[Mod] Stained Glass [1.2] [stained_glass] - new alpha suppor

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

[Mod] Stained Glass [1.2] [stained_glass] - new alpha suppor

by doyousketch2 » Post

Doyousketch2's Stained Glass mod

Download: https://github.com/minetest-mods/staine ... master.zip
... or browse the code: https://github.com/minetest-mods/stained_glass

New version! Alpha channel support.

Image

Trick your underground lair out in a futuristic discotheque theme!
- or - Make some awesome Lite-Brite style images!

Dependencies: Calinou's More Blocks, unifieddyes, and a Minetest engine build newer than 2017-01-23.

To Install:

Unzip the mod file you just downloaded.

it should be something like: Doyousketch2-stained_glass-1.1.zip
- or - stained_glass-master.zip, depending on where you downloaded it from.

rename the new folder that looks like: Doyousketch2-stained_glass-1.1
- or - stained_glass-master to simply read "stained_glass"

then move it into your Minetest mods folder.

===============================

To get the colors, simply place a Moreblocks Super Glow Glass or Trap Super Glow Glass, then wield some dye and punch the glass to change its color. Digging one of these colorized blocks gives you back the un-colored version you originally placed and the dye you used to color it.

To get the light or faint shades, place a Super/Trap Super Glow Glass, dye it as above, then right-click on it while wielding the Moreblocks sweeper once or twice, to "brush off" some of the color with each sweep. Digging one of these gives you back the un-colored version and the dye that was originally there before brushing.

This mod uses the entire Unified Dyes palette, and provides a few extra nodes to create the "light" and "faint" shades.

===============================

License info:
code: GPL 2.0
textures: CC-BY-SA 3.0

More Blocks by Calinou
Licensed under the zlib/libpng license for code
and CC BY-SA 3.0 Unported for textures
see LICENSE.txt for info.

VanessaE's Unified Dyes
For everything but the bucket textures, GPL 2.0
For the bucket textures, CC-BY-SA 3.0
see LICENSE for info.

===============================

Fozzie the Bear on the Muppet Show:
"glasses, oh glasses... I knew a minister once, who was so religious, when he read the bible, he wore stained glasses!"
Attachments
stainedglass.png
(186.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Thu May 09, 2013 19:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Looks good. Both decorative and usefull.

User avatar
stcrafts
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 07:45
Location: China
Contact:

by stcrafts » Post

COOL! More color glass!

about more color wool? :)

I want to build a color world~


(Sorry,my English is very poor :-( )
----------------------------------
Sorry for my bad English :I
----------------------------------
----------------------------------

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

yeah, they light up nice.
Building a cathedral to showcase 'em in action-

Image

If you want to see more, just hop on VanessaE's server and take a peek.
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4057

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4564
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

For color wool-like blocks, use Jordach's cotton mod. You may also want to consider Unified Bricks, but that one's buggy (some of the bricks come back unknown when mined).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
Contact:

by 0gb.us » Post

doyousketch2 wrote:yeah, they light up nice.
Building a cathedral to showcase 'em in action-

Image

If you want to see more, just hop on VanessaE's server and take a peek.
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=4057
Why is everyone but me able to make such beautiful buildings?

Wow. I suck at Minetest.

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

0gb.us wrote:Why is everyone but me able to make such beautiful buildings?

Wow. I suck at Minetest.
I know that feel bro :(
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Just build a basic structure, and add random decorating blocks in some sort of somewhat-sane pattern. Works fine for me!


--Resume on-topic mode--

Really like the idea of stained glass, Is there any way to make it take up less of the creative menu though?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3166
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Traxie21 wrote:Really like the idea of stained glass, Is there any way to make it take up less of the creative menu though?
Remove it from the creative inventory and create a node which you can right click to get a list of all the stained nodes. :P

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

Exactly what I was thinking.

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

Or use Unified Inventory :)
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
Contact:

by Traxie21 » Post

I'm too busy trying to make UI compatable with I+ to use it XD.

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

You know I'd love to do that. lemme look into the code of what you're talking about and I'll see if we can impliment it.
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Fri Mar 01, 2013 01:43, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ragnarok
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:56
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Ragnarok » Post

Hi, I installed your mod, but... Minetest crashes on server startup, and doesn't leave any useful logs. I commented first loop in init.lua and then Minetest starts normally, but - of course - with much less of stained_glass blocks. Any idea?

hmmmm
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:04

by hmmmm » Post

psh, that's not stained glass, this is.
Image

User avatar
Ragnarok
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:56
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Ragnarok » Post

@hmmmm
How do you make semitransparent glass? Are you making a new mod? I'm building "cathetral" so I need stained glass.
Last edited by Ragnarok on Tue Apr 23, 2013 14:57, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Ragnarok wrote:@hmmmm
How do you make semitransparent glass? Do you making a new mod? I build "cathetral" so I need stained glass.
Hes a core dev, so you can guess that he changed the engine.
Last edited by PilzAdam on Tue Apr 23, 2013 10:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ragnarok
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:56
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Ragnarok » Post

And I was so excited it's possible :( So I'm back to square one. Any idea why Minetest crashes during server startup? Is it possible I have to many mods (nodes) or something? Is there any limit of nodes/items?

User avatar
Topywo
Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Post

Ragnarok wrote:And I was so excited it's possible :( So I'm back to square one. Any idea why Minetest crashes during server startup? Is it possible I have to many mods (nodes) or something? Is there any limit of nodes/items?
Since 0.4.5 or 0.4.6 when a mod doesn't work anymore, my minetest quits (crashes?) while starting up, not giving an error. Then, looking in my debug, I can see somethings' not working properly in a mod. Repairing the mod solves the 'problem'.

User avatar
Ragnarok
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:56
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Ragnarok » Post

Fantastic :| I don't see any useful ERROR lines or something in the debug.txt. Debugging stops when Minetest crashes without dropping any errors (for stained_glass) to file. If I remove huge mod like homedecor for example, stained_glass work properly. I no have idea what's wrong :( Help.

hmmmm
Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 04:04

by hmmmm » Post

Ragnarok wrote:Fantastic :| I don't see any useful ERROR lines or something in the debug.txt. Debugging stops when Minetest crashes without dropping any errors (for stained_glass) to file. If I remove huge mod like homedecor for example, stained_glass work properly. I no have idea what's wrong :( Help.
It appears that you are trying to use too many mods, and the number of registered nodes is greater than 4096.

User avatar
Ragnarok
Member
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:56
Location: Poland
Contact:

by Ragnarok » Post

Thanks hmmmm. Was afraid of that. Is there a way to increase the limit of registered nodes? I guess I'll have to dig in the core files...

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2
Location: Ohio
Contact:

by doyousketch2 » Post

Knew people liked to keep nodes down, didn't know there was a 4096 limit.

Anyway, VanessaE was kind enough to update code to use alpha channel now so it basically looks like what hmmmm posted.

You can find the new version at the same github link above.
Last edited by doyousketch2 on Sat May 04, 2013 18:01, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
Posts: 3098
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

by Inocudom » Post

doyousketch2 wrote:Knew people liked to keep nodes down, didn't know there was a 4096 limit.

Anyway, VanessaE was kind enough to update code to use alpha channel now so it basically looks like what hmmmm posted.

You can find the new version at the same github link above.
I think it would be a good idea if that node limit was at least doubled.
You can now find my videos at BitChute: https://www.bitchute.com/channel/some_cheeky_jinuskian/

Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4184
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Post

It would be good if more blocks could be defined, yes. But right now, having lots of them is a huge problem at least for my hardware. I had to unset preload_item_visuals. Moreblocks and moretrees with its stairplus-nodes took about two minutes to render before game start :-/ Without that option, the game was up in 10 seconds. Maybe only nodes that are expected to be frequent ought to be pre-rendered (like: everything in default).
A list of my mods can be found here.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests