Minetest map generation using GPU

asdf7389

Minetest map generation using GPU

by asdf7389 » Post

So currently I'm working on using CUDA to parallel map generation on minetest for my senior project. I'm fairly new to parallel programming, as well as C++ so it's been quite a challenge so far. I'm looking at the mapgen files and comparing to the process of how it runs when a users clicks the create new world button. Any suggestions on a focal point in what takes the longest time, taking aside rendering speeds. My main focus is the map generation. More info to come as I progress.

rarkenin

by rarkenin » Post

asdf7389 wrote:So currently I'm working on using CUDA to parallel map generation on minetest for my senior project. I'm fairly new to parallel programming, as well as C++ so it's been quite a challenge so far. I'm looking at the mapgen files and comparing to the process of how it runs when a users clicks the create new world button. Any suggestions on a focal point in what takes the longest time, taking aside rendering speeds. My main focus is the map generation. More info to come as I progress.
I think that the GPU should be usable for map generation, which is really important, but this may be relatively difficult as Lua would need to compile down to GPU instructions.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.

asdf7389

by asdf7389 » Post

I was imagining making a file outside of Minetest to generate a world then dump it back into Minetest to explore, but I still don't fully understand how mapgen outputs it's initial file. Still just pouring through source code and beating wolves back with a stick.

Calinou
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou

by Calinou » Post