. The aim is to get the mods working for the most basic concept of a skyblock game.

I may release a mod-packed version that has goals and rewards (as well as hundreds of craftable items).

PilzAdam wrote:Why gets the player a lava-source and not a lava bucket?


So they don't get 2 buckets. I want them to have minimal things, so that misplacing a block really hurts.

Also, this works really well with your item_drop mod cos you have to ensure you don't lose items off the edge. =)
 

User avatar
PilzAdam
Developer
 
Posts: 3999
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
Location: Germany
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam

by PilzAdam » Thu Aug 16, 2012 15:50

cornernote wrote:Also, this works really well with your item_drop mod cos you have to ensure you don't lose items off the edge. =)

The velocity to the sides is too slow for that.
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Fri Aug 17, 2012 08:28

can i ask - what is abm?
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

jin_xi
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 18:19

by jin_xi » Fri Aug 17, 2012 09:34

active block modifier - its a way to make stuff happen in minetest mods
 

madarexxx
Member
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 06:49

by madarexxx » Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:09

thank you
Sorry for my bad English, please help me learn it - correct my worst mistakes :)
 

TheLoLMan
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2012 13:43

by TheLoLMan » Fri Aug 17, 2012 19:03

Good i dont install
 

FreeFull
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 08:34

by FreeFull » Fri Aug 17, 2012 23:22

Is there a way to get more than the 1 water source you're given?
 

User avatar
NakedFury
Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 03:55

by NakedFury » Sat Aug 18, 2012 00:19

Cant play this.
View goes black, I can see a bar where the hearts are, the minetest blah blah FPS=60 and thats it.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Aug 18, 2012 02:45

FreeFull wrote:Is there a way to get more than the 1 water source you're given?


/giveme default:water_source .. or join as a second player then build to the first player.


NakedFury wrote:Cant play this.
View goes black, I can see a bar where the hearts are, the minetest blah blah FPS=60 and thats it.


Sometimes the client too fast and the mod doesn't create the spawn block. I'm still working on a better solution. For now you can just quit an rejoin. If there is still no spawn block then join with a new username.

I am going to provide a /restart command which will empty your inventory then give you a new spawn position.
 

FreeFull
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 08:34

by FreeFull » Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:59

If you would give the player 2 water sources + 1 lava bucket, they could make themselves infinite water sources.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Sat Aug 18, 2012 14:31

FreeFull wrote:If you would give the player 2 water sources + 1 lava bucket, they could make themselves infinite water sources.


done
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:11

game has been updated, requesting move to Mod Releases
 

FreeFull
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 08:34

by FreeFull » Mon Aug 20, 2012 13:11

You didn't make nyancats stop being generated, which results in nyancats beyond reach taunting the player (since they always spawn below -64)
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Mon Aug 20, 2012 13:57

FreeFull wrote:You didn't make nyancats stop being generated, which results in nyancats beyond reach taunting the player (since they always spawn below -64)


Are you sure they are only below -64? I saw one fly past above me, but it was while i was falling, so maybe you are right.

It was the 1st one i ever saw! =)
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Mon Aug 20, 2012 13:59

Below Y= -3

https://github.com/celeron55/minetest/blob/master/src/mapgen.cpp#L2412

Code: Select all
    /*
        Add NC
    */
    {
        PseudoRandom ncrandom(blockseed+9324342);
        if(ncrandom.range(0, 1000) == 0 && blockpos.Y <= -3)
        {
            make_nc(vmanip, ncrandom, ndef);
        }
    }


What do you think SkyBlock should do? Disable them, or leave them? You can always set your floor to be lower.
 

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
 
Posts: 2754
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
Location: France
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Mon Aug 20, 2012 14:34

Leave them, they're rare enough anyway. :p
My mods and texture packs.
Tox ID: 8DF315693CFC073999DE33B8348D5A3A4B6F676FC30708E485B2E2AD1496E20C26A94EEE79AF
Follow me on Quitter.
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1709
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Mon Aug 20, 2012 21:03

FreeFull wrote:You didn't make nyancats stop being generated, which results in nyancats beyond reach taunting the player (since they always spawn below -64)


BUILD CHALLENGES

Your mission is to build the following:

11) catch a nyancat (edit: and build something with it :-P )
Last edited by Topywo on Mon Aug 20, 2012 21:04, edited 1 time in total.
 

cornernote
Member
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Tue Aug 21, 2012 08:07

My 1st attempt to complete the build challenges:
Image
Image
Image
Image
 

Blackthorne
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 07:38

by Blackthorne » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:25

When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Developer
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:42

Blackthorne wrote:When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.


you mean NODE :)
 

Blackthorne
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 07:38

by Blackthorne » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:57

RealBadAngel wrote:
Blackthorne wrote:When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.


you mean NODE :)


Node, yes. How silly of me. :D
 

User avatar
RealBadAngel
Developer
 
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 16:30

by RealBadAngel » Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:00

Blackthorne wrote:
RealBadAngel wrote:
Blackthorne wrote:When I downloaded and installed this, I was interested. When I started it up only a few minutes ago, I was started not on a floating island...but a single BLOCK.

...challenge accepted.


you mean NODE :)


Node, yes. How silly of me. :D


btw read the topic again, to have that island and a tree u have to run world edit script
Last edited by RealBadAngel on Tue Aug 21, 2012 12:00, edited 1 time in total.
 

Next

Return to Subgame Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests